We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Wimbledon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Mitre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Mitre Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Mitre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visiting Wimbledon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at the Carlton last week for two nights, it is a great location on the banks of the river Thames and literally opposite the main gate into Hampton Court. We were upgraded to an amazing room 402, which was a suite with amazing views of both the Thames and Hampton Court. The hotel does seem quite expensive when booking, but the location, free mini bar, newspaper, etc meant it felt reasonable in comparison to others in the area.

We had an evening meal on our first night, in the brasserie, and as the weather was warm and dry, you could eat outside, literally next to the Thames, the views of the boats etc were fab. The food was delicious.

The train station is just across the bridge from the hotel, and the train to Wimbledon took under 30 mins, and leaving the car at the hotel was perfect. Parking is somewhat of a problem when arriving to book in, but the hotel staff were very helpful and spaces soon became available.

Breakfast was very good, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, cakes etc. all set in the restaurant overlooking the Thames, incredible views.

Hampton Court was ok but the gardens were beautiful.

The staff throughout the hotel were excellent and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your super review and lovely comments. It sounds like you had a great stay and enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    127
    49
    19
    9
See reviews for
37
159
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two nights with my sister for her birthday. Fantastic location for the Lisa Stansfield concert at Hampton Court - right opposite the hotel. The room was lovely with a river view. Very spacious with complimentary mini bar and dressing gowns and slippers . The staff were very friendly and helpful especially on reception. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your super review, it sounds like you and your sister had a lovely trip and we hope to welcome you back to the Mitre soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for the festival across the road . The hotel is perfectly situated for Hampton Court, the staff are very friendly , rooms good size , beds enormous and comfy , no real complaints. My only grip would be being charged £135 for a double room with free mini bar drinks which we didn't, touch. Would rather have a cheaper room rate and no free mini bar or at least a choice would be nice , otherwise good hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your super review, it sounds like you had a super stay and are able to return to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hi My husband & I stayed there for one night on the 16/6/13 was a super stay we had gone to Hampton court for a concert of Russell Watson which was wonderful.The staff at the hotel were so friendly polite helpful and just a very happy bunch of people and we. couldn't have had a better setting being right on the thames.The breakfast was very good and it was nice to look out over the thames.Will definitely be going there again trish&alan chichester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your super review and lovely comments about our team. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you again to the Mitre in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had one of the larger rooms on the lower floor, we stayed for one night as we where going to a Concert in Hampton Court. This was just over the road from the Hotel and therefore was a great location to stay.

We had a larger room on the lower floor and we did have a shared terrace which we didn't use but did have tables chairs etc. The room did not have much of a view but this did not matter to us as we were only staying for one night

The room was clean and tidy however I would suggest the room was reaching the end of its useful life and needed to be re-decorated/re-furbished very soon.

The noise from the room above was a little intrusive and in my opinion similar to many other older country style hotels I have stayed in.

Overall good place to stay if you are attending an event at Hampton Court but if I where looking for a longer stay I would look else where.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location right on the bank of the Thames opposite Hampton Court Palace. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were polite and friendly. We dined in the hotel and enjoyed the evening meal in the restaurant overlooking the river. Breakfast was enormous with a vast choice of both hot and cold fare. All in all an excellent stay. Well done to the manager and his staff for making the Carlton Mitre so user friendly

  • Liked — that it is so near to lots of attractions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review and lovely comments about our team, the rooms and our restaurant. It sounds like you had a most enjoyable stay and we hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123478
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for a friends' reunion. The staff were great hosts; just the right level of attentiveness. Beautiful riverside terrace; great location for the river cruises and of course Hampton Court itself.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your super review...its positively glowing! We hope that you find occasion to return to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the River Thames in southwest London, lies the beautiful historic building which houses the Carlton Mitre Hotel. Charles II first used the building in conjunction with Hampton Court Palace, located opposite the hotel, to accommodate royal guests. Dating back to 1665, the hotel imbues an authentic style of antiquity and elegance that attracts distinguished visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
Carlton Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Mitre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.