We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break at Kingston upon Thames” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames to your Saves list
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaufort Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
truro Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short break at Kingston upon Thames”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A very enjoyable break at the Hotel Antoinette in November. We were able to access the town by walking and we were very grateful to have our car safely parked in the Hotel grounds. Our daughter is at Kingston hill uni, so ideal base to stay..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    161
    88
    57
    45
See reviews for
80
179
45
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Starting of in the garden building I was faced with a stiflingly hot room, a bathroom from the 80s complete with chips, brown plug holes, thick limescale and two visibly different types of mould. There was only lukewarm water and the shower being so limescale clogged gave a couple of decent streams all in different directions. With electrical issues meaning a phone takes 6 hours to fully charge and flickering lights not to memtion the delightful woodchip ceiling it's quite something. Staff were as helpful as possible supplying an extra duvet to pad the mattress as the springs stuck out.
Unfortunately due to a light fitting not working that couldn't be fixed due to dodgey electrics, I was moved to the main building for the thrid night of my 5 night stay. The room was much cleaner, a better temperature and the bathroom was much more modern. I was happy until I was woken at 5am this morning (day 4) by a loud humming which clicked on and off every 30 seconds or so. Before long it became apparent that this new room was above the kitchen and as staff used food processors and sang loudly (and badly) I was kept awake. A call to reception and they said they would look into it. No response. 7am breakfast is now served and all related noises have ceased although I now have to get up anyway. Let's just hope the shower is a little better.
Oh and if the guy next door could blow his nose a little more quietly I woild appreciate it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear josreview,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

As your original room has only just been re-furbished, I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding the standard of housekeeping, especially as the mattress is brand new, and a recent questionnaire rated the cleanliness of this room as excellent. I have spoken to the maintenance team regarding the issue with the electrical supply, and it appears that this may have been as a result of the key card not being fully inserted. Please be assured that had you raised these issues with a member of our team on your first night, an immediate room move would have been arranged.

I am pleased that you found the second room to your liking, but am sorry that you experienced noise disturbance. I have investigated the source of the humming, which I can confirm was not from the kitchen, but from a faulty electrical bathroom fan, and this has now been rectified.

I hope very much that you will choose to stay with us on a future occasion, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me personally, so that I can ensure that you are allocated one of our Superior Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston upon Thames hotels

Burnsville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We picked Antoinettes because of it value and location. We had a room overlooking the carpark and front lobby. The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous, the food was above average but nothing to write home about. The room was clean with everything we need for our 4 day stay.
Breakfast was included on three of these days. The buffet sytle breakfasts were good there was plenty of choice. Unfortunately on three night out of the four there were weddings and birthdays and a very loud crowd that carried on partying until the early hours. The smokers congregated just under our window and kept us awake. Another problem was the fire doors which closed with a bang all the way down the corridors. During the wedding evening young kids with parents room keys would run up and down the corridors letting themselves through the firedoors. That went on until late and the noise echoed every door. On reflection never take a room at the front and avoid weekends as they are the most popular place for weddings and conventions. But thats what pays the bills.

Room Tip: Never take a room at the facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have used this hotel now for the last 4 years for a local event. It is clean and has a free large car park. Free WiFi and a bar and restaurant. The bar prices are ok and breakfast is good. Never eaten here at night so can't comment. Single rooms in the garden annex are small with single beds. The douvet covers are too small and keeping covert is somewhat an all night challenge. However the rooms are nice and warm. You are never too far away from other places to eat and drink at night as Surbiton is about a 10 to 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeking only the best
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Firstly the staff were wonderful. We arrived for a two night event. We were in a garden apartment which was supposed to be a premier room. NOT! This room was across the garden which is the pouring rain for two nights was not much fun! The room was dark and the bathroom a nightmare for hitting your elbows. The design of the rooms are not good. To be fair once we complained the staff did offer the sister hotel but, because of the event we had to stay. The breakfast was good, but, many things had run out. The coffee, juice and the fried eggs. The hotel needs refurbishing. The car park was good. Sadly we will not stay again as if, we wanted to stay in a garden room we would have asked for this. But, again thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room actually in the hotel. Although we were told they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked to stay here as it was the nearest as the crow flies to where we needed to be, and it was also the cheapest! We knew it would be just a place to rest our heads at night so to be honest luxury wasn't top priority...
...This is just as well as the Antoinette is looking a bit tired, but to be fair it is clean and tidy. Our standard room over-looked the garden, and was again clean, but small. The main disappointment was the bathroom which was tiny and had no hooks or shelves for hanging clothes or towels. The shower looked new and promising (with a rain shower and directional function) but alas the power was so pitiful it took ages to shower! Nothing disappoints me more than a trickle where a power shower should be!

Good points: free plentiful parking, pleasant staff, clean rooms and public areas

Bad points: tired decor, small bathroom, PITIFUL SHOWER!

I would stay here again for convenience sake, but certainly not for a stay where I would be in the room for a long period of time.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

stayed for 1 night while attending our daughters graduation. good location for the town just a 10 min walk, we were in the garden block and the room was perfectly fine although basic and a little dated it was clean and warm . the shower room was a little small. very good breakfast the next morning too

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames

Address: Beaufort Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking meticulously maintained gardens, The Antoinette is the largest & most established Hotel in The Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames with over one hundred bedrooms, secure car parking for 100 cars, landscaped gardens.The Antoinette Hotel is located in a quiet residential area just 10 miles (16 km) outside central London, 10 minutes walk from the centre of Kingston and is only 15 minutes from central London via Surbiton station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.