We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always excellent eaten thier many times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
40 Upper Hale Road, Farnham GU9 0NS, England
01252 716 616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 97 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: $20 - $85
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
yateley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“always excellent eaten thier many times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Good food , service always very good. Book a table even it is only for two.
Have been visiting the Lobster Pot for many years with both family and friends

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    62
    26
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Had a good sunday lunch there sometime back. Mussels were excellent for starters. Was very busy and service not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was my 1st visit to the Lobster Pot but will definitely not be my last. I booked the table a week ago on the back of some good reviews for Valentines Night, despite the good reviews, being aware this is one of the busiest nights in restaurants I expected the usual "cram them in where you can, hoist the prices sky high and pre cook a scant menu". What we got was completely different.
The tables were laid out perfectly, with plenty of space between each to enable intimate conversation, the menu had a great selection for each course, I think about 6 starters, 10 mains and 6 sweets, the food was without a doubt cooked to order, my wifes Lamb shank with Cranberry was enormous and delicious and my Sea Bass with olives and onions was to die for. The Prawn starter was lovely, and although we avoided the sweet having been filled up by the first 2 courses did finish with a caffeterie of coffee which amply provided 2 good cups of coffee each. The amazing thing was the bill, we had 3 other drinks with the meal and the cost was under £62 which for food of this standard is exceptional, especially on Valentines.
Finally I would like to congratulate the staff on their attentive but unobtrusive service throughout the evening, you will go a long way to find better, happier service from a team that clearly love what they do and enjoy bringing pleasure to others, if I could give 6 stars I would. Well done and will see you very soon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vast menu choice, and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Eight of us had a very enjoyable lunch, and I think we all ate different dishes, and we were all pleased with our food. Lots of interesting dishes to choose from when we next visit, and I am very tempted to try the extensive fish menu.

A little bit noisy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Try the Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We went had an excellent meal. Try the fish cooked on the "planche". The staff are very knowledgable and efficient. The menu was varied and we especially enjoyed the fish

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.