We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUMMARY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farnham
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
“SUMMARY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice place to stay and good location.
staff excellent and very helpful
breakfast was cold and plate cold which was shame as food was great !!
i understand it was going through refurbishment however adequate procudures should have ensured a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be excellent and our food to be tasty.
I am sorry that your breakfast plates were cold, which must have cooled down the food quickly.
It is correct that we went through a refurbishment of our restaurant in the last two weeks and that we now offer a really nice restaurant, but I agree that we should have still provided you with hot plates for the buffet, whilst we were improving on these areas.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon and show you all the lovely changes to our new decor.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    98
    84
    47
    25
See reviews for
49
102
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions (its very handy for the head office) and have always found it comfortable and friendly. The hotel is very old and certainly has history. It is ideally placed in the centre of the historic town of Farnham and therefore within easy walking distance of the shops, bars and eating places (variety to suite most tastes). Offers free internet now so that is a real bonus.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that are above the patio outside the bar, in Summer when it is warm (windows open as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for kind review following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
We are very glad you enjoy your stays with us and appreciate your regular custom to the hotel.

I will pass on your comments to our team, which I am sure will boost our team's confidence as we continue to improve on our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a night's stay here, the hotel is centrally located with great access to all the facilities you want from a town centre. Room adequate size, modern furnishings and comfortable bed. If I have to be critical I would say that the bathroom should have been updated when the room was decorated, it was looking rather tired, shower constantly dripping, screen not working properly causing puddles on the bathroom floor and secondary lighting flicked on and off. Despite the freezing weather outside the room was really warm and cosy, had a good night's sleep with no noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the bedroom and the comfort of the bed. It is true that our hotel has a great central location in Farnham.

I have noted your feedback regarding the bathroom, which I will pass on to our maintenance team to ensure we keep improving on our facilities.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon for another great stay.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed one night for a friend's birthday which was held in central Farnham. This hotel is centrally located right off the high street easy to walk around the shops and restaurants. Staff friendly, great service, clean. Hotel had charm and character. Our room was a good size with everything we needed. The only downside was no bath only a shower but as only staying one night did not worry us too much! Booked room online for the discount. Also decided to have breakfast not included as we wanted to try a place called cotes up lion and lamb walk - excellent you will not be disappointed! A great hotel with great location and value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice review regarding your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
We are pleased to see that you were particularly happy with the services and our staff friendliness, as well as our cleanliness.
We hope you will have many more visits to our lovely town and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently held our wedding reception here and had a fantastic day. The package was really good value for money. We wanted a hotel with original character and a genuine history. This hotel did not disappoint. An army of dedicated staff had prepared the main room for our feast, the food was delicious and upon arrival we gathered in the quirky oak room with roaring log fires to gather around. We had beautiful candelabras flickering away to complement the chandeliers, and a disco to dance into the wee hours. The buffet was superb and when a plate was emptied by the guests, it was quickly refilled. The bar stayed open as long as we the guests were willing to party, and being mainly Irish this was late into the evening. This hotel was a great choice for our reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy to see that you were very pleased with your wedding reception at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
I will pass on all your feedback to our team, which I am sure will serve as a great encouragement, as we continue to focus on further enhancement of all our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed hear with my husband just to getaway for a weekend it was sooo cold but the rooms were lovely and warm . Very sleepy town but friendly people some lovely pubs near by. The groungs of Farnham Bush Hotel are very green with lots of trees and shrubs, I can imagen that in the summer would be very inviting ,but not for our stay as it snowed ! but did look lovely. The breckfast is self serve was ok for me but my husban prefers a realy hot just cooked food , lots to choose from . we enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed it in its entirety. Our gardens are lovely in summer as well and certainly very inviting. Our terrace offers a great opportunity to enjoy them in summer time, whilst relaxing with a nice cold drink. Winter is coming to a close late this year, but hopefully we are able to welcome you back in nice weather soon.

With regards to our breakfast offering, we offer a large number of hot & cold dishes on our breakfast buffet. However, please note that there are a large variety of dishes that we would happily cook to order as well, such as Eggs Benedicte or fish dishes. Please do not hesitate to ask for any hot food cooked to order during any future visits.

Thanks again for your kind comments.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Bush is an atmospheric, classy, elegant hotel in the lovely market town of Farnham in the South of England. Situated in the very town centre, still with ample parking, is the Bush, a complex of Georgian buildings joined together to offer classy and comfortable accommodation, but also a conference centre, a great restaurant with superb food and kind and professional service, a pub, a courtyard with a magnificent fountain. Some rooms are relatively modern, others are very old - with all the characteristics, good and bad, of old rooms. Perhaps a ghost?

Room Tip: In spite of the ghosts, I will always choose a room in the central old building. Eben those on the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive nice feedback and we appreciate your regular custom to the hotel.
We certainly offer an atmospheric and historic environment in a fantastic location and it is great to see your appreciation of our services and our product.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.