We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst carvery I've ever had” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nineteen at Farleigh

Nineteen at Farleigh
At Farleigh Club & Restaurant, Old Farleigh Road | Farleigh, Croydon CR6 9PE, England
01883 62 77 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 261 restaurants in Croydon
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Stunning new Bar & Restaurant set in 350 acres at Farleigh Golf club. Nineteen is the jewel of a £1.6m investment in the clubhouse. Award-winning designers and architects have transformed the 16,000 square feet space into a light, contemporary building featuring a stunning 7 metre long bar, high tables and HD TV for sports and groups; an 80-seater restaurant with limited edition photographs on one wall and breath-taking views over The Downs on the other. There are generous terraces when the sun shines and a fire place when it doesn’t. Nineteen has a great deli for wraps, soup, cakes and the best coffee for miles. Enjoy these and other dishes in Nineteen or to go. Open daily for breakfast, elevenses, lunch and afternoon tea and for dinner Wednesday to Saturday. We are passionate not only about food but sourcing local produce and working with local butchers, bakers and dairies to incorporate these into seasonal dishes in Nineteen.
SURREY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Probably the worst carvery I've ever had”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A party of 7of us went to the carvery at farleigh court. The starters were very nice so it all seemed promising. Sadly not to be. The cheapest and fattiest meat was served, not one if us ate it, we wrapped it up and took it home for the fox. The potatoes were partly cooked and not at all crispy and the veg was nothing to write home about.
Slow service, bad value and very disappointing as we had taken a friend for her 50th. