We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bishops Table

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bishops Table to your Saves list
The Bishops Table
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Farnham
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super location, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Have been in Farnham on business several times in the last month, without a car. Bishops Table staff very very attentive. Dining room, lounge area is basic but light and airy. This is a small hotel, only about 15 rooms, which I like. Excellent location in the middle of Farnham.

Bar service finishes at 11pm. Bedrooms are neat and clean but a bit old-fashioned. Free wifi iS not available in every room, so if this is important to you then ask for a room with a good signal.

I'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    14
    15
    9
See reviews for
11
23
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Five of my wedding guests stayed here at the end of June and all were extremely happy with the hotel. They particularly commented on the friendly and helpful staff, the lovely garden and the nice rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in room number 1 for 3 nights with our 10 year old daughter. It is on the 2nd floor, no lifts. Having owned and renovated and maintained a 160 year old house ourselves, we recognized some of the crossroads the owners must have come to along the way. How to maintain the old charm and fittings while keeping up with modern conveniences and expectations. For example, in the bathroom, there is a nice big tub, which is great, but we took showers. The glass door meant to swivel and block the splashing shower water ended up leaking. So there was a huge puddle of water after each shower. Not my house or my problem, but that's an example of an oddity. Another is the wifi situation. Really glad it's offered at all, but the free wifi is only available in the lobby/bar area, and for me with my iPad, only worked while standing at the bar. No chairs to sit on, so I stood. There IS some sort of very expensive wifi service that can be purchased and used in the room, but, we didn't choose that. It just made staying in touch with people and emails awkward. Anyway, we would stay here again because the balance of the experience was positive, comfortable, and fun. The managers are a wealth of information. Breakfast was a nice assortment of continental offerings (fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal, etc) with options for eggs and meats for a bit more of a price. We tried the blood pudding, which is a sausage made from pig's blood. They said people either love it or hate it. We liked it, and appreciated the local British fare. No other meals offered here at this time.

Room Tip: Communicate with them and explain what you are hoping for. They are very personable, friendly, and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had one night away, decided to book a nice hotel and find somewhere nice for dinner. From late rooms looked very nice. How disappointing, free car park, hmm not quite, free from 6pm until 8am, not impressed at being away and having to get up early to move car, not exactly a romantic night away. We went out and return there was no light on the stairs to the attic bedroom. Room was disappointing, needed a coat of paint, no headboard, two single beds pushed together and mattresses not the same, so not a flat bed. Bathroom old and needed updated. We did not stay for breakfast, decided over price for rating of hotel. Be aware, after moving car there was no where open at 8am for breakfast, so after walking the town, we moved to aldershot. My what a find for the most beautiful fresh breakfast, Coffee Mi run by an Italian gentleman, fresh orange juice, fresh ground coffee and excellent breakfast and half the price. Will certainly go back to Coffee Mi but not to the BIshops Table.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmngham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This used to be a beautiful place. Now it is tired, uninviting, scruffy and disappointing. The room we stayed in was in the attic, no proper fire escape ( not sure how they get away with this), it was scruffy, bathroom was mucky and tiling was amateurish and not properly finished. No headboard on bed, flickering lights and noisy extractor fan. This place does not reflect well on Farnham. I grew up here, I won't be back anytime soon. For £85 room only I feel we deserved a lot better. I have stayed in much better B & B's for half the price. Bar did not appear to be open, only member of staff we met was Basil Fawlty to a tee. This hotel epitomises all that is bad about the UK hotel industry. I just feel ripped off. And it is not in the heart of the town as claimed. Ok, it is a few minutes walk but this is a blatant untruth. Oh, and the free WiFi did not work. I had to use my 3G to submit this. Wanted to give it a zero rating but Tripadvisor won't let me give it less than 1.

Room Tip: Don't stay in attic, it is potentially a killer as there is no fire escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked online after seeing the photos of the hotel - arrived late in the evening after a wedding expecting to be able to relax and enjoy the hotel. Our party (three women travelling together) were lead throught the hotel, across a yard, into an annex building. The smell on entering was one of damp and the rooms at the very least, could be called tired. Mould on walls in the shower, towel holder broken, tea/coffee shelf on wall broken (even though cups were still placed onto it), carpet very dirty to the point of keeping shoes on. If it had not been so late at night (after 10pm) we would have walked out but having parked our cars some distance away(no parking facilities) we felt that we had no option other to stay for the night. Breakfast was priced at £8.95 but that was the starting price - full breakfast being £13.95 which was very expensive for what it was - added to the experience, a long hair was found in the toast bowl. On speaking with the hoteler, we were informed that the annex was being knocked down becasue of the condition of the accommadation to make way for a car park. If we had know that we had been booked into this accomodation we would have never booked it. We did receive a £20 refund on the bill but for us the weekend was spolt because we booked the hotel on the photos of how the hotel looked online and with hindsight should have looked at the reviews.

Room Tip: Request that you stay in the main building and not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Really nice welcome, thoughtful (they had an event so put us on the top floor away from the 'noise'), nice room with character. A refreshing change to the chain hotels/ 'generic' fit out one experiences these days.

Room Tip: The one at the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bishops Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bishops Table

Address: 27 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bishops Table 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, privately owned and managed 18th century hotel in the heart of this beautiful town offering comfortable en-suite bedrooms, fine dining, cafe/bar, and excellent personal service from a team of dedicated staff. The Plum Brasserie is no ordinary hotel restaurant; it is recognized as one of the finest Brasseries in the area for both its fine cuisine and excellent service. Farnham has easy links to London, and a number of local places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bishops Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bishops Table Farnham, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bishops Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.