We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here overnight, staff very welcoming especially the Manager who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Offered us extra water in the room, which was overlooking the courtyard garden. Lovely to go into this hotel and see a warming fire in the reception area. The room was very clean and just what you expect.

The hotel was in walking distance to the town and river and Kingston Upon Thames is a very safe place to be in especially at night.

We hope to be visiting very soon.

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review
we look forward to welcoming you back to kingston lodge .
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    72
    69
    29
    15
See reviews for
33
77
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A friendly reception always guaranteed every time from staff who certainly seem to like their work.
The rooms are of reasonable quality, though they could do with some modernising, they are clean. Net curtains for the rooms that are overlooked, or face into the courtyard are needed, unless you want to have the main curtains closed all the time. Without these there is no privacy. Also the pillows should be replaced with at least one soft per side, the present ones are hard foam.
Whatever else it does feel like home, especially as I stay there often. Nice touches include free wifi and a bottle of water in the room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge in the not too distant future
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well this hotel is on my doorstep so I do not get to stay at it. However they have a restaurant that they advertise and so we paid it a visit.

I wish I hadnt. The food was clearly cooked out of pre packed food probably from one of the large catering supply companies. The dining room had no atmoshpere at all it was so obviously a well used hotel.

The staff tried hard but not hard enough. I have never been given the bill before receiving dessert before!

Unlike Arnie I will not be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us , please be assured our food is all prepared freshly on site .
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff, and really have no problems about our one night stay.
The room was clean, well decorated and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good.
The dog enjoyed the stay too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the minute we stepped in to the hotel we felt important. Warm building (very cold day) and an even warmer welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
Pleasant room with all the usual amenities. Excellent food served on hot plates in the airy restaurant.
Definitely on our 'to be visited again' list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel & I was pleased with the standard again.
The room I had was clean & tidy with excellent amenities such as a fridge which most other hotels lack, there was also a complementary bottle of water.
The bathroom was clean but some of the paintwork was peeling, it didn't stop me enjoying the hot shower though! Plenty of towels provided as well as the necessary toiletries.
I joined a friend for dinner & the meal did not disappoint. The lamb shank was lovely, the meat fell off the bone. My friend enjoyed her duck dish immensely. It was nice to be able to try something different.
As usual the staff were attentive especially the lovely Manager who always makes sure her guests are well catered for & nothing is too much trouble. I had asked for a morning paper but had just missed the delivery to my door so the receptionist gave me his!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Kingston Lodge Hotel is ideally situated for enjoying Kingston Town centre which is a mile away and is very close to Richmond Park.

My wife and I stayed for one night on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis. On arrival we found that the bed in the room we had been assigned was very small, perhaps only 4ft wide. So we phoned reception to ask if there was an alternative we were bowled over to be offered a suite at no extra cost!

The suite isn't the plushest we have ever stayed out but had everything you could wish for and the bed was bigger, but only 4.6ft at a guess.

The only problem with the room and our whole experience was the noise from the busy road outside. It really was extremely noisy as the Hotel is next to one of the main routes into Kingston. I think the major problem is the lack of triple glazing as the double glazing just didn't dampen the sound from outside.

However, this was the only problem as the staff have to be the nicest and most friendly we have encountered at a hotel. The young receptionist, barman and restuarant manager are all delightful and clearly enjoy their jobs which is a credit to them and the management at the hotel.

We ate dinner there and whilst the food is all rather basic hotel fayre, it is good quality and represents great value and the cost of wine is also acceptable. The cheese board is particularly good.

The buffet breakfast was a joy as well and for once the scrambled egg wasn't all watery so capped off a nice stay.

My recommendation is to obtain a room away from the road and also take a quick walk down the road to the Albert Pub for a couple of pints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Address: 94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is on the edge of Richmond Park and 900 metres from Norbiton Rail Station.The Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel is a 2-minute walk from beautiful Richmond Park. It is 1.25 miles (2 km) from the centre of Kingston upon Thames and its shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The Brook Kingston Lodge is next to Coombe Wood Golf Course and 7 miles (11 km) from London’s West End. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Kingston Hotel Kingston Upon Thames
Kingston Hotel Upon Thames
Kingston Lodge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.