We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Hotel

Hermes Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston upon Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermes Hotel
1 Portsmouth Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2LU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, primarily as we had Wimbledon tickets,
very convenient location for stations to central London
also Wimbledon. We also visited nearby Hampton Court..
Five mins walk to Kingston centre for pubs shops and resteraunts,
right across road from Thames and pier.
Hotel itself was great, very homely, room bedding etc spotless,
excellent cooked breakfas..Reception area and hallway looking
a little tired, but overall a great value for money choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at Hermes for almost two weeks when our house was under renovation. The kids stayed in a triple room with shared bath room while the missus and I stayed in a double with ensuite bathroom. Nothing fancy about this place as after all it is a budget hotel/BB. However, Hermes is more than a budget hotel as it is conveniently located (5 mins walk to market place and Kingston College or 10 mins to Kingston University) in a nice and safe neighbourhood facing the River Thames, the place and rooms (incl. toilets) were cleaned and well maintained, very comfortable beds with clean linens and operator/owner Trish is a friendly lady that will look after you. All the rooms and toilets were cleaned daily, with Trish personally making and serving very delicious and well made English breakfast for the guests each morning.
There were two minor issues which I was able to accept and overlook:
1. Although there were 4 parking spaces in front of hotel, but these and those meter spaces along the road were constantly taken by other motorists. I had to park at a nearby car park on a number of occasions.
2. As hotel is located along the main road, we experienced unpleasant noises between 1am - 3am (mainly on Friday and Saturday only due to people going home from the nearby clubs)
Well managed bed and breakfast and an ideal place for those on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in Kingston Upon Thames for 5 days over the Diamond Jubilee weekend as we wanted to be able to conveniently commute into central London whilst not paying London prices, so Hermes Hotel was perfect.

As we were on a budget, we chose a double room with shared bathroom, but most of the time we had the bathroom to ourselves. The room also had a sink, and mirror, so we only used the bathroom for showers. Some rooms did have ensuites. Looking into other rooms, we seemed to have the smallest room, but it was still a decent size by London standards and lovely and warm in the evenings.

Patricia makes everyone feel very welcome, and the breakfasts are fabulous. My boyfriend had the full English breakfast every morning. There was also free WiFi.

The B&B an easy 10mins walk to Kingston Train Station, which has regular trains into Waterloo. Kingston Upon Thames itself is a gorgeous old market town, which was bustling at all hours. There are plenty of great restaurants and pubs for dinner, as well as a large shopping area.

London accommodation is incredibly expensive, so this gorgeous B&B is particularly great value for money.

Room Tip: The double room at the front are larger and have a lovely view of the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Excellent location, quiet and comfortable. Lovely friendly service from Trish and very economical. Good coffee and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic holiday at Hermes Hotel. It is a cosy, convenient friendly small B &B, located in picturesque setting overlooking the river Thames.
The daily views of the magnificent Thames gliding by, with swans and and birds, people in their boats and the joggers on the bank were indeed very invigorating and refreshing.
Its close proximity to the very popular Kingston Shopping area, which has, inter alia, the Bentall centre,( even houses an Apple store), wonderful old historic market place (06 minutes away)and whole array of shops within brisk walking distance, indeed made our stay very enjoyable. There are plenty of holiday restaurants for dining both on the river front as well as town centre with a wide array of food catering to the tastes of both young and old. There is even a laundry 05 mts away, plus an all -night corner shop..
Pat the proprietress is charming person who cooks a great a full -English breakfast, and her charm, a key aspect of our memorable holiday.
From the Hermes , its approximately 10 mts walk to the Kingston Station ( so 25 mts you are in London on Waterloo station).
The best room is the one overlooking river with its fantastic view- which also the larger room and has an attached bathroom. . The room was clean and comfortable and tastefully furnished.
You will never have any regret staying at the Hermes.

Room Tip: ask for the one with the river view...the largest and best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: 1 Portsmouth Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Kingston upon Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston upon Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hermes Hotel to your Saves list