We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vile Disgusting Place - worst hotel in the UK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Normanton Park Hotel

Normanton Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Croydon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normanton Park Hotel
Save
You added Normanton Park Hotel to your Saves list
34-36 Normanton Road, Croydon CR2 7AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Croydon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Vile Disgusting Place - worst hotel in the UK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is positively the most awful disgusting place I have ever visited. Booked a week as was working nearby but decided not to stay after seeing the rooms. Paid a cancellation fee only to discover that my credit card had been charged for the whole stay. Had to threaten court action to get my money back. My stay was some time ago but judging by the reviews nothing has changed. I am astounded that his hovel run by an extremely nasty man is still in business. Without doubt the worst hotel I have ever seen.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    24
See reviews for
2
3
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

stayed in a recently refurbished room with en suite was only £30 for the night
i would admit the surroundings aren't pretty but this is an old fashioned place - if it's some where you want to get your head down then it's ideal ...
There wasn't any particular stench as far as i was concerned & Mr Pocock & a nice lady called Barbara were very helpful in assisting me with directions to the local shops - also parked my car on the drive...

Room Tip: ask for the best room with en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Please take note and DO NOT STAY HERE. I drove from South Wales to visit my family for the weekend and booked one night here, after waiting 10mins at the reception this smelly, old, father christmas reject with egg stains down his vest asked what I wanted. After a lengthy converstation about what time I would be going out that evening and what time I was checking out, my daughter and I were finally shown to our room by a resident. After finding dead flies on the window sills, holes in the bed sheets, pet hair on the carpet, sticky smelly carpets we decided to leave. Back at the reception Mr Pocock asked what was wrong, and when we aired out disappointment he suddenly decided he was deaf and felt unwell. I asked for a refund to which he refused. I have since written to him requesting a full refund as I didn't stay there. As of yet I have still heard nothing but intend to let enviromental health, trading standards and report him to watchdog.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Please do not be foolish enough to consider this a hotel. The reason why Croydon Council have done nothing is that they have contracted most of the rooms here for the dossers of Croydon, mostly alcoholics and IVDUs. Friendly I am sure if you have nothing better to do than sit around and tolk crap to mostly unfortunate or even inadequate people.

Room Tip: stay away at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My colleges and I were booked into this building for the week.

I say building, as there is no way on this earth it could be described as a hotel!
As we approached the building the Sat Nav chirped up “you have reached your destination”
The time was 7:00pm.

We looked at it and wondered where the scaffolding was, as it looked in a derelict state.

We pulled up and left our bags in the van, we entered what could only be described as a time capsule that had not been cleaned in years, the same can also be said for Mr Pocock, the person whose name we were told we would me meeting. Without wanting to sound to offensive, I have seen cleaner tramps.

We asked if we could view the rooms before check in, he gleefully showed us to our rooms, this was a big mistake.

The first room was horrible, the “en suite” was just as bad, I said to my colleges, that the loo could have done with a clean, then realised it was in fact a bidet!

We moved on to the second room, walked in and it was just as bad, then Mr Pocock got a little excited when he said “there is a lovely view from this window”, there might have been if we could have seen through the years of dirt etched into the glass.

As we left the building, 4 other lads had turned up and asked what it was like?
We told them what had befallen our eyes.

They did not bother going in, and like us drove to the top of the road to make some phone calls to try and arrange alternate accommodation for the night.

We got lucky, as our MD told us to find alternate accommodation and it would be paid for on the company credit card.

If anyone has the misfortune to be booked into this building, and can’t find alternate accommodation. Do yourselves a favour and sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Do not even think about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

It is a nice, friendly place where people are prepared to listen to your needs.
It is full of charater, easy going where you can come and go without any fuss.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I didn't check out the hotel for reviews before I booked, so more fool me. If you've read the reviews and you stay in this hovel, then you only have yourself to blame.

This is the smelliest and most disgusting place I've ever stayed at. Squalid would be praise. If my wife had been with me, I'd have had no choice but to find an alternative room. I was there on business the afternoon of my stay and travelling home in the morning. I wouldn't have felt confident in going into a meeting after staying at the Normanton.

Stay away.

Room Tip: Find one in a different hotel to the Normanton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanton Park Hotel

Address: 34-36 Normanton Road, Croydon CR2 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Croydon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Croydon
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Normanton Park Croydon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normanton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.