We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was really impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Vie to your Saves list
Hotel de Vie
22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Farnham B&B and Inns
Oundle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I was really impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Within 5 minutes walk of the train station and with it,s own car parking, the hotel de vie occupies and excellent position within 7 minutes walk of the town centre. A somewhat ordinary looking building occupying a corner plot, the welcome and services are far from ordinary. The friendly and professional welcome from Jason was genuine and my room, mirrors and lace, (each room has a theme) was comfortable and well appointed. Free high speed wi Fi ( important on business travel) is available all over the hotel. The public area ( bar / restaurant) has Nespresso coffee tea and snacks available for residents. Finally the breakfast, cooked to order or at a pre-booked time, was delicious and a real treat when so many breakfasts are kept warm on buffets. Nothing was too much trouble and train times, taxis and local assistance was as good as any concierge service in a 5 star international hotel. All in all an excellent establishment!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    33
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
162
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having stayed unsuccesfully at a "supposedly" 3* hotel in Farnham we looked for somewhere which looked as if it would be clean, comfortable and would provided us with the service we required. We found it here. We needed somewhere close to our former home as a base to visit friends and we seem to have found it. The staff were welcoming and did everything they could to make our visit memorable. We had an evening meal which was excellent and a breakfast which was very well prepared and provided at precisely the time we asked for it. We had the smallest room in the Hotel but it was comfortable and had everything we needed for our short stay. We shall most definately return on our future visits to Farnham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just spent a night here, the hotel is really lovely, lots of little extra touches which made it much more comfortable and pleasant than hotels in a similar price bracket. Super coffee and teas available in the lounge and great freshly cooked breakfast. Shower great, bed really comfortable and the staff were really friendly. I had heard rumours about the reputation of the hotel and indeed the room has a 'love swing' (in a box under the wardrobe) and there is some quite senuous artwork around the place, but the overall effect was completely discreet and classy, not remotely seedy or vulgar, I would be suprised if it made anyone feel uncomfortable and although that aspect of the hotel was not something I would particularly seek out, in the end I thought it was actually a refreshing change and a positive celebration of love and physical intimacy.....you never know it might be setting a trend for British hotels to be a bit more openminded!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is perfect. Classy, romantic. The lovers paradise. A good bed, a wonderful bath and shower and the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Good breakfast and amazing variety of coffee & tea. It's in a great location too.

All in all a lovely time in Hotel de Vie.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel De Vie as we had an early start for work nearby. Jason greeted us very warmly and was very helpful. We left too early for breakfast but he kindly arranged for some breakfast bits to be laid out so we could help ourselves. Top notch! Unfortunately, we had to leave even earlier than expected so didn't get to try this.

We ate at the hotel and the food was delicious and very prompt and again given with great service.

Everything was spotlessly clean and our room had a very nice bathroom. However, the bed really let the room down (Oriental). The mattress was broken in places to the point we ended up having to turn it. We felt ridiculous! It's possibly OK if you were on your own so you could sleep in the middle. I ended up having to sleep on a folded up towel as we could feel the springs in our back. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep.

Having no plug by a mirror (that we could find) was annoying when trying to dry and style my hair for work too. Having to drop a hairdryer into a sink isn't ideal.

There was quite a lot of noise coming from the rooms around (some of it quite private! (guess this is our fault for not reading through the "leisure" FAQs more thoroughly and we only twigged this after we left - hence poor research on my behalf knowing we'd be staying on a Saturday night for work Sunday morning)), but this didn't go on too late. However, this meant we were tip-toeing around in the morning getting ready as we knew people would be able to hear us too.  Earplugs are provided in the rooms.

Overall, it's a nice hotel and friendly and it really bugs me to have to give a negative review, but not being able to sleep because of the bed was a big downer and made it feel quite over-priced for the level of comfort. Maybe this is bad luck and another room would be fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your detailed review on here, and it’s great to hear about your feedback on our food too, although of course it’s very disappointing to hear you didn’t have a good night’s sleep in one of our smallest rooms.

