We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantis Guest House to your Saves list
Atlantis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   55 Ocean Road, South Shields, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm and welcoming, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

we needed an overnight stay in south shields and after reading reviews on the atlantis decided to choose to stay here, we were welcomed by friendly owner hani on a freezing cold night, who upgraded our room free of charge, bed was lovely and comfy and room was well heated, breakfast was gorgeous aswell, thoroughly enjoyed our night in south shields and would return to the atlantis again...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Myself and my Mum stayed three nights at the Atlantis and had a wonderful stay.

From the outside it looks like your average B&B on Ocean Road, however Hani, the owner, has recently refurbished the interior to match that of a modern hotel.

The rooms were immaculate, the breakfast superb and Hani gave us some great tips on where to eat in South Shields.

A thoroughly pleasant stay that will not disappoint.

Darrin

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner. Facilities were absolutely immaculate,beautifully clean throughout and very tastefully decorated.
Enjoyed a hearty well-cooked english breakfast after a very comfortable nights sleep.
Would be delighted to stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The 'Executive' double bedroom was compact but adequate. The room was spotless and had been recently refurbished. Everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was good and was served promptly.
The Guest House is on a reasonably busy road with lots of small restaurants - mainly Indian. However good double glazing kept the noise out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis this weekend while visiting South Tyneside for a family party. It's conveniently located with the metro and the sea front both around 5 minutes walk and the legendary Colmans chippy 1min down the road. Rooms are spotlessly clean, simply and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed and good value for money at £45/double and £25/single. Breakfast is traditional fare: cereal, fry up, toast with plenty of fruit juice and tea/coffee.
The real winner here is the warm hospitality of owner Hani. We chose to stay in South Shields rather than the more convenient Premier Inn in order to support small business rather than a chain and we certainly found what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Great Stay!

I'm English but am married to an Italian, and live in Italy. I love visting the Newcastle area and find South Shields the perfect place to stay as the Metro takes you from the airport to South Shields amd accomodation is half the price it is in Newcastle itself. It is by the sea and has really good centre with all the high street shops so you can do your shopping and just keep popping back to the hotel with it. We had stayed in a Hotel at South Shields in November with another couple, it was OK but not worth staying there again so this time I looked at guest houses. I found the Atlantis Guest House on internet and I must say our stay could not have been better. We paid only £45 per night per couple, which we found very reasonable. Both we and our friends had a double room on the second floor with private bathroom. My friends' bathroom was a bit small but you have to remember it is a guest house not a hotel. That said, the whole place could not have been cleaner and the full English breakfast was fantastic.
The owner went out of his way to be helpful and pleasant and I am so pleased that we have found such a nice place to stay for when we return to South Shields again.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, pleasant decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Guest House

Address: 55 Ocean Road, South Shields, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Guest House South Shields, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.