We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vienna Restaurant - CLOSED

The Vienna Restaurant
112 West Street, Farnham GU9 7HH, England
+44 (0)1252 722978
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $86 - $86
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bordon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Farnham has a number of restaurants with good food and value, and a new one opens in February named after a well known French chef so competition will increase.
We have our favourites for lunch, The Traditional Plaice an excellent chip shop/restaurant, Cote Brassierie which is always good to name two.
For a change we tried The Vienna Restaurant for one of their lunch time specials. My wife decided just to have the one course which was the Cornish Fish Soup, a hearty soup with a good proportion of fish and mussels with good chunk of bread. However she had to wait for I the two courses of Ratatouille Soup full flavoured, and delicious followed by the Liver, Bacon, Onions and proper mash with excellent gravy.
The meal was enjoyed by us both, service was good and we left content, with the problem of where to go in the future with the choices that we have in Farnham

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    9
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Watch out for change in prices AFTER you book!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Annoying to phone up and make a booking to find out only 24 hours later the fixed price menu has gone up in price after we booked. Only a £1 each I know but when just politely querying it with the owner/manager told in no uncertain terms that was the price. The website of course still advertises the old lower price. Meal was good and table staff fine but very poor attitude from the senior staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent. My favourite in Farnham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food is always good and I have never had a problem with the service. I don't understand the comments about slow service. Its not a fast food joint. I go there for an evening out knowing I won't be rushed and out by nine o'clock and wondering what to do with the rest of the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch with only very minor niggles.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A very pleasant lunch of Caesar Salad followed by liver and bacon from the £9.95 set lunch menu. A welcome surprise to find a chef who really understands what Caesar salad means, i.e. with fresh or marinated anchovy. Liver and bacon, quite a hearty portion, good mashed potato, very tasty gravy and plenty of onions. A side dish of good fresh vegetables was not charged extra - a definite plus point in a restaurant of this level.

Now the little niggles - firstly, the big A-board on the pavement outside shouted the £9.95 lunch offer, but when we were seated the waiter offered just the a la carte menu, only producing the lunch menu on request. The same happened to the two ladies seated at the next table. He would save himself a lot of walking if he offered both at the outset! Secondly, I asked for the liver to be cooked rare and it arrived medium well. Not a tragedy, as it was still tasty but if it had been cooked as I requested, I would have rated this Restaurant 5/5.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We were eight people celebrating a friends birthday. One of the group had persoanny visited to ensure we would be seated in a certain place in the restaurant. he was assured we would. On arrival we were seated in a much inferior location and told by the female owner "there's nothing we can do about it now"! The service was terrible the food was worse. Every time we went to order a second bottle of wine they had run out of that type. The overall cost was excessive for the standards achieved. Overall a very dissapointing evening. We won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vienna Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vienna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.