We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norfolk House | Wellesley Road, Croydon CR0 1LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Croydon
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a great alternative to staying in Central London and paying Central London prices! I've stayed here 3 times recently and, I must say, I have not been disappointed on any of my visits. Check in has always been quick, the rooms have been spotlessly clean and the staff have been nothing but friendly and helpful. Yes, its the budget end of the hotel market, but for a place to put your head for the night, its great value for money. Central London is only 15-20 minutes away and the trains run all night, so never any need to worry about catching the last train back! For something cheap, cheerful and (most importantly) clean, this place wins for me! The money I save by staying here I use towards great restaurants in Central London! I'll be here again, and soon!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
20
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was ideal for a night on the town due to its location. When we arrived there was no parking which was inconvenient, and the hotel was in poor condition. There was also a nasty damp smell as you entered the hotel. My advise would be to spend the extra and book into a decent hotel. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here a number of times and it is good value with easy access to Central London and handy for Croydon bars/pubs/food etc. New decor and especially the new beds have made a big difference. Yep its still at the budget end but for the price difficult to beat.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you need a place in Croydon to crash where you're not too worried about the ambiance then this the place. Cheap and cheerful without the trimmings, this Travelodge is centrally situated with walking sditance of East Croydon mainline station. Though the entrance may not look inviting the welcome from the friendly staff is. The excellent beds allow you to snuggle down for the night and get one of the most relaxing night's kip I've had for a long trip. My one minor grip was that the breakfast was rather tepid but that said still plenty of it and no complaints on the taste.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, room was clean and very big and also quiet enough minus a little noise from next door on the saturday, the bathroom was also clean but the shower did not drain well and would have overflowed if we had longer showers. The location of the hotel was excellent, 5 mins from station and lots of pubs and resturants around, there is also a small sainsburys at the end of the road. We ate in the hotel on first night, when ordering drinks we were told that the drinks we had requested were not on the menu we were looking at and given a different menu, when we tried to order different drinks these were also not available, when I queried why I was met with the same response again that this menu was for all travelodges huh?!? (why dont they make a menu with what they have available in that specific hotel) not very clear and also quite rude. Other than that perfect for what we needed, would stay again. Oh and bed was best bed I have ever slept in!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved that I felt very relaxed and comfortable. I liked the area and the different places we can choose from to eat. Overall it was a great stay. Loved the room. And loved the food. There was a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Travel Lodge is very well located for rail travel with the mainline station being a five minute walk from the hotel and a journey time to central London of 20 minutes and with regular frequency.
Public transport is also on the doorstep in the form of trams and buses.
The hotel is also well located for shopping with the main shops and shopping centre only minutes away. Similarly bars and restaurants are in close vicinity.
My room was large but comfortable as was the bed.
The only negative is the bland entrance and passageway leading into the building.
Staff are friendly and will answer your questions willingly.
You may get similarly priced "budget" hotels in Earls Court,Queensway etc with far smaller,dingy rooms with uncomfortable beds and you still pay the same price of Travel Card to get into Central London as you do from Croydon.
All in all excellent value and I will continue to use Travel Lodges.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel

Address: Norfolk House | Wellesley Road, Croydon CR0 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Croydon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Croydon
Travel Lodge Croydon
Croydon Travelodge
Croydon Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.