We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Canbury Arms

The Canbury Arms
49 Canbury Park Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6LQ, England
+44 20 8255 9129
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Canbury Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $8 - $62
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pub with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Been 2-3 times for breakfast or lunch to eat and in the evening for beers. We have never been disappointed. Food is always very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of the Canbury Arms. Every review is of great value to us as daily target is to provide a good, hopefully great experience for every customer that comes through our door. We are delighted that you've never been disappointed, long may that continue! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    54
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As close neighbours we've been loyal locals to the Canbury Arms since it opened. It was always our 'safe choice' for a treat and somewhere you could be guaranteed a very good, if not excellent, dining experience.

However in the last couple of years we've found the standard to have slipped and some particularly recent disappointing experiences have left us with the conclusion that we can no longer depend on the Canbury to deliver a sure-fire great meal. Just this week (Thursday 30th May) we were served, after quite a long wait, a burnt steak and ale pie. The entire rim was black as were some of the peaks of the pastry on top. It was a real shame as the filling and accompanying gravy were fantastic. I complained and was told they could replace it however I didn't want to delay my fellow diners any further by waiting on a new dish and in any case it should never have left the kitchen. A few weeks prior to this experience we were served a 'special' (more like leftover) starter of broccoli and stilton tartlet that was clearly reheated in the microwave from an earlier service as the pastry was soggy yet the filling overcooked. Even the good old dependable Canbury Burger can be overcooked, dry and grey and the bun appears to now be brown/wholemeal which doesn't work as well as white.

Although the service has remained as friendly as ever, there have been times when the standard has not quite been as 'on the ball' as in previous years for example at breakfast recently my party of 5 were completely ignored in the conservatory area by a team of 3 staff (including the manager and owner) who were too busy working out the seating plan of the following day's Sunday lunch service. We had to shout rudely and loudly just to get their attention to place our order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Firstly thank you very much for your feed back. It is useful for us to hear customer's experiences good or bad and sadly yours seems to fall in to the latter category. We have customer feed back forms here at the pub which are filled in every day and we always react to comments, I am not sure if you have already aired your views with us or not as here on Trip Advisor you are anonymous!

Please contact info@thecanburyarms.com and mark it for Viktor's attention, he is our manager and is looking forward to hearing from you.

We are really disappointed that we have failed to provide you with the type of experience that we set out to do. There is no excuse for the food issues you have raised and equally to be neglected by the waiting staff is not acceptable. We hope that we can discuss your issues further and make amends in some way for you to put your confidence back in your neighbourhood pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Found this pub on a busy Bank Holiday Monday and relieved that we were able to get a table without having booked. Excellent service from very friendly staff. Prices are a little high, but this was more than compensated by the wonderful food we had. However, as per the review dated 14 May, the chips were disappointing, which was a shame considering how good the rest of the food was. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for your complimentary review. We have passed on your comments about the chips to the kitchen, we are confident that the quality and consistency is back on track now. We hope you drop in to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Canbury arms Kingston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sunday roast good but can run out early. Main part nice but 'conservatory' can be stark when few tables. Staff helpful and friendly

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for the feed back. We have raised your point of running out of roasts on Sundays with our kitchen team and hope that this issue doesn't continue to be an issue. Thanks for the kind comments about the staff will pass on your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great lunch Menu and hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have been a few times but went for lunch and the menu is great, wide choice, good prices with the food being home cooked on site. The menu on the a la carte can be a bit toppy but it is well worth it. I had the pie and chips and it was a hand raised pie, stuff chocka of yummy meatiness, with extra gravy on the side. The chips were a bit disappointing and the salad side was quite sad looking. We also had the pan fried fish which was a delight well cooked and seasoned with potato and veg that came with it. The bar snakcs are divine, and the staff are a delight. Just on teensy thing can we have some background very quiet music as it would set this place off a treat...???

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for your review, it is always useful to hear customer feedback. Glad you enjoyed your food, on the whole (we'll look into the chips and yes, we are addressing the sad salad!). The music matter is a little like marmite, love it or loathe it! Mostly our customers like the fact that there is no music, occasionally we have music, live light piano/guitar/jazz but one thing that does occur is the noise level in the room increases because customers chat above the music. It's also very difficult to find suitable music for everyone's taste, so therefore we have chosen to remain a music free pub. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canbury Arms also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Surrey
Kingston upon Thames, Surrey
 
Kingston upon Thames, Surrey
Kingston upon Thames, Surrey
 

Been to The Canbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canbury Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.