We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Epsom
Taunton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If your looking for a good priced hotel in Epsom then this holiday inn express is perfect. We spent one night here and included in the room price was a free breakfast for the family. Its perfect if you are planning to visit Chessington world of adventures. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review and staying with us at the ‘Fantastic’ Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs. Our location certainly is perfect for those visiting Chessington World of Adventures. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    116
    51
    8
    2
See reviews for
81
54
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spotlessly clean new hotel - very comfortable, quiet rooms, nice open lounge, breakfast room area. Bar and restaurant offering good range of food - little pricey but good quality. Good selection at breakfast - hot food continually topped up. Wonderful view across the street over The Downs. Great to see the horses being exercised and many people enjoying walks. Hotel was a little tricky to find from website directions. Wish the front desk had employee there at all times for assistance and it would have been helpful to have leaflets on local attractions and local maps available. Overall this was a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. Sorry you found it tricky to find us and didn't receive all the local information you need. Our reception is always happy to help and give local information to the best of their knowledge or search on-line for guests. Unfortunately I'm not sure why they were unavailable to help you, please accept my apologies . However thank you for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

WHY??Because you save yourself money.Nice bright and clean hotel,friendly helpful staff.Not a big food choice menu,pizza,various curries and toasted panini.Breakfast was okay,buffet style,so no need to load your plate up on first visit to hot plates.WHY DO PEOPLE DO THAT?
M25 only 7/8 miles away so good 'resting place' if you are on a long journey.Three local pub/restaurants in close proximity.We used the Rubbing House just across the road,or a short walk along the racecourse.A word of warning,look out for the 10% service charge,you can decline to pay it.Our bill for 8 of us was £250 ,so an extra £25 bumps the prices up!!
Rooms nice and clean,good powerful shower,double bed a bit on the small side.Would recommend it and will stay there again.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed trip advisor review, with some great tips. We do have some very good deals available on-line, however I would just remind those who book these that they tend to be pre-paid rates and cannot be cancelled or changed. I would recommend if you have not already done so, a separate review for the Rubbing House as they will not have seen any of your comments as part of our review. Thank you again.

Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Holiday Inn express let's you have a free breakfast like: sausages, beans and scrambled egg! Unfortunately, the beds don't make it a very luxurious place to sleep because the children's beds are a bit too hard and the adult's beds are a little more hard to sleep in. My family and I went to the holiday inn to celebrate my cousin Nick going to Australia, but I wasn't really looking forward to going to bed. The normal Holiday Inn has a swimming pool, but the version of the Holiday Inn Express doesn't. But all together... VERY GOOD!

Katie Sinclair
Age 9

Room Tip: I stayed in room 146 and it was pretty much the same as the rest of the rooms! But when I went home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review, it’s great to have one of our younger guests review the property. Sorry to hear you found the beds too hard however it’s great to hear your stay was ‘all together….. VERY GOOD’. Thank you for choosing our hotel for this family occasion and we wish your cousin all the best in Australia.

Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A clean and comfortable family stay close to Chessington, with a good selection for breakfast. If I was being really picky all I would say is more of a selection of teas/coffees in the room as we were a family of 4 with only 2 coffees sachets on offer. Also may daughter struggled to do her hair as the power point is not next to the mirrors and the hair dryer was not very powerful. But a great location and would stay again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Should you need extra teas/coffees for your room on your next visit please call reception who will be happy to help.

Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As the title says we stayed for one night while visiting family and to be fair there isn't much other choice in the area. The staff were excellent on check in, the room was fairly standard and a little tired in places, stained upholstery etc on sofa bed and on chairs in lounge area but it is clean and bright.
For £60 a night I compare it to the Premier Inn bracket and the room wasn't as good a standard as theirs but it was fine for the purpose. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom.
Drinks expensive in the bar 2 wine and 2 beer £21
Breakfast was included in the price and was simple but adequate. Serve yourself toast, bacon, sausage, cereals etc
All in all it served its purpose at a fair price and the staff were very nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs. Its great to hear you found the staff to be excellent and enjoyed our free breakfast . I will pass on your comments to the staff and especially to housekeeping and maintenance regarding the upholstery. I'm sorry that you found the bar expensive, our rates are set on a par with other hotels and pubs in the area. Thank you again, look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trench
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I have just spent an enjoyable 2 nights at this hotel. The room was quiet, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. My only criticism (and this applies to most UK hotels) is that the beds are too small. We were in a twin room and the beds were only about 3 feet wide. There was plenty of space in the room for a couple of 4 foot beds. Also, why such a tiny television? Not a problem for us as we do not watch TV, even at home, but many people would be disappointed.

My only real criticism, however, is with the breakfast. The scrambled egg was one of the most disgusting things I have ever attempted to eat! Why does this hotel not use free range eggs? Surely, by now, everyone is aware of the appalling cruelty inflicted on battery hens. Serving eggs other than free range in any hotel or restaurant is totally unforgivable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Thank you also for your comments regarding the scrambled eggs at Breakfast. I will pass your concerns onto our head office who I'm sure will take this into consideration when they are next reviewing our breakfast offering. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation and streamlined guest services help get you where you're going, while our Holiday Inn Express signature bedroom and bathroom amenities might give you a reason to stay behind. A good day tomorrow starts with a good night's sleep tonight. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. It's a bed that is as welcoming as it is comfortable. Each room has a modern en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. We look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.