We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what is used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wheatsheaf Hotel to your Saves list
Wheatsheaf Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Virginia Water GU25 4QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Virginia Water
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not what is used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Unfortunately the hotel has really gone downhill in recent years. It used to be an amazing place to eat, good quality food and great service. Not anymore. I would not recommend eating there now and the service is awful. The rooms however are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Sound does travel though, on one of our stays we heard a couple arguing next door and on both occasions, shuffling noise/people moving around in their rooms. Good value for money though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Chicken765,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and have passed this to our management team in an effort to help improve the service at the Wheatsheaf Hotel.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    25
    34
    27
See reviews for
39
40
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Wheatsheaf on two separate occasions now, once on a business trip and the second time with my family, but the strange thing is I still dont know what to make of it! There are some truly excellent points mixed in with some not so good points which drags the overall customer experience down from a higher level.

Firstly, the rooms. Both of the rooms I stayed in were very good value for money, air con, free WiFi, very spacious, well presented and comfortable. My first room was around the back of the hotel and not at all noisy, the second time I stayed my room was at the front of the hotel adjacent to the busy main road, and unfortunately none of us slept all, the traffic noise was loud and incessant, which was a shame as the room itself was wonderful.

The bar/restaurant area is cosy and has a couple of log fires creating a welcome atmosphere, bar service is slow and laboured largely due to poor staffing levels as opposed bad/unhelpful service, and drinks are reasonably priced. The food is okay, again its reasonably priced and your dining experience will depend on what you actually receive as opposed to what you order! ... The Wheatsheaf have a very strange approach whereby they substitute certain ingredients at a whim [without consultation with the customer] this in turn means that a dish you liked on one day may not be as likeable the next, on one occasion we had to look at the menu to see if we had the correct dish. The antipasti is very good value [see picture below] may be worth checking that its as per menu though first!

The only downside of the restaurant is that there are three entrances and if you are sat near one of them in winter months you will be chilly! and a great deal of the tables are near a door, choose wisely when you look for a table.

The hotel backs on to Virginia Water and can be accessed via the rear car park, its a very pleasant walk of around 4 miles all the way around [route dependent] There are stopping points with cafes if you need to refuel, the Wentworth estate is just across the road and is worth a drive through to see some impressive real estate.

In conclusion I feel disappointed with myself with my rating as it should be 3.5/5, and you can have a much more pleasurable experience if you follow these steps:-
1) Book a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the traffic noise
2) Book a table in the bar away from the exits [it gets very busy on occasions]
3) When ordering your meal ask if the dish is exactly as its stated on the menu before you order.

Would I go back to the Wheatsheaf...yes I would

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 489gm_gm_gm,

Thank you for your detailed review, your comments regarding the food options have been duly noted and passed to our management team.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the rooms that were offered and will again inform the management team of the noise issue to see if anything can be implented to reduce the impact.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice location nice decor just shame about the poor service and terrible food. My wife had fish and chips, the food was cold and the fish was flavourless. Had better from a van at reading festival! I had scampi with the driest cold peas ever they looked like the had been defrosted three months ago and tasted like they had to. All in all stay there have a drink there but whatever you do don't eat there! Terrible

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Review is for the restaurant only. My family and I love visiting the Wheatsheaf, for the lovely warm atmosphere. I must say the food has improved immeasurably in the last month or so, in presentation, taste and price. Staff always nice except one young lady duty manager who seems to have gone. Not haute cusine..,, but we love it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear mooncat_11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoy the service.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a family room as we have a 4 month old baby. The room was ok but up a flight of very steep stairs, overlooking the road so it was very noisey. The staff refused to put our baby sterilising unit in the microwave for 6 minutes on Saturday and Sunday morning as it was against company policy. We had to travel to a nearby petrol station where they were more than happy for us to use their microwave. I think if they advertise a 'family' room, then they should have all the facilities to make the stay comfortable (perhaps more child friendly equipment in the room). We were very upset and stressed but the staff were indifferent to our dilemma and didn't have any suggestions/alternatives to help us, just repeating their company policy. We actually brought everything but the kitchen sink ... and a microwave!

Room Tip: If you have a baby/small child ensure you take everything required to clean/sterilise bottles as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Julie H,

Thank you for your recent review, we have passed your comments to our management team to investigate the experience you received and asked for clarification on the situation so we can make this clearer in the future.

We have also sent you a direct message regarding your review.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, off an A road, near the M25 and walking distance to Wentworth golf club. Staff were all friendly and had good banter. Room was clean and had everything you would want, including what was probably the best shower in the world, seriously, we would have stolen it if possible!

However, and this is probably due to the building's age, but the place is incredibly bad acoustically when trying to get some sleep. You can hear every footstep, every conversation, every TV channel, every toilet flush, every door closing, maybe that was just our room, but it was impossible to get any peace and in my case, any sleep. Our neighbours weren't particularly loud, but we felt like we knew them after one night next to them!

Some sound proofing on this place and it will be top notch.

Traditional breakfast was excellent but they need to keep an eye on the coffee and juices which were usually low and/or empty.

Other than the noise upstairs I would have given this place four stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Paul J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments regarding the noise onto our management team so they can review this in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Previously, on returning from our annual visit to the gardens with our walking group, I've been pleased to visit the Wheatsheaf Hotel for a good meal. But today's visit was a huge disappointment. Even though we had pre-booked, most of us were left waiting for about 45-minutes before being served. And this was after queuing for a tiresome length of time to order our drinks and food at the bar.

Furthermore, three of our members were either short-changed, or overcharged. My battered fish was somewhat undercooked and just about edible. I would have complained but the staff did not have the usual courtesy to ask customers if they were satisfied with their meal. In fact, it was a busy period and I got the impression that they were struggling to cope.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear crustypants,

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of the service you and your friends received during your visit, your feedback has been sent to our management team to investigate your experience.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your somments further.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Address: London Road, Virginia Water GU25 4QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Virginia Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Virginia Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Virginia Water, UK - Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.