We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant lunch venue.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
5 Castle Street, Farnham GU9 7HR, England
+44 1252 899970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 97 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: $17 - $62
Cuisines: European, French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in the middle of a row of beautiful Georgian townhouses on Castle Street, our French brasserie spreads through several cosy rooms, with a lovely bar for pre-dinner drinks. The restaurant has tables small and large plus fabulous banquette seating so it can be whatever you want it to be: cosy, romantic, lively or fun - depending on your occasion and your companions! Our beautiful, secret garden is a popular retreat where guests can dine al fresco in the summer months and upstairs is a stylish private room that seats up to 30 for board meetings, special events, or celebration dinners.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very pleasant lunch venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

wonderful food, excellent service and a very pleasant surrounding. Thoroughly recommended for an informal lunch with friends

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    87
    59
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So-so experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Imposing restaurant from outside & interior does not disappoint. Not a great choice on the menu but the food we had was acceptable but not outstanding. We will return but they are in real competition with another French restaurant in the Lion & Lamb.
Service provided was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Guaranteed good menus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our first family visit and a birthday celebration to this particular Brasserie Blanc though familiar with the brand elsewhere. Bank holiday lunch on a rainy day saw the restaurant not particularly full. We liked the seasonal menu choice. The family enjoyed starters of cheese soufflé with hot cheese sauce, mussels and chicken parfait. Mains were beef bourguignon, citrus duck, steak tartare. Desserts included delicious crepes suzette (shared between 2), apple crumble and chocolate fondant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited on a Sunday with a group of people, ambience and service excellent but food a complete let down.
Many had Sunday roasts which were only average. Considering the price I expected something special. The beef portions were stingy and did not have the appearance of a truly roasted joint.
The roast potatoes were probably cooked hours earlier and many were a soggy apology of a true roast spud, as were the Yorkshires which were rubbery and initially forgotten until asked for.
A special request regarding the vegetables for one person was completely ignored. The ala carte meals were not much better.
However, the starters and sweets were well received.
It seems to me they are catering for too many people, it was very busy, and because of this the food suffers. I would not visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“There is something about this place!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

There is something about this place that I do not get!...The food is just on the good side of ok, the wine list is ok, the ambience is ok just about everything is ok - but why would one eat here?
I had been to this restaurant soon after it opened and it was so bad that i could not write a review that i felt comfortable with, now, months later, i went mid week with a friend and the service was still as poor and everything just seemed short of what one would expect from Brasserie Blanc. This place should be the exemplar of restaurants in Farnham - not just another also ran! I am sorry I cannot be more positive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.