We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Roma

Vecchia Roma
55-57 Bridge Road | Hampton Court Village, East Molesey KT8 9ER, England
+44 20 8979 5490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in East Molesey
Price range: $23 - $78
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Toni & his Team are back in East Molesey after 15 years spent on other projects. We welcome old and new customers back to the Vecchia after a short period of long over due refurbishment. After our refurbishment we are looking forward to serving you with traditional Italian cuisine care of Adolfo who has worked alongside Toni for over 3 decades.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italian treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

What can I say about this fantastic place to eat, lunch dinner or celebration I have eaten here for over 30 years with Tony back at the helm the food, atmosphere, wine, and service is exemplary

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frimley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“DO NOT have your christmas party here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I'll try to be factual on this awful experience.

We arrived at 7.30 for a booking for 23 people. Sixteen of us where squeezed on one table which would normally sit twelve maximum. The chairs were actually touching so how are you expected to get out. Then we realised we where still two seats short, had to show our booking to prove that we were in the right..

Food was good if you like waiters tossing vegetables on your plate (probably due to the lack of space between tables).

Three colleagues who ordered medium rare steaks got almost cremated food. Staff argued that the streaks were rare!!!

Choice of drinks limited and very expensive.

Asked for a Capachino apparently they don't do them. Colleague asked for an expresso apparently they don't do them. (An Italian restruant??????)

I noticed from a previous comment that the DJ went home. Well mate you where lucky. He was awful. May as well put a christmas CD on.

Most of us left after half a dozen songs.

To summerise .... tooooo many people squeezed in on a money making exercise.

Won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed with overall package”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Booked this restaurant for a party of 10 people on a Thursday evening for a Christmas meal followed by a disco.
We arrived at the restaurant at 8.30pm and made our food and wine selections.
It got to 10pm and there was no sign of any music starting up. When I asked the manager he stated that he was sorry but the DJ had to go home to look after his sick wife, pity he waited till that time to inform everyone or we would have left.
We complained and eventually they offered us £5 reduction of the set price of £29.50 per person and after more haggling two free bottles of wine.
We finished our meal and paid the bill.
On the Friday morning I received a telephone call from the restaurant saying that our waiter had made a mistake calculating the bill and they had undercharged us by £100 and were we prepared to rectify this mistake.
I declined to pay anymore as we didnt get the package we had originally booked.
The food that they served was very good but on the whole was overpriced.
Please be careful when booking this restaurant for a Christmas party and establish before hand that you get what you are booking for.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

The service was great, the food beautifully presented and cooked, full of flavour and there was a good choice.
Although the restaurant was full, the service was great and the waiters attentive.
This was a great way to celebrate a birthday

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

The food was good and courses well served in a timely manner. The staff were friendly and the owners came to the table to hear our satisfaction. Almost back to historic standards.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Roma also viewed

 
East Molesey, Surrey
 

Been to Vecchia Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.