We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a delicious lunch ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borellis Wine Bar & Grill

Borellis Wine Bar & Grill
Borelli Yard, Farnham GU9 7NU, England (Formerly Borelli's Wine Bar & Grill)
+44 1252 735254
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Borellis Wine Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 100 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: English, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Situated in the center of Farnham in Surrey. Borelli's is a contemporary Wine Bar and Steak Grill set in the beautiful historic Borelli Yard, being one of the best locations in Farnham, near to the central car park. The olive green and white walls, polished wood and tiled floors create a warm and welcoming space at night, while the big windows let in plenty of sunlight during the day. Dining alfresco during the warmer weather in the spacious courtyard is very popular. Borelli's lunch menu offers a wide selection of wraps, baguettes and jacket potatoes and a range of heartier options all at a fixed price of £9-95. The a la carte menu offers seriously good chargrilled beef and chicken dishes. Chefs specials menu changes every week. The relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant, great bar scene and music, friendly service and a comprehensive wine list with many wines available by the glass. Saturday nights are very popular with an 80's night and a Comedy Club every month.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a delicious lunch ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Borellis is a fail safe venue for a delicious lunch; I have been here on several occasions and it never fails to disappoint. The set lunch menu has good options, as well as sandwiches/baguettes/jacket potatoes with a selection of freshly prepared toppings. Facilities are clean and well maintained and staff are friendly and welcoming too. Will definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    14
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

After coming here for my husbands birthday in September we decided to visit again for my dads. Food was excellent! The steak was cooked perfectly and the best I have ever tasted. The staff were wonderful and very friendly. They were attentive and made my son smile. Will be visiting again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveL4, Owner at Borellis Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thankyou for your kind comments. This is exactly what Borelli's aims to achieve - the best steaks in town complimented with fine wine and great friendly service! All our steaks are marinated to give a unique great succulent flavour.
We have recently introduced Thursday Steak Nights offering diners 20% off their total bill including drinks! Our Porterhouse is proving to be a runaway success, table reservations on this night are now essential!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful first time visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Would never visit this bar x grill again. Very bad service rude management x owner who were no help at all. Poor food x we're unable to deal with a large party. Bearing in mind that the food was pre ordered! Useless

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidFarnhamSurrey, Owner at Borellis Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
This reviewer was a member of a party of twenty one people who had a birthday dinner at our restaurant last Saturday evening.
We cater for many large parties of up to fifty people and have done so for the past eighteen years successfully for many happy customers. You will see most reviews reflect this.
My staff and other diners in our restaurant that evening have never had to witness and endure the most disgusting, foul behaviour I have ever seen in my all my time as a restaurateur.
Food fights, total disregard to fellow diners and security having to be called is totally unacceptable.
The chaos this party caused left their bill £120 underpaid, hours to clean their mess off walls, windows, chairs and the floor. Fellow diners had their evenings ruined.
Unbelievably the party booker expected to have his £50 deposit refunded!
Judge for yourself if you feel this review is justified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not a good word to say”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

i wouldnt recommend this bar as a place to eat and dine, the staff are really rude and the owner well i have never come across a person like him, we had a meal here and four peoples meals had to be sent back for them being cold or not cooked at all chicken was pink in the middle food poisoning waiting to happen. after eating here also the owner phoned me 2 days later saying he was going to be taking more money from my card details as there was an underpayment made which i had not given my permission for him to do this which is classed as fraud!!!!!!!!
the food is poor quality and they had run out off most things even though we had to pre order the food service was poor also and very rude staff i will not be returning and would be recommending others dont either

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidFarnhamSurrey, Owner at Borellis Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
This reviewer was a member of the same above party and was the party booker. Our response can be read above. We ask any readers of these two reviews to judge the justification of these malicious remarks and consider the majority of excellent reviews we receive. The reviewers deposit was not refunded for our justified reasons given in the above response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A First Class Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went here on Friday 31st January 2014. It had been two years to the day since we were there, again for my wife's birthday it was excellent then and did not disappoint this time either.

All the staff were friendly and polite and the food was superb.

On both occasions we had the same four friends with us who loved it.

Thanks to Dean who looked after us admirably.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borellis Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Borellis Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borellis Wine Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.