We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and fab service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff and fab service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times for shared Christmas parties. I recently had an afternoon tea here, and went for the Mother's Day special lunch.

The staff are always friendly and professional, especially Kate who is involved in organising the Christmas parties and helped me book the tea and Mother's Day lunch. I'd also like to comment on the professionalism shown by another lady who appeared to be supervising during Mother's Day lunch. There was a guy sitting next to us being covers odd and complaining about the amount if goats cheese on salad, she quickly took it back to the kitchen and returned it with more. After this he got up and walked round the table to look at it from different angles, he was very obvious ( and in my opinion very rude, if something isn't right just say) but this lady just went to the kitchen and returned with a whole block of it on a small plate and said very calmly, you don't seem happy with your salad so I have bought you some more, if there's anything else please don't hesitate to comment. Me and my family were very impressed with this, the guy was very rude, even his own party looked uncomfortable with his behaviour, and she could have just ignored it.

The food is superb and well cooked, and the choice is good. Even the afternoon tea was large and very fresh including 3 types if sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, bread and butter pudding, fruit tarts, chocolate cake and chocolate chip muffins. Special request such as dietary requirements are handle with no fuss.

I have also used this hotel when my bosses family visit, I have picked them up from there and they have always been full of praise ( they are quite fussy) and the staff even deal with the language barrier well.

Definitely a great hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    76
    73
    29
    15
See reviews for
34
80
19
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here overnight, staff very welcoming especially the Manager who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Offered us extra water in the room, which was overlooking the courtyard garden. Lovely to go into this hotel and see a warming fire in the reception area. The room was very clean and just what you expect.

The hotel was in walking distance to the town and river and Kingston Upon Thames is a very safe place to be in especially at night.

We hope to be visiting very soon.

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review
we look forward to welcoming you back to kingston lodge .
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A friendly reception always guaranteed every time from staff who certainly seem to like their work.
The rooms are of reasonable quality, though they could do with some modernising, they are clean. Net curtains for the rooms that are overlooked, or face into the courtyard are needed, unless you want to have the main curtains closed all the time. Without these there is no privacy. Also the pillows should be replaced with at least one soft per side, the present ones are hard foam.
Whatever else it does feel like home, especially as I stay there often. Nice touches include free wifi and a bottle of water in the room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge in the not too distant future
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well this hotel is on my doorstep so I do not get to stay at it. However they have a restaurant that they advertise and so we paid it a visit.

I wish I hadnt. The food was clearly cooked out of pre packed food probably from one of the large catering supply companies. The dining room had no atmoshpere at all it was so obviously a well used hotel.

The staff tried hard but not hard enough. I have never been given the bill before receiving dessert before!

Unlike Arnie I will not be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us , please be assured our food is all prepared freshly on site .
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston upon Thames hotels

North Walsham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff, and really have no problems about our one night stay.
The room was clean, well decorated and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good.
The dog enjoyed the stay too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the minute we stepped in to the hotel we felt important. Warm building (very cold day) and an even warmer welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
Pleasant room with all the usual amenities. Excellent food served on hot plates in the airy restaurant.
Definitely on our 'to be visited again' list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel & I was pleased with the standard again.
The room I had was clean & tidy with excellent amenities such as a fridge which most other hotels lack, there was also a complementary bottle of water.
The bathroom was clean but some of the paintwork was peeling, it didn't stop me enjoying the hot shower though! Plenty of towels provided as well as the necessary toiletries.
I joined a friend for dinner & the meal did not disappoint. The lamb shank was lovely, the meat fell off the bone. My friend enjoyed her duck dish immensely. It was nice to be able to try something different.
As usual the staff were attentive especially the lovely Manager who always makes sure her guests are well catered for & nothing is too much trouble. I had asked for a morning paper but had just missed the delivery to my door so the receptionist gave me his!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Address: 94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is on the edge of Richmond Park and 900 metres from Norbiton Rail Station.The Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel is a 2-minute walk from beautiful Richmond Park. It is 1.25 miles (2 km) from the centre of Kingston upon Thames and its shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The Brook Kingston Lodge is next to Coombe Wood Golf Course and 7 miles (11 km) from London’s West End. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Kingston Hotel Kingston Upon Thames
Kingston Hotel Upon Thames
Kingston Lodge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.