We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Derby Arms

The Derby Arms
Epsom Downs, Epsom KT18 5LE, England
01372 722330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 156 Restaurants in Epsom
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great food, prompt service ( I usually go on a weekday lunchtime) - tend to book if we are 6 or more but don't need to if just 2 of you. Wide choice of food, and particularly good to have 2 courses for £12.50 at lunchtime certainly on weekdays, I have not been at the weekend.
Friendly service, prompt , I have always had starter within 20 mins and second course within another 20.
I note other reviewers have said it is pricey but I think it is good value this near to London, and cannot beat it on a hot summer day on their terrace. Great ambience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    65
    38
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A nice meal but they often run out of the popular choices like fish and chips and steak when is a busy race day. It's quite expensive, but the service is good and the food is always nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good food and a nice selection of draught beers.
Is certainly of the best you can get in the area of Epsom.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Confusing Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This pub is so confusing - it gets it so right and so wrong. They are under new, and very nice, management so it may just be teething issues however; Sunday we waited over an hour between courses and to be honest the food was not great. Fish & Chips the chips were cold, mashed potato was cold. I asked the waitress to heat it up and she did but to be honest it was still cold and by then I just felt so bad for them I gave up. We ended up having one meal removed from the bill.
Saying all of this; I have been there for starters and sharer plates whilst sitting on their lovely decking drinking their beautifully kept ales and had fantastic food.
The best part of this pub is definitely the staff; they are attentive, always smiling and work really hard.
I would suggest a visit but maybe leave out Sunday lunchtimes until they get it right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunchtime meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Would definitely recommend this for lunch, or an evening meal. Lovely setting and great to sit outside. Food and service was fantastic too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Derby Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derby Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.