We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no steak sandwich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bishop

The Bishop
2 Bishops Hall | Thames Street, Kingston upon Thames KT1 1PY‎, England
+44 20 8546 4965
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Description: Sitting on the banks of the Thames we've got a pretty amazing view of Kingston Bridge which I am sure you will appreciate as much as us. Our stunning Riverside seating area is the perfect place for a spot of people watching whether they be on land or by boat! In the Summer Months you can't beat a beverage on the banks of the Thames, the nearest thing to a beach for miles. And in the bracing Winter we've got blankets to wrap up in & warm drinks to keep you toasty! Come and see us soon,
Restaurant details
Description: Sitting on the banks of the Thames we've got a pretty amazing view of Kingston Bridge which I am sure you will appreciate as much as us. Our stunning Riverside seating area is the perfect place for a spot of people watching whether they be on land or by boat! In the Summer Months you can't beat a beverage on the banks of the Thames, the nearest thing to a beach for miles. And in the bracing Winter we've got blankets to wrap up in & warm drinks to keep you toasty! Come and see us soon,
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no steak sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

i dont know if its my luck but everytime i have tried to order the steak sandwich only because wanted to try it, it was never available so i stop ordering/thinking about it until finally they took it off the menu i think, other food ok

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    9
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice pub with riverview.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This pub is situated on the border of the river Thames. They served us a nice dinner at a fair price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lovely team, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Greeted nicely, at bar and at the table. Efficient tab system. Polite and lovely when waiting at the table.

However....

Steak sandwiches and chips - we thought was quite a simple order - we weren't asked how we wanted it cooked but didnt seem to matter anyway - despite the bread being lovely - the steak was over cooked, off-cuts that looked re-heated and there was barely enough meat to cover the bread - that which was there was so wafer thin, it wasn't noticeable when eaten.

Such a lovely environment spoilt by poor food.

Other minor gripes;
£1:30 for crisps! Cost price, 30p
£2.35 for one cup of tea! (Cafe Rouge (£2.10) and this is no CR!); Browns (Large Tea Pot (2 cups), £2.35) (and its not Covent Garden either!).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good pub well run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a smart little place, right on the river. It is a little pricey for pub grub but then it's very good pub grub. Live accoustic music on a Sunday and a friendly manager.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cosy, buzzing, good service, good food, cold drinks, nice vibe, beautiful setting, stunning views of river and bridge all lit up

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bishop also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.