We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored home with a few permanent occupants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spread Eagle Tavern and Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spread Eagle Tavern and Inn
Save
You added Spread Eagle Tavern and Inn to your Saves list
10150 Historic Plymouth Street, Hanoverton, OH 44423   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanoverton B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Beautifully restored home with a few permanent occupants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Very lovely Inn to say the least. Every room is tastefully restored and decorated. Interesting history also. If you are into "ghosts' there are several who occupy the Inn. One is a male who is pretty much harmless - he always longed to live at the Inn so now in his after life he does. The other is a women who occupies the upstairs rooms where the bed and breakfast guests stay - she does not care for guests occupying "her" space. As I felt her not so friendly presences.
If you are a believer in the after life this would be a great place to visit and stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alliance, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We just had lunch with a car club which I couldn't wait to show off our favorite restaurant in Hanoverton. Most of the group was from Cleveland and we wanted to show them that we have good restaurants in the Salem area. My husband and I and our friends have eaten there many times but not since Februrary. We are always pleased with our meal and the service. We've eaten stayed in a room overnight even though we are from nearby Alliance, OH. I was shocked at the way our waiter pointed at us with his pen. Not only was the service lousy, the food was overpriced. We got a luncheon size crabcake, some pork medallions and rice and potatoes, no salad or drink and it came to 42 dollars. I was extremely disappointed. I recommend the Hart Mansion in Minerva, just a few miles down the road.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

This restaurant needs to take a hard look at itself, and stop relying on past reputation. Everything except the atmosphere has gone downhill in the past few years. They used to serve a delicious bread with the meals. Now it's just tasteless white bread. More than once, they meat has been dry. One gets the feeling that if you don't appear wealthy, you're just taking up space better used for more important people. On Thanksgiving, they actually had some people seated at card tables!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

In the late 1980's it was a destination restaurant, in the 1990's it was more of a political backdrop ... I'm sad to report that in 2009 it has gone way down hill.... Service is SLOW and staff does not know the menu, PRICE is HIGH, food is mediocre at best, my risotto was like paste and cold, plate presentation is awful and amateur, with flowers used as garnish on every plate! ... Creme brulee was curdled and served with cheap spray whipped cream and raspberry sauce? .... Nothing stands out on the menu and they do not have a signature dish ...you would be better off trying Mezzaluna or the Hart Mansion in Minerva, Ohio ... even Grinders would be better food than Spread Eagle Tavern! ... Don't fool yourself into believing it's a good meal because of price, it's not Ken Stewarts, you don't get what you pay for here.. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Spread Eagle is hands down our favourite restaurant in the greater Ohio Valley/Pittsburgh area—and since it's over an hour from Pittsburgh (where there is a super sushi restaurant), that should tell you how much we LOVE it. Fantastic food, bend-over-backwards service, and incredible surroundings. It is almost overwhelmingly terrific. The few times we've had an order miscue, our waitress (we try to get the same lady) goes far above and beyond to make good despite our protestations (no one could ever possibly be angry or unhappy at the Spread Eagle). It's amazing, and customer service of the type that we long thought was dead.

The food is excellent and the wine list quite good (try some of the local Ohio wines for pleasant surprises). A few of the desserts remind me of things my grandmother used to make, remarkable in and of itself.

The staff is, as noted above, always excellent, friendly, and helpful. On quieter evenings they're not averse to chatting with interested customers. We had quite a nice chat with our waitress during an impromptu Thanksgiving Eve dinner at the Spread Eagle. Even on a holiday eve, none of the staff seemed unhappy or sullen about being there.

The Tavern & Inn itself is splendid. Do take time to wander about and drink in the history and beauty of the Spread Eagle. Not only is the Tavern & Inn itself beautiful, it's filled with art, Americana, and memorabilia. I'm a photographer, and this has quickly become one of my favourite places to shoot; such charm, grace, and plain Americana. The Rathskeller & bar in the basement are fun, too.

Though we've not yet stayed overnight, we've of course seen all the rooms available. They are very pretty, nicely and comfortably appointed. Several (if not all) have fireplaces and large private baths. Hanoverton is a quiet town along US30, so your stay should be peaceful as well as picturesque. Several of the rooms also have chairs, couchettes, or rockers, so you'll have several choices of where to sit.

One thing to note for those in wheelchairs or with other physical impairments is that I don't recall seeing any elevators. This won't be a problem for those interested only in dining, but if you are unable to navigate the stairs, staying will obviously be an issue. Keep in mind, though, that it was built in 1837 and is quite a historic building. There is also a smaller house on the property with two rooms for guests. Quite nice indeed.

We dine at the Spread Eagle frequently (though never often enough!) and hope to stay overnight sometime soon. However, based on our experiences with the staff and food, it's safe to say you'll enjoy yourself whatever you choose to partake of at the Spread Eagle.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

This place is more than just a restaurant -- it is an event. The building is rich in history, the service is imppeccable, the food is gourmet quality and Owner David will treat you as if you are the most important guest. I love it and will return again and again! Probably my favorite ever. This is a fabulous place for a special occassion.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spread Eagle Tavern and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spread Eagle Tavern and Inn

Address: 10150 Historic Plymouth Street, Hanoverton, OH 44423
Location: United States > Ohio > Hanoverton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoverton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Tavern Hotel Hanoverton
Spread Eagle Tavern And Inn Hanoverton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spread Eagle Tavern and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.