We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Save Saved
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Woking
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Perfect for overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked this Hotel as we were to attend a function at Hampton Court Palace and location-wise, this hotel was perfect for us. A very good position for visiting Kingston too. The hotel has an olde-world charm about it but also a modern well-presented functional hotel for todays travellers.

Excellent overall with a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    87
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
99
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited our son Matty at Kingston Uni, on our way back from Hampton Court we passed the White Hart and so glad we called in for a bite to eat.

First reaction when we walked in was the ambauance and warm greeting, we were just visiting to have a drink. While at the bar i looked around at the dinners tucking into some great looking grub. I passed this on to the wife and Matty, which i said i am ready to eat. As you can imagine Matty didnt wait to be asked twice. The White Hart had a couple of Christmas do`s on, i asked the waiter, who quickly found our party a table. From this point was a sheer delight to be eating, the service was the best i have ever known, the waiters / waitress were very knowladgable about the menu. I orderd the Beef burger (Having seen a number of dinners, having the Burger), which came with salad, relish and a "Bucket" of chips. I have never tasted anything as gooood mmm. The wife orderd Cod, minted peas, with a "Bucket" of chips, which was well enjoyed, Matty had the Smoked Salmon sandwich, chips, which came with a mug of soup. Matty commented thats the best Salmon he had ever tasted.

I would recomend the White Hart for a great place to eat, great food, great pleasant service. I was stunned at the final price of £36.00 for 3 meals, 1 pint of guiness and 4 cups of tea. I never tip when i eat, i broke my rule due to the service and left a tip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We travelled as a group (4 couples) - small but convinently located - a quick walk over the bridge into Kingston centre and shopping heaven!
Check-in was swift and the bar staff were very friendly and polite. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a reasonably sized double bedroom, however only 1 chair. Nicely decorated and good selection of TV channels as well as tea/coffee & a nice bath to soak in after a day's shopping.
The rooom was warm with air conditioning unit as an option but was a little noisy.
We ate in the bar on Saturday evening and the food was excellent - the burger is a challenge but very tasty and good value for a £10. Good range of breakfast options depending on how hungry you are but again the staff were very attentive and saw to your every need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely hotel, small restaurant/bar area, but not too small to feel on top of one another. Stayed for evening meal and the food was really good. The staff that work here have got it just right. They were extremely polite and helpful, they knew just how to approach and delivery quality of service - most impressed!

Some lovely real ales on tap too, which topped off a pleasant evening. Rooms are nothing special, but have everything you need, inparticular a comfortable bed.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

stayed here on a business trip. Situated just over the bridge from the center of Kingstone upon Thames its ideal for those wanting to travel by train into central London, or visit the local sights, Hampton Court palace, the races, take a boat journey on the Thames or just soak up the atmpshere. The outside gives the olde British pub feel, as you walk in the pub and restaurant is again rustic, clean tidy and welcoming. The hotel is modern with spacious rooms. There is a large car park to the rear. Local pubs are close by (not that i'm an alcoholic) The hotel offer deals on meals on a regular basis. So business or pleasure its fine by me. I've ticked the pool in my rating by mistake....there isn't one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Possibly one of the best small hotels in their part of the world. We stayed here at short notice and didn't expect much but we were greatly surprised at the quality of the building, our room, the bar, and room service. For me, everything was as good as could be and the only regret is we couldn't stay longer. From the moment we arrived, right through to having a drink in the bar and dinner in our room the service was first class and cheerfully delivered. The room was large and well appointed, bathroom very clean and spacious, the food and wine was of a high standard and the price was about one third of what I would expect to pay for similar. I think I may have died and gone to heaven as I'm sure I saw an angel in my room that night.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night in a family room with my partner and our daughter. Everything from the check in, to the room (the bed was especially comfortable) to the bar, restaurant and then check out, was faultless. The English breakfast was cooked to order, using good quality bacon and sausages and is amongst the best I've eaten. My daughter had the Eggs Benedict, which she raved about. In summary, the hotel is fantastic value for money, well run by its professional and polite staff and is located in a great position. I couldn't recommend it more highly and will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.