We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best The have had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grumpy Mole

The Grumpy Mole
Ewell Road, Sutton SM3 8AA, England
0208 394 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 105 Restaurants in Sutton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
2 reviews
“Best The have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The best place to go .Tx Grumpy .Love it ...........Staff they lovely , quickly services food are great and the atmosffere is spledid . They very busy but the staff they realy do the best to make us happy , comfortable and feel like coming back .Lots of ******* Grumpy (U r not grumpy at all ) Pam .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    77
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Not so Grumpy Gastro-Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I believe the British term for this establishment is a 'gastro-pub"! Nevertheless the food was good and the atmosphere was buzzing at least for the earlier part of the evening on the Thursday night we visited the place. Steaks were overcooked, however my rare steak satisfied one of the group who had ordered a 'medium' one and I was given a properly cooked replacement. By 1015pm the place had emptied out leaving just the six of us to enjoy ourselves. Starters, main courses and four bottles of wine together with a modest tip came to £240.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food but dreadful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a table for four at the Grumpy Mole last night. Was expecting good things after hearing great feedback on the one in Tadworth. We were left rather disappointed with the whole experience, mainly due to the poor service. The staff are friendly but not very competent. Not being given menus when we first sat down and eventually having to ask for some shows you the level we're talking about here. We also overheard lots of apologies being given to other tables around us as the waiting staff got food or drinks orders wrong.

We had to wait about an hour for our main courses to arrive, which became uncomfortable as the temperature in the restaurant began to rise. The venison Wellington was disappointingly over cooked, but otherwise the food was nice but not exceptional. By the end of our meal we were desperate to get into the fresh air to cool down, and it wasn't a particularly warm evening! I'd be reluctant to go back at this point in time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Talks a good game, doesn't deliver.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I ate here with my with and two friends on a pretty busy Friday night. The welcome was warm and friendly and the restaurant itself is nicely decorated and welcoming. Beyond that there was little else right!
We ordered a wine, two lagers and a beer. First the two beers arrived, then after 2-3 minutes the wine, then only when I asked about the beer was I told they were changing the barrel. What I eventually received was a murky, cloudy glass of sludge with no apology even when I asked for it to be changed.
After 30 minutes of staff rushing passed us I had to stop one just to order some food. The waitress was unpleasant, uninterested and basically rude. When the food arrived it was good, only good and definitely not great. We asked for some mustard which never arrived and we asked for more drinks, which never arrived.
I think in general the food is good enough but don't expect to be impressed, the service is woeful and is the main reason I, and my friends, will not be going back.
Having said that, I have heard very good things about the other 2 Grumpy Mole's nearby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“happy customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped in randomly for lunch here one day after a sports game, friendly staff and great food, all you can ask for!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grumpy Mole also viewed

 
Sutton, Greater London
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to The Grumpy Mole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grumpy Mole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.