We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always my first choice for a curry in farnham!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mahaan - Fine Indian Cuisine

The Mahaan - Fine Indian Cuisine
13 East Street, Farnham GU9 7RX, England
+44 1252 718109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 97 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Surrey/Hants border
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always my first choice for a curry in farnham!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant many times: the food is consistently good and there is plenty to choose from on the menu.
The service can be a little slow at times but the restaurant is very busy so to be expected. Worth booking a table if you are thinking of visiting at the weekend as we have been unable to get a table in the past. Highly recommend a visit!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“They know you have a choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Farnham is blessed with a surfeit of Indian Restaurants so we decided to give the Mahaan a try having not been there for a very long time, and avoided our usual haunts.
We were pleasantly surprised considering the mixed reviews , and cant complain about anything here. Food was well cooked, plentiful, and staff were extremely polite and friendly. The decor is very modern but they have managed to create a nice ambience. We'll be back very soon for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

have been here a couple of times over the last few months and both times had excellent meals. The decor is fresh and trendy and the food and service excellent. If you facny a decent curry in the Farnham area, this is as good a choice as any. Very good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A really good curry at fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While living in the US for a few years I made sure that every trip I made back to the UK South East included a trip to The Mahaan. Now I'm back home, I've assured myself that it wasn't simply the absence of any decent Indian food across the pond that made me crave this Farnham highlight. I've been visiting almost since it opened and the quality of the food remains as good now as it was then. If more (or less) spice is your thing then ask. Sometimes a couple of the waiters can get a bit muddled but if you are in doubt you can always ask to speak to one of the senior staff. Great food and great service. The proof of the curry is in the eating and this place is rarely empty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a spacious, well presented establishment with friendly and efficient staff. The menu is different from most restaurants I have visited. Our party of 8 chose a mixture of starters, mains and sides from the extensive menu and not a morsel remained. Prices, including drinks are very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mahaan - Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to The Mahaan - Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mahaan - Fine Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.