We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Guest House

Save Saved
You added Clifton Guest House to your Saves list
Clifton Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clifton Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   101 Ocean Road, South Shields, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Clifton is a great place to stay if you are okay with guest houses, the room was excellent - clean comfortable, warm and had everything you need. Dave,the owner, and his wife were very friendly and his breakfast was brilliant, full off flavour and cooked to order unlike that found in the hotel buffet style breakfasts. A very pleasant two nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We weren't expecting much from the Clifton because we stayed at several not great guest houses, but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The couple who run the guest house are wonderful, they are helpful in planning for the day and provide great suggestions for things to do around South Shields. We were also surprised by how lovely our little room was. The bedding was clean and the decor, welcoming. This quaint guest house is just a quick walk to the South Shields city center, as well as to the beach. South Shields was a great spot right near the North Sea, but without the hustle and bustle of New Castle. We really enjoyed our stay at the Clifton. It was well worth the trip all the way from America!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed for just 1 night in the double en-suite room (room 6), we love South Shields and were visiting friends in nearby Gateshead so decided to stay by the sea. :o) From the second we walked in we were very impressed, it smelled lovely and clean and The Owner was very friendly and chatty, he showed us to our room which was absolutely stunning, the en-suite was amazing, the shower was huge. all the little touches were not over looked!! The bed was a gorgeous old brass bed...reminded me of bedknobs and broomsticks!! lol. Unfortunately their was one bad point and that was that the bed was very uncomfortable to me and I didn't sleep a wink..my husband thought it was fine and snored all night long!! haha. Maybe just a memory foam mattress topper would finish off this otherwise perfect room?
Breakfast is served in the dining room/coffee shop..I didn't eat it myself but it smelled great and my hubby enjoyed it! The Coffee shop is realy realy nice and bright.
When I am next in the area I will deffinately be staying here and will recommend to anyone. :o)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Geordie in Surrey!
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I stayed at this B&B in September 2009, (& you really are spoilt for choice along Ocean Rd!!!) & although I had stated that I was not an 'early riser' (neither on a work-day & certainly NOT on a holiday-day!!!) & therefore would not be down for breakfast, Dave still kindly made me a bacon-sandwich & left it at the hatch for me, for when I eventually "traipsed" <------(Real-Geordie-Vocabulary, see!!) downstairs. (& it wasn't just ANY bread....it was 'Granary' & it was a lovely snack when I was out-and-about.) The B&B itself had lots of character, (as all those Victorian houses do) & the tea & coffee sachets would always re-appear as if by magic. It was a light, airy room with a luxury shower unit. Susan & Dave are very nice & hope to see them again, when I come up for my summer hol this year. Nik Connolly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We've just returned from a one night stay at the Clifton. From the moment we stepped inside the guest house, we were made to feel really welcome. Dave and Susan are quite rightly proud of the Clifton - it's a clean, quiet, little gem in a perfect location in South Shields.

How about this for the ideal location: The Clifton is easy to find, less than ten minutes walk from the Metro and around five minutes from the seafront AND it is directly opposite Colman's, the best fish and chip shop in England (that's official, we tried them and they were delicious). Although The Clifton is on the main road from town to the seafront, it wasn't a noisy location. Do not be put off by it being on the main road. We are real fusspots when it comes to noise, but slept soundly. We were in room 6, which was to the side of the house, rather than at the front overlooking the road, and was double glazed.

The room was spotlessly clean, bright and airy and furnished in a pleasant, modern style, and the bathroom sparkled. The shower was HUGE. Toiletries are provided.

The breakfast was delicious and cooked to order and there was as much toast and orange juice as you could manage.

As we checked out, we mentioned that we were going to look round more of South Shields and Dave and Susan gave us tips on what not to miss. They offered to look after our overnight bag until after we'd explored and even offered us an umbrella to borrow in case it rained. It's these kind extras that make all the difference to a stay.

Dave was in the process of changing the breakfast room so that it could become a tearoom too. We sampled some of the cakes and scones that he hopes will be served there. My goodness they were good. So we wish him and Susan luck with that new venture.

We would return in an instant on another trip to South Shields.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

The Clifton Guest House is a real find. The owners and staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. It really feels like you are on holiday from the moment you arrive.
Everything was beyond my expectations, the rooms, the food, the hotel.
We have booked to go back in the Summer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

This family run Guesthouse on Ocean Road is well maintained, exceptionally clean, friendly, and has a great atmosphere! The location is ideal and close to the sea front, as well as many pubs and restaurants. Would recommend to all travelers!

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Guest House

Address: 101 Ocean Road, South Shields, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Clifton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Guest House South Shields, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.