We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a wedding but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farnham House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Farnham House Hotel to your Saves list
Farnham House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alton Road (A31), Farnham GU10 5ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farnham
Southampton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice for a wedding but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed with a group of family and friends for a two night stay for a wedding. The night before we all had a meal together which was fine although service could have been a bit more attentive. The wedding was well done and everyone had a happy day. Food was nice and the arrangements were very organised. I would have not been happy if I was a private guest this day as the wedding party took over the whole bar and reception area with no other areas for guests to go. The food was nice and the drinks reasonable. The room was nice with a balcony but the bathroom really let it down. It was aged and dirty. Be warned of the noise - our room was above the function room and it seems the floor was paper thin. Staff smoking outside the front door possibly needs to be addressed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    32
    18
    27
See reviews for
45
48
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minty001
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Setting is beautiful and could be a great hotel but inside it is like Faulty Towers. Had to shout to get someone to come to reception and the bar, infact got so fed up waiting for bar service I helped myself. Room has a sky light with no blind so was woken up at 4.30am with sunlight. Pillow was so thin even with 3 it hardly made a difference, only had a sheet and thin blanket with holes in, and the "double bed" was 2 singles pushed together with a sheet over them so had a nice big lump in the middle. Towels have seen better days and they definately haven't heard of fabric softener - they were like brillo pads. Food for dinner was extremely expensive for an average meal, and very small portion sizes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

At a first glance this hotel is charming and welcoming, from the outside you get a real feeling of a wonderful classy hotel, however upon entering the hotel all the felling's you have of class are shattered. . . the reception area is simply horrendous, i would recommend the owners spent a little more time and money on fixing the general appearance a bit. I'm sure tartan carpets were all thrown out and burned years ago? it seems like the hotel is stuck in a time warp.
The rooms were cosy but well cleaned and all general essentials were provided. The restaurant on the first evening was in the larger of the function rooms, it was warm and welcoming with a nice ambiance. I didn't think much of the music choice but this was soon forgotten when me met our wonderful waitress, she was so friendly and charming, any bad things we'd picked up on, had simply been forgotten once we began chatting to the young friendly lass. She seemed a real character but remained professional, it made it really easy to relax and enjoy our meal! Which i must say was fantastic. I didn't think much of the menu, it seemed like there were too many choices but when we finally decided the standard and presentation was brilliant.
On the next evening the restaurant had moved to the smaller function room as there was a wedding taking place in the lower ground floor of the hotel. It wasn't such a nice setting but understandable as the wedding was taking place. At first we were a little dubious whether or not to eat in the hotel whilst the wedding was taking place but upon meeting the same waitress from the previous evening she assured us that we were not in the way and we could sit and enjoy our evening without worry.
The thing which really made our stay here was the staff. They seemed like a small friendly team, who were more than happy to oblige with anything. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone as long as you don't judge it on the first overall appearance of tartan carpets!
I look forward to staying here again in the future, i just hope we are lucky and meet the same waitress again, she really did make this short break for us!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Nice location and venue, service on arrival and check out was good, staff accommodated little extras like additional milk for our room (definately needed as we ran out after just one cup of tea each). The Bar area was very small and seemed to find coping with a large wedding party a struggle, service at dinner was OK but the food was not great for the Wedding Breakfast or mornings cooked breakfast on Valentines Day - I'd rate it 2-3 out of 5. Price was good for our room and also the room itself was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony overlooking the garden - (garden great for wedding photos). I would recommend to a friend if they were just passing through but for a larger function not so practical.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Don't live far from Farnham at all but decided to get away from home and have a quiet weekend together enjoying a few good meals, drinking and chatting. The room we had was absolutely super, clean and well looked after. Breakfast was great and dinner was worth staying in for. Found the bar area very cosy for after dinner drinks and walking up the staircase to our room was so much nicer than having to get into a car and drive home. The staff were exceptionally friendly and service standards high even though the hotel was nearly fully booked the weekend we stayed. Went for a lovely leisurely walk on the Sunday after breakfast. Fantastic location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

What a rip-off! Although the hotel looks lovely from the outside and has real potential if it were completely refurbished as the basic structure and grounds are lovely, I was very disappointed with my stay. My first impression upon entering was that the lobby smelled like a musty bar and all the carpets were tartan -- as my friend said, "It looks like Scotland threw up in here". I had a single room, priced at £85, which was tiny with flourescent strip lighting and smelled musty. The bathroom was dingy with peeling linoleum. There was no duvet, instead a polyester coverlet. My friends had a single and a twin, and these were equally disappointing. At breakfast there was no tea and when it finally arrived it tasted of coffee -- they had obviously re-used the coffee urn for tea.

We really laughed when we saw the signs suggesting one could hold a wedding here -- maybe if you had a marquee on the lawn and didn't let anyone into the building!

If my single room had been £30 I wouldn't complain so much but I expected a touch of luxury for £85 in the middle of the country!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnyonbusiness, Owner at Farnham House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
We are sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable stay and since many rooms have undergone refurbishment and improvements to operational standards undertaken. However the reception is a very appealing feature to many of our guests, particularly brides, many of whom have posted reviews on Hitched that confirm the hotel as a very popular choice for weddings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

I was staying at this hotel as part of a wedding party that had exclusive use of the hotel and my first impression was good - the outside of the hotel is beautiful and fascinating to look at. I had asked on booking and again when I phoned a week before arrival to be put into a room next door to a friend of mine who was staying by herself however upon checking in they had put us in different corners of the hotel. We complaining to the unorganised Reception Team they did try and move us together but in the end we had to setlle for being in the same corridor. Rooms were tatty and in need of a coat of paint at least but did have the basic facilities and the sight of conference chairs piled haphazardly in the corridor and partially blocking a fire exit did concern me a little. The wedding breakfats itself was excellent - organised and friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure everyone was catered for and the food was hot and tasty!!! Duringa break in the day, I decided to walk around the grounds although they are not extensive as first appears and the swimming pool had a very green look about it and smelt odd. We were assured that this was algae that had grown on the bottom of the pool and was harmless but that they were trying to remove but it did look particularly welcoming. Corridors are quite noisy and our room was situated opposite the breakfast room which did not lead to a lie in at all. The bar is quaint but not ideal for a busy wedding reception.Overall, we had no choice but to stay at this hotel due to the wedding being held there but I would not go back for a personal stay due to the lack of organisation and general upkeep of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Address: Alton Road (A31), Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a superb peaceful yet convenient location. A unique country house hotel set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden pavilion. The relaxing bar offers a great snack menu or for extensive a la carte dining there is the restaurant. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences with Wi Fi through out, good on-site free parking and the opportunity of having the hotel on an exclusive use basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnham House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.