We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended authentic Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number One Thai Restaurant

Number One Thai Restaurant
1 Cheam Road, Sutton SM1 1SN, England
+44 20 8643 3399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 87 restaurants in Sutton
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Opening Hours Lunch Mon - Fri: 12.00pm - 14.45pm, Dinner Mon - Thurs: 18.00pm - 22.30pm, Fri and Sat Dinner 18.00pm - 23.00pm, Sun and Bank Holidays Closed,10% Discount on Take Away Collection for orders over £10.00 Home Delivery available on Wednesday - Saturday 6.00pm - 10.00pm(for order over £15.00 within 2 mile radius)
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Highly recommended authentic Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have visited this Thai on a number of occasions and have loved it every time. We travelled around Thailand for one month last year and this is the only place we have found in the UK where the food comes even close.

The service is very friendly and the very small restaurant has a lovely ambience.

We would recommend the mixed starter along with any of the main dishes and we love the sticky rice and pad thai! The mint bomb dessert is a great way to finish it all off!

We will certainly be returning and highly recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumberOneThai, Manager at Number One Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ellitt86, We would like to thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    39
    6
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Won't be ordering from them again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We ordered from Number 1 Thai because we'd seen a few good reviews and it was probably the only local Thai place my boyfriend and I hadn't tried. I must say we were a little disappointed. My green curry was bland and watery and the spring rolls really greasy - not what you expect from Thai food. It wasn't really bad but there was nothing that me want to go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

There are two reasons one goes out to eat.... One the ambiance and two the food... On both counts Number One Thai fails... The atmosphere was depressing and the food tasted like frozen Iceland starters... Hearing the microwave constantly ping did nothing to reassure me of the quality... The only positive was the friendly staff... Number One Thai I feel underestimate the palate of the now well traveled and dined Brit! Insulting!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem at the top of Sutton High Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Fantastic food, brilliant service and I'd thoroughly recommend a visit when you are next in Sutton!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumberOneThai, Manager at Number One Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments we are glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Real Turn Around - Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a take away at the weekend following excellent reviews since this has been taken over by new management. We were not disappointed. Very very good meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number One Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Number One Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number One Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.