I’m not sure however, how you felt you ‘had’ to give your negative feedback on here : It is always optional to write reviews on TripAdvisor or anywhere else.
After the warm welcome you describe, our excellent food, and our efforts to make variations for your early morning breakfast, it was a shame you still felt it more appropriate to publish anonymous feedback online, rather than getting in contact after your stay to share your thoughts with us directly (so we could then look at resolving any issues as appropriate).
We try to ensure good communication with our guests throughout their stay, so it’s upsetting the open channels seem to have broken down on this occasion.

However, always looking to improve, we will now be making a point to try and contact each of our early check-out guests, to ask directly if there was anything that could have been improved immediately after their stay. This is something we normally do in person on their regular checkout. Feedback on how we can make things better is the reason so many details have been thought through, throughout the hotel (such as the very recent additions of inflatable pillows for the larger baths, extra coat hooks in the rooms, a wider range of milks and non-coffee coffees, etc. in the last few weeks alone!)

We were very surprised to hear your feedback about that mattress in that room. Literally in the days before your stay, we had guests complimenting us on how comfortable they were in that bed, and how well they slept. After reading your review I then also immediately went to check the mattress myself, and although I did find it not quite as springy in places as it perhaps once was, I couldn’t feel any broken springs. However, not ever wanting to hear the same negative feedback twice, within hours I had ordered a brand new mattress for that room, which arrived a few days later. A new 1700 pocket spring mattress with a memory foam topper, is therefore now fitted, and so should ensure an even better night’s sleep in our smallest double room.

In relation to your comment of the ‘leisure’ aspects, I am confused what you mean by that from our website. I’m really sorry you felt the need to tip-toe around in the earlier morning, which I’m sure wasn’t necessary (although not slamming doors I’m sure was appreciated).
The walls and rooms in Hotel de vie, are pretty well sound insulated from each other. However, as I hoped you’d appreciate, it’s not unheard of in many hotels (and houses) around the world for some people to be just that bit more vocal in their enjoyment than other people when enjoying a night as a couple. Although it’s not a regular occurrence at those louder levels, despite our best efforts, much like a baby crying (which is why we’re a child free hotel) it’s very difficult to fully stop this type of sound carrying entirely, fortunately as you say, it didn't carry on for too long!

Finally, I’m also sorry you weren’t able to find the sockets for your hair dryer easily in the morning. There are 8 plug sockets around that room, two of which are just below the dresser unit under the mirror you described (just next to the telephone point).
However, to make them more obvious, I have now slid the whole dresser unit to the left, to position these sockets to the side of the dresser rather than in the middle gap. I hope therefore future guests won’t experience the same challenges as yourselves, in any aspect of their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This place is amazing & the attention to detail is mind-blowing! The room was so lovely & the breakfast was perfect! Love the selection of teas & coffees, & everything else. The proprietor thought of everything... We'll definitely come back...

Room Tip: We had a quick tour & they're all wonderful, but the suites are not to be missed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It’s great to have read your review on here. Thank you for sharing your positive experience via TripAdvisor.

We’re really pleased you had also picked up on our attention to detail throughout the hotel. As you spotted we really do try to think of everything, but are always open to new ideas on how to make things better (even after 30 months managing things myself!).

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel De Vie twice now and it's been a wonderful experience both times. The first time was a birthday treat and I had the good fortune to be able to stay in the best room of the hotel: 'The Scarlet Suite'. It felt so special having use of the huge bath and extra king-size four-poster. We were also treated to a yummy breakfast in our room with our choice of veggie and vegan bacon and sausages. Even the water in our room was specially filtered and the process was explained to us by the impeccable host Jason. There were lots of little extra touches which added to the unique experience, such as the coffee/tea station with a huge choice of drinks and tasty treats, and the DVD selection available. There really was no need to leave the room!
My 2nd visit was another charming stay in 'Victorian Memories' and I'm still hoping to experience 'Parisian Dreams' in the near future!
If you haven't visited the Hotel De Vie yet, I heartily recommend you check it out. It really will feel like a special treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdV_Owner, General Manager at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful experience of the hotel on here, for your two visits to us :)

Not everyone gets to try our carefully selected veggie bacon & veggie sausages, so I'm glad you had a chance to try these for yourselves.

And of course we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the Parisian Dreams room as you say next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.