We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner at the Brasserie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Mitre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Mitre Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Mitre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Anniversary dinner at the Brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went for a last minute anniversary dinner and while it wasnt as 'special' as i would have liked it was more than pleasant The inside and terrace tables have a great view/ setting and the service is friendly and relaxed - good for a long chilled meal by the river. Unfortunately the food was pretty average and not really up to par with an otherwise special venue. It was average pub food and really. We will definitely try the restaurant but I am not holding out much hope and wouldn't plan something special

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a pleasant meal and enjoyed both the service and the location. Unfortunately due to our fantastic location our brasserie menu has been designed to please a wide variety of guest types/tastes looking for informal dining along the river. For this reason the brasserie may not have been quite what you were looking for but I hope that the beautiful views helped make a special evening. Our restaurant is indeed a little more formal and we really do hope that you will visit us again and look forwards to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    143
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
43
189
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location, awful hotel, well more of a B&B actually. The website certainly does not do the place justice, in the wrong way that is.

Not a lot to say apart from the rooms being dull, outdated, grubby and smelling of damp. Aircon supplied by a huge contraption that when switched on was far too noisy.

Took flight next morning and did not want to risk breakfast.

Apart from the location, no idea how four stars were awarded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We attended a wedding in July 2012. Our room had the most awful stench of damp & mildew & something I couldnt even guess at! The AC system is inside the room & very noisy and didnt really work very well in what was horribly humid weather conditions. The hotel was full, couldnt move to another room except to leave. The wedding menu food arrived cold, looked like it was chucked onto the plates, the side dishes arrived to late to eat with the main course! The waiting staff couldnt cope, were serving 'special diet' meals to the wrong people when guests pointed it out the servers wouldnt listen! Master Chef it was not. The bar staff & the waiting staff are unprofessional & struggle to keep up.
This hotel is in a fantastic location with the potential to be excellent. The reception staff are most professional, lovely & very helpful. The building looks fantastic sitting on the river, It is charming for one night if you get a comfortable room but eat out for sure.

Room Tip: Far away from parties in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments and great feedback regarding our location and reception team at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room and that the hotel was full so we were unable to offer you a room change. Unfortunately in such situations we are unable to offer an alternative bedroom however our Reception should always do their upmost to rectify any issues and hope that in this instance you found them as helpful and accommodating as possible.
In regards to the Wedding Breakfast - I am sad and disappointed that you didnt enjoy the meal as we have received very positive overall feedback from our weddings however we do take any negative feedback seriously and will therefore investigate this in further detail with our banqueting department.
Many thanks again for your review and we would hope to welcome you back to the Mitre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the public entrance to Hampton Court Palace and right on the Thames. One of the bars sits on the dock and it was just lovely being out there in the summer heat watching the river traffic go by with the Palace in the background. The room was quite large as well as the bath. However the air conditioning unit did not work well and in the middle of the night actually started bleating like an air raid siren and I had to turn it off. The room was just stifling a couple of nights. The water pressure in the shower was excellent, however after about 2 minutes, the hot water was done for. The hotel is about 2 blocks away from the train station which is about 25 minutes into Waterloo and the train runs every 30 minutes. You really get a lot more value for your money staying outside of London. Check out the shops across from the train station. Quite a lovely quilt shop and several antique/vintage stores. The French restaurant was fabulous and there is a large pizza/italian place on the corner facing the river that served a thin crust pizza that was excellent. There are canoes for hire across from the pizza place and a towpath that takes you up the river for a nice walk. It really was a pleasant week here despite the air conditioning/hot water issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and constructive feedback. You will be glad to hear that we have just replaced many of our air conditioning units so hope that this would solve the problem you encountered and will most definitely raise the hot water issue with our Maintenance Manager (as this is really unusual for the hotel). I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Hotel was lovely - the views from restaurant of the river were perfect. The bedrooms had no view at all which was very disappointing considering the setting and we had one of the De-luxe rooms!
The food was very good but we didn't feel that the restaurant and brasserie were special as they included a rather noisy bar area - not conducive to a romantic meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed one night and would definitely stay again. The room was very clean and the complimentary bar stuff a really, really nice touch. The bathroom was a little dated but had a great shower and was clean. The only meal I had there was breakfast, which was fine, not great, not bad. A table literally over the Thames...gotta love THAT. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate our guests sharing their experiences on TripAdvisor and hope that you are able to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for just one night on 8th July and had a lovely time. We were given a complimentary upgrade to the King Henry Suite which was just fantastic as it was the first night of our honeymoon. The room was lovely, fantastic views, very comfortable and clean and well equipped with drinks and toiletries, etc. We had great room service for breakfast and all of the staff, particularly on the Reception, were so friendly and helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Due to its fantastic location all rooms probably have a good view of either the river or palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at Carlton Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and congratulations! We are so glad that you enjoyed the King Henry Suite - we think it's beautiful and are glad you did too. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Rd | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the River Thames in southwest London, lies the beautiful historic building which houses the Carlton Mitre Hotel. Charles II first used the building in conjunction with Hampton Court Palace, located opposite the hotel, to accommodate royal guests. Dating back to 1665, the hotel imbues an authentic style of antiquity and elegance that attracts distinguished visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
Carlton Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Mitre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.