We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value,nice location for access to london with golf and Richmond park on the doorstep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good value,nice location for access to london with golf and Richmond park on the doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel combining a business trip with a weekend in London. It is easily accessible by car and the parking is free. The hotel was very quiet whilst we were there but the bed breakfast and evening meal deal was excellent value for money. The nearest train station norbiton-approximately a 10 minutes walk from the hotel and it only takes about 20 minutes to arrive in waterloo. if you want to visit London but be in a peaceful setting this is a good location. Richmond park/nature reserve is on the doorstep an easy walk from the hotel just as good for celebrity spotting as well as the wildlife.There are several golf courses nearby - 1 adjacent to the hotel.
The bar and lounge area are small but very cosy with open fire and nicely decorated. Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to accomodate any requests. Breakfast is good with a breakfast to go facility if you are in a rush, the rooms are well deorated and spacious with small balconies and away from the road so lovely and quiet. Dinner is average but we were allowed to choose from the bar menu in addition to our meal package menu. The corridors could do with a repaint but overall we had a lovely relaxing stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingston Lodge
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    64
    27
    13
See reviews for
26
72
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on a dinner bed and breakfast package whilst on a work trip. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel building is uninspiring but clean and the room I was staying in was a good size with good facilities. The only thing I didn't like was the evening food; the menu sounds appetising but the chef lacks skill and understanding of ingredients and flavours. Eating the evening meals was like a chore and I could have done a far better job at cooking the food myself. If you are looking for somewhere comfortable to stay in the area I would recommend staying at this hotel but consider eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review ,I am so sorry you did not enjoy our food , but I was please to read you were please with the staff and the hotel
Please be assured I will discuss your review with our chefs , we are normaly complimented on
the quality of our food .
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is rather dated but is very clean. It is totally without character with no outstanding features at all. The food we were served was bland, boring, of only average quality, but sufficient in quantity. I was in a National Holiday Party and we were served in a separate room which was not appealing and obviously a last minute substitute. There was nowhere to go from the hotel and nothing to do there. The journey into London took 70 minutes by coach in the morning and 2hours 10 minutes in the rush hour. Obviously this hotel was not suitable for people who wanted to be in London centre.The staff were williing , but slow and appeared to need training. I would not go to this place again as it does not merit its four star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review,I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Kingston Lodge,
I think perhaps your gripe is with your tour opperator and not the hotel .We have never stated that we are in the center of London.
If you take a train you can be in the center of London with in 25 mins , we have Kingston town center which has fantastic shopping ,the bus to the town center stops out side our door it takes less than 10 minutes , Richmond park is very close by . Kew Gardens and Hampton Court again just a bus ride away . There are tons of things to do in this area.
Best Regards
Mairead and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Kingston Lodge in November booking at short notice and taking advantage of a "romantic break" special offer. The room was very big and the bathroom huge. The food was superb although the diing area could do with some tlc. Good location for visiting central London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review
i do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kingstons in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGenk
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here recently for a business dinner in Kingston. My overall stay was quite nice. Hotel is indeed a bit dated but everything is still well taken care of. Staff are really friendly and quite helpful. Met the owner during a few (too many) beers and he is a very pleasant guy, who's actively involved to ensure customers have a very pleasant experience. I would certainly stay here again when in the Kingston upon Thames area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here many times, always facing the same problems. On my tray with breakfast there was almost always something missing (including cutlery!) or just wrong (I was once given rolls which were rock hard). Some mistakes were just apaling but on the bright side most of the staff were great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having come across a 'buy-a-gift' voucher for an 'afternoon tea for two' that I had forgotten I had (which was due to expire in a few days) I was keen to book my afternoon tea for that very next weekend. My local option of where to use the voucher was Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, so I rang on the Tuesday to book for the Sunday. It was pretty short notice, and the hotel were hosting a large conference that day, but they said if we could come at 5.30pm they could fit us in. I was happy with that & grateful that I could use my voucher before it expired.
On our arrival we were greeted by Matt who was welcoming, friendly and efficient with a lovely customer service attitude. He offered us a selection of seats and we chose the comfortable sofa in a quiet, cosy corner. He then went off to see to organise our tea.
The 'buy-a-gift' website described the afternoon tea at Brook Kingston Lodge as consisting of 'delicious cakes and moist scones' . However, that was an understatement as the spread that they presented us with far exceeded that description. Alomg with our nice big pot of tea, up came a gorgeous selection of 10 finger sandwiches with salad garnish, a plate with a variety of 8 tasty cakes and a plate with two scones complete with jam and cream, all served with a smile by the pleasant waitress.
We savoured our treats over a period of two and a half hours and at no point were we made to feel it was time for us to go. Matt checked back with us that we had enjoyed everything and cleared our coffee table. We left feeling VERY satisfied and a little overweight!!
We were given a very friendly farewell, by Matt and, as we departed, we felt that it's the sort of place that two middle aged ladies can feel totally at home and relaxed whilst enjoying a sumptious tea so we will definitely be back and recommend to others.
Many thanks to Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel and 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: We just went for afternoon tea - we didn't see the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review .
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Address: 94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is on the edge of Richmond Park and 900 metres from Norbiton Rail Station.The Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel is a 2-minute walk from beautiful Richmond Park. It is 1.25 miles (2 km) from the centre of Kingston upon Thames and its shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The Brook Kingston Lodge is next to Coombe Wood Golf Course and 7 miles (11 km) from London’s West End. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Kingston Hotel Kingston Upon Thames
Kingston Hotel Upon Thames
Kingston Lodge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.