We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and gluten free options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop

Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop
Reigate Road, Betchworth, Reigate RH3 7BG, England (Formerly Jolly Farmer's Food Emporium)
+44 1737 221355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 62 Restaurants in Reigate
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and gluten free options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The food was well presented and looked fresh. A comprehensive menu and good service too. Gluten Free options clearly stated on menu. I enjoyed the fish pie! A variety of wines for different pallets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    84
    60
    65
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Over-priced, flavourless Sunday lunch with small portions and average service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had 3 Sundays roasts - beef, pork and chicken. Beef consisted of 2 slices of uninspiring beef, no cracking with the pork and a supreme of chicken that had no flavour whatsoever. Given the so-called provenance of the meat it tasted no better than supermarket fare. The veg portion is tiny and boring and all three had the same flavourless gravy. The roast potatoes were soft and soggy, the Yorkshire puddings were good and homemade. The other member of our party had ribs which were excellent. The service was indifferent, the requested mustard for the beef didn't materialise and we had to bring our bill up to the desk to pay it. It was over £70 with two drinks and two soft drinks. I have been here before and it was much better but I won't be returning anytime soon and I definitely can't recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food OK - Shame about the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I had driven past this place on several occasions and finally decided to go on a sunny day last weekend. I was initially tempted by the thought of a Gluten-Free burger (hard to come by in most places) but as soon as we turned up things started going downhill.

The only table outside that was free was a a very wobbly, dirty one. After going to the bar to ask for a menu, the waitress (eventually) came over to take our drinks order. She didn't offer to clean our table which was covered in muck, so I told her that if another table became available then we would move. She put the cutlery straight onto the dirty table and abruptly told us that we would have to let her know because the table number would be different. Not off to a great start.

The food finally arrived but it was nothing to shout about. It was nice to be able to order a burger with a gluten-free bun but the chips were cold. Throughout the course of our meal, we saw 5/6 different members of staff and constantly had to ask for things more than once. We were not made to feel overly welcome and the service was not particularly polite. At one point a waitress came over and starting rummaging through a box of cutlery for (what felt like) ages on our table, completely interrupting our conversation. I can only assume that the staff were young and untrained or simply lack any sort of common sense.

We had to ask several different members of staff before we were finally given a dessert menu. After waiting about 15-20 minutes for someone to take our order (they never came!) and feeling thoroughly cheesed off, we gave up and paid the bill...without having dessert.

I would definitely not go back. The food was overpriced and quite frankly, the service was pretty dire.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but don't go hungry or in a hurry.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Plus points:
Environment - civilised, relaxed.
Atmosphere - friendly
Comfort - good furniture, not too close to fellow diners. Lighting/music(absent?) also well considered.
Food - seemed fresh, well presented and prepared, but (see below). V nice pint of local ale.
Service - friendly (especially lady - boss?- behind bar who sorted drinks), but (see below).

Minus points
Food: small starter, though tasty and well presented. Lamb cooked well-done (confirmed on receipt) though we ordered medium rare. Small piece of fish, though also well cooked. Bread dry (heated, seemed old). Why not just nice fresh bread?
Time: arrived 8pm; main courses arrived 9.20. (Fortunately, company very good!). Bread took 30 mins to arrive and asked twice. Drinks arrived promptly though.
Service: one waiter, one waitress - both friendly enough though seemed quite inexperienced and rather detached. Felt needed quite a lot of prompting and guidance. Suggest they write things down.
Drinks: forget-able glass Shiraz (ordered small, large delivered, willingly replaced, charged for large glass) and good glass Chardonnay. Latter a bit warm.

Summary: think they are trying quite hard (great menu of well prepared food) in nice surroundings but need to look after the details (accuracy of service and time to deliver food). Would think twice about returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Surrey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch - Quality Local Produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Our party of six enjoyed an excellent lunch. Local produce is used as much as possible, and certainly the steak I enjoyed (from a nearby Reigate butcher's) was one of the best steaks I have eaten, perfectly cooked and nicely presented. Local ales are also regularly promoted - currently they have Hogsback T.E.A. on tap. Service was friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Farmers Pub Eatery & Farm Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.