We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly amazing, top marks from me.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly amazing, top marks from me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

It was a cold winter evening and we needed a cozy double room in close vicinity.A hotel, where we stopped for a drink was fully booked, we started our search. Very shortly we came across White Hart on Laterooms. We liked what we saw and decided to go ahead. Internet connection was not that good, we had to ring them. A friendly welcoming voice on the phone confirmed room availability and the price was matched to what was advertised on Laterooms. We were there in 20 minutes, not expecting much and that's where all the miracle began.

Receptionist was even lovelier than she sounded on the phone. Nothing OTT, but genuine friendliness, naturally relaxed light banter, which happens only between close friends and puts everyone at ease - professional hospitality which I encountered mostly in good old Britain and in some European hotels. In 5 minutes we were in our room. The room itself and the bathroom were clean, cozy and unexpectedly spacious, everything in perfect working order, very comfortable bed, warm duvet, 2 electric heaters, which warmed up the room in no time. We ordered room service. It was delivered promptly, service was exceptional. What a treat it was! Olives were the most delicious I've eaten in a very long time, I could not have enough of balsamic vinegar dressing. Goats cheese salad was to die for, and, be warned, house red was divine and dangerously drinkable. I could not fault my dinner, biggest compliments to the chef. If one can make something as perfect as it was even more perfect, I would only wish for more bread with my dressing and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There did not seem to be any.

All in all, we loved it. It came at a bargain price of 55£ per double room per night with complementary use of Virgin active with swimming pool. Thank you, White Hart, thank you, Laterooms. If you have not decided what to do for Valentine's yet and have a day to spare, I strongly recommend it. A big traditional pub in the past, refurbished into a hotel, White Hart confidently competes with boutique hotels. It is located only a throw away from beautiful Thames Path with Hampton Court, buzzing shopping center and 2 train stations, all nearby. Typically British, utterly charming. I hope to be back.
A little tip: if your swipe card does not swipe, just wipe it with some soft fabric, it will start working.
Happy Valentine to all, mine has started at White Hart ;o).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    106
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
66
124
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We`ve just got back from a long weekend in The White Hart, we had a fanastic stay here, it was a special weekend for my 65th birthday, the hotel upgraded us to a superior room and it lived up to its name. We found the staff really helpful and friendly and the evening we stayed in to eat we really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere was excellent with candles on the table and a nice fire in the reception bar.
The hotel is only 5 minutes away from the station so very easy to get into to central London to see a show, which we did. There are some very nice walks along the Thames and only 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants so it has something for everyone. We will definitely be back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark, west australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

After an OK stay in a hotel on the other side of Kingston we found this gem on our return from Paris. Helpful, friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms and comfortable bar and restaurant area. Easy walk into Kingston and transport options to London. We will be staying there again on our next trip to the UK.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are quieter. Stay away from 301, next to the A/C pump room. Be prepared to hagg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great location, convenient parking, clean & comfortable rooms & friendly staff. What more can a traveller ask for?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

A comfortable overnight stay with convenient private parking. Room was clean with all we needed but the sink in the bathroom had a partial blockage and took time to clear - something which should have been discovered by the cleaning staff - we're not picky but it's somewhat embarrassing to leave the results of a shave still finding its way out of the sink when one's spouse requires the basin. We didn't have dinner at the hotel merely breakfast which was a disappointing experience. We were shown to a table that looked as though it had just been washed but, in fact, it had recently been varnished and was still tacky from the event. We did point this out to the young man serving at the table but merely received a grin - either down to his lack of English or concern at people getting varnish on their clothes. It was such a shame that a lack of care let this place down. We did mention the blocked sink to the reception staff who were superb. We will be back as I'm sure that the table will be fully dry in time and the sink unblocked but my message to reception is not to allow others to negate their professionalism.

Room Tip: Ask if the blockage in 106 has been cleared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The White Hart has good parking facilities and is conveniently postitioned to simply walk over the bridge into Kingston. I have also eaten in the restaurant here and the food is great and is good value! If you like a nice dry white wine, sample a glass of Coachline. Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really happy with the service we received at this hotel, staff were really friendly & very accommodating. Nice clean room, very comfortable bed, needed the air con despite being the end of October.
Great location for walks, shopping centre & only 5 minute walk to the station for a half hour train ride to the centre of London.
Can't comment on food as we ate out.
Will definately visit again before christmas as great value for money. Thank you

Room Tip: No outside noise noticeable from rooms over looking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.