We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Mitre Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Mitre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

As ever, great hotel with fantastic staff who can't do enough for you. Love the breakfast with views over the Thames. Only one minor observation - once again some of our party came back before 11 for a drink to find the hotel bar closed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is so nice to see such lovely positive feedback and it is really appreciated when our guests take the time to feedback their experiences of the hotel. I am really sorry that the bar was not open and will definitely look into this with our F&B Manager. I look forwards to welcoming you and your group back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    141
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
43
187
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed here, and by good fortune in the same room.

Big comfortable bed and massive room overlooking the inner courtyard. Seriously powerful shower, complimentary decanters of spirits should you be so inclined.

Parking can be difficult on account of the location but the receptionists, who are very helpful, do their level best to sort it out.

The Restaurant is right on/over the river. breakfast is ok apart from the bacon, undercooked, wobbly and white spotted. Not good. Have the smoked salmon and scrambled egg, fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is so nice to hear that our guests are enjoying their time with us but please rest assured that we will address your feedback about the bacon with our chefs as that doesn't sound right at all. We really hope that you are able to return to us soon and look forwards to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Carlton Mitre Hotel is good hotel. we arrived at 2.30pm on Sunday went to the room it wasn't ready was offered a 2nd room and that wasn't ready either. Ian the guy on the desk was very good running around to get things sorted .He did.
The room was nice and big,so was the bed.The room led on to a shared courtyard.
The staff were all friendly,the breakfast was ok.
Then this where we had problems in the restaurant ,If you want a sunday roast don,t have it here its cheaper and better elsewhere.
The next evening it got worst . There was an event golng on .Took over a hour to get a starter a sparrow would have bee pleased with it.EAT OUT.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and lovely comments about your room and our Receptionist Ian. I am however really sorry to hear that your experience in our Restaurant didn't match the rest of your stay. I will address this immediately with our Restaurant Manager and thank you for taking the time to feed this back to us. I hope that you would return to the hotel for a future visit and would look forwards to welcoming you at such a time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My company uses this hotel as a watering hole which is quite fitting as it is literally on the Thames on Hampton Court Palace Bridge. The welcome is warm and it is great to sit outside the brasserie, sipping a glass of wine and watching the flora and fauna. There is plenty of activity on the water and it is fun watching people "messing about on the river"!

Room 202 is the one to aim for: not cheap but it is a suite with a palatial bed, armchairs and all the comforts one would expect of a really good hotel. There is a complimentary bar and it is nice to have white dressing gowns and slippers.

We did not dine at the Mitre but the breakfast was ample and I would recommend the poached eggs on toast .....sublime!

A great hotel located opposite the palace itself - spoil yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river - 202!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your super comments. You sound like you really enjoy your visits to the hotel and I really hope that we can carry on delivering a great experience for you and your colleagues. We hope you are due to return to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We recently spent a night at the Carlton Mitre and enjoyed the whole experience very much. The room was spacious, with beautiful river views and the complimentary night bar was a nice touch. The staff were all extremely professional and friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious. The deck on the river is a perfect place to have drinks. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: go for a river view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your super review. It sounds like you had a lovely time and enjoyed every part of your stay. We really hope that you are able to return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Overall we had a very pleasant stay, the location is first class but the room was average at best for the price.
Breakfast made Basil Faulty look like Gordon Ramsey as it was was one calamity after another.
Having said that the spirit tray and complimentary mini bar was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience, we really appreciate our guests taking the time to do this as it helps us continually assess our performance. It is great that you enjoyed the location and complimentary minibar but we are really sorry to hear that the room décor was not to your taste. Our rooms were refurbished a few years back; however as our building dates back to 1665 their design has been intentionally kept traditional with the added touch of modern comforts to stay in keeping with the history of the building. Re breakfast, I am really sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Our breakfast is generally really well received by our guests; so we will absolutely look into this immediately with our Restaurant Manager. I really hope that we are able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

If your idea of traveling is to take home with you, this is not the hotel for you. The central portion was built in the 1600s. You have the opportunity to experience a bit of history. Corridors are short and take odd turns as they go up two steps or down three. The floors creak, and the windows are wavy. It is a small hotel, closer to an inn than a hotel. Keeping all this in mind, I am delighted to say that all the modern conveniences are there. The bathroom was bright and shiny with a heated towel rack and a really powerful shower. Loved the complimentary bar, complete with bar ware, in the room. No wine out of a plastic cup here. The room was brightly lit. When we were confused about an electrical issue, the hotel handyman was in our room within five minutes. The dining room looks out over the Thames. We watched all manner of water craft while we enjoyed spectacular food. While we were there I tried several items from the menu and liked every one of them. Service was impeccable. In fact, all the staff went out of its way to be helpful. Anyone who has read my reviews knows I am not an easy sell. This is a terrific hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your really lovely review. It is really great to read your feedback and hear that our guests are having such nice experiences with us. I really hope that you are able to return for a visit to the Mitre again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the River Thames in southwest London, lies the beautiful historic building which houses the Carlton Mitre Hotel. Charles II first used the building in conjunction with Hampton Court Palace, located opposite the hotel, to accommodate royal guests. Dating back to 1665, the hotel imbues an authentic style of antiquity and elegance that attracts distinguished visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
Carlton Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Mitre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.