We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but slow service from the bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Square Olive

Square Olive
2-6 Bridge Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9HA , England
020 8979 7676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in East Molesey
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Remember the days before restaurant chains? Friendly, family service? Freshly made dishes? Welcome Back! We are here to offer you all of that.Square Olive was born out of a desire to bring friends and family together around the table. The owners gathered a group of creative, enterprising friends to create an Italian restaurant that reminded them of warm, gregarious Italian hospitality. Joining in the effort and putting the original 'authentic' mark on the menu was Carmine of Abruzzo. The gracious smiles and genuine hospitality that greet you at our doors and make you feel part of the family while you are dining with us was Ornella of Napoli.Everyone you meet here is happy you've come, and they're genuinely dedicated to having you visit with us frequently. This is our home. You are our guest. And we will attend to your dining experience with a degree of care and attention to detail unrivaled elsewhere. A deep desire to serve others is the secret to success of a gracious host. And its why, at Square Olive, we want you to always leave with a smile.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but slow service from the bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely restaurant but missing something! The staff are very nice but have been to this restaurant a few times and it is very quiet. Waited 30 minutes to be offered a drink when sitting in lounge area with 6 friends on a birthday night out. Eventually got our mojitos which were lovely. The food service was quick and the food really nice but quite an expensive night due to wine prices I think? Also not much atmosphere despite the Latin American style singer who was very quiet!! Don't think we will rush back as better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R A, Owner at Square Olive, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am glad to hear that they enjoyed their cocktails and food. On that evening we had 67 people booked between 8 and 8.15 and everyone arrived in the same time. Unfortunately you had to wait 15 minutes for your cocktails as it requires time to make a nice one and it is not just a case of pouring a glass of wine. The wine which they were drinking was at £19 per bottle for a nice Sauvignon Blanc which i do not consider to be pricey. They were offered a round of drink at the end of their meal and as it is customary at Square Olive the lady celebrating her birthday was given a bottle of Prosecco as a Birthday present from us. We look forward to welcoming them back to Square Olive soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    42
    15
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Most family friendly restaurant with good service and excellent food in the Kingston, Walton and Hampton Court area. Great wine ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We go to Square Olive weekly as it has such great service and good food. I like the atmosphere and staff are family friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton court
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A fantastic addition to Hampton Court. The service is attentive and friendly, drinks at the bar (bellinis) were top notch. The food was delicious and perfectly seasoned.... Highly recommend the pork belly. We hardly had room for dessert but managed to fit a few bites of creamy tiramisu and warmed brandy in. This is definitely the best Italian restaurant in the area to eat at.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at Square Olive with some friends and had a fantastic night. The set menu was brilliant and the staff were amazing. The live entertainment was brilliant and worked tirelessly all night to ensure we had a fantastic night. Best New Year's Eve in a long time and we all can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Christmas Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to Square Olive for my office Christmas party and we had a really good time. There was a party of approx 30 people and the service was excellent; I couldn't fault the attention we received in the lead-up to the party and organisation of the event by Reza, The Manager, who also organised some jazz music to accompany our meal. Food was delicious and beautifully presented and the staff very friendly. We would definately return and recommend this modern restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Olive also viewed

 
East Molesey, Surrey
East Molesey, Surrey
 

Been to Square Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.