We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalk Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chalk Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Chalk Lane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel. We stayed here as we were going to a queensbury boxing event at Epsom downs.
Lots of free parking outside. The staff are really friendly and greeted us really nicely.
The beds were really comfy and we had a lovely breakfast in the morning.
The hotels food menu is very pricey so you may not want to rely on eating here.
There's a lovely little restaurant just up the rd (ladies in heels, just don't attempt to walk it like I did!)
called the rubbing house. It over looks the racecourse, you can park here too.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    30
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
27
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We held a 40th wedding anniversary party, for 65 people, at the Chalk Lane Hotel back in April. Stephen and his team could not have been more welcoming, attentive, flexible and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent, the accomodation great. We and all our family and guests loved every minute of a fantastic week.

Many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently held my wedding reception here and they were 5* from start to finish. The wedding coordinator Stephen made us feel at ease and his advice was first rate especially on helping work out the timings. The staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. There is a lovely little garden hidden out the back that is ideal for photographs, as well as a terrace straight out of the main room. The food was very good, drinks were a little expensive but no more than you would expect from a hotel. The honeymoon suite was lovely, very quaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on a sunny Sunday Afternoon and got checked in quickly and easily. The hotel is a listed building so there is no lift and there are no rooms on the ground floor. This did not put me off. We were allocated room 19 which has a fire escape onto a small balcony which is delightful.. The room is bright and airy with beautiful furnishings and a very adequate en suite.
The hotel is steeped in history and close to Epsom Racecourse. Situated on a one way lane - there is no traffic noise and a perfect place to stay for a long or short stay.
I will heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night for a family wedding. Our room, (no.29) was a good size and we had an extra bed in the room for our daughter without it feeling too cramped. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. A nice breakfast was served promptly, with plenty of hot options to choose from.
Definitely worthy of consideration if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A little gem hidden less than 1 kilometre from Epsom's High St. The staff are outstanding and the in house dining will not disappoint.. Certainly it is off the beaten track but if you have a need for accommodation in this area, this hotel will fit the bill in every respect. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Chalk Lane Hotel, and had a wonderful stay. Breakfast both mornings was very good, and our room (#21 in the older part of the building) was lovely and quite roomy. The day manager, Angie, was very friendly and helpful with advice and directions, and always greeted us with a smile. At her suggestion, we walked along a little country road to get to Epsom Downs where we enjoyed a pleasant pub lunch at the Rubbing House. Although there was a wedding at the hotel the second night, we didn't hear a thing from our room. If I'm ever in the area again, I'd be more than happy to stay at the Chalk Lane Hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 and it was really lovely. The bed was good and we slept well both nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalk Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.