We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have on the doorstep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Adelaide and Dragon

Queen Adelaide and Dragon
Kingston Road, Epsom KT19 0SH, England
+44 20 83932666
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 130 restaurants in Epsom
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to have on the doorstep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited the Queen Adelaide & Dragon with my family for their second visit, after they raved about the first, and I wasn't disappointed. We never went to the Organ & Dragon when it was up the road and it seems that we missed out.

The decor in the Adelaide is lovely, and being attached to the pub you can always have a drink first before moving through to the restaurant (the pub as well has been redorated and shows sport too now should that interest). The food in the restaurant was excellent; I shared a mixed starter and then had the lamb curry which had a gorgeous combination of flavours going on.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    23
    22
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A friendly welcome on arriving, the restaurant has been nicely refurbished, has a pleasant atmosphere. The menu was extensive with lots of choices, food and service was good and the prices were fair, We would make a return visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, but the food is very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We dined here when my parents stayed at the premier inn next door. I'd been in before to check it out when it was the Queen Adelaide and decided not to book, but this time I thought it looked spot on. Lots of dark wood and sparkly things and we got the big round table with the swishy curtains. Just a shame that the food was so inconsistent. I had pad Thai which was utterly bland, while of 2 other dishes that came rated 2 chillis one was very spicy and the other very mild. Appetizer plates played well with the kids, but frankly are standard fare in most chinese restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just like the Organ and Dragon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

They have refurbished this pub restaurant very nicely. We found it warm and welcoming. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was very tasty and presented well. We used to enjoy going to the Organ and Dragon and this is pretty much the same menu. Overall experience was very enjoyable. Only downside was that our table was close to the kitchen doors which were very noisy every time the staff went through them (which was constantly). Will definitely go back preferably at a different table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good considering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my family arrived for a meal here around 3.30pm, it was busy but we were greated and seated within 5 minutes. The waitress was very helpful and pre-warned us there would be about a 20-25 minute wait on food, which was understandable considering how busy it was. We ordered our drinks which arrived to the table in around 10 mins. We then had our food order taken and ordered some starters and mains, the starters came out 15-20mins later, the main meals arrived 20 minutes after our starters were cleared, which we did not mind as we were aware of the wait from the begining.
The service and the quality of the food was brilliant and i will definatly be returning again in the future, such a great atmosphere, thankyou the Queen Adelaide & Dragon team!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Adelaide and Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Queen Adelaide and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Adelaide and Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.