We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and efficient service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
19 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
01252 717135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 97 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Under new management and now serving fresh, seasonal dishes cooked by passionate chefs. Food is locally sourced wherever possible and served in a welcoming and friendly environment.We serve a great pint of local ale too!
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and efficient service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My first time in the Wheatsheaf for a very long time as a guest at a business meeting. The Wheatsheaf Burger was exceptional! Thoroughly recommend for location in the centre of Farnham, food and friendly service

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    26
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely Easter Bank Holiday Monday evening meal here. Managed to squeeze us in, as we hadn't booked, was busy, but didn't overly effect us in the Peter Pan room x
Excellent service, hard to think of any faults. Accommodating, friendly, helpful staff, who made us feel special and valued, and gave honest and helpful opinions on the drinks and menu :)
Food was superb, excellent quality, locally sourced and well prepared and presented. Couldn't ask for more :) thank you for a wonderful impromptu evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Having only eaten at the wheatsheaf on an evening and being impressed took a customer for lunch.
Normal excellent friendly service and the burgers were gorgeous.
Still very impressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would not recommened”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Place was noisy, heaving full of middle-aged people and took ages to get served. Not enough tables to sit anywhere. Typical Wheatsheaf feel. Wouldn't recommend. Will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and providing us feedback following your visit to the Wheatsheaf.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the atmosphere of our venue; our weekends have become a vibrant part of the Farnham night life and can tend to get very busy in the bar area. We always strive to make sure we don’t keep anyone waiting and see to them within a suitable time but, like any popular bar, you cannot always predict when it will peak and trough, making it harder at times to reach every guest straight away.
We are aware that this kind of environment does not appeal to everyone and understand a quieter venue with plentiful seating is more appealing.
I apologise that we failed to meet your expectations during your visit, please note that during the week is a more relaxed ambience if you do wish to return and I trust your future visit to be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookham Village, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Welcoming and friendly staff, gorgeous stylish interior, really tasty food, good choice of wines and locally brewed ales ! Didn't realise how nice it was going to be and turned up in walking boots, shorts and tshirt. Felt a little under dressed but was still made welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

 
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.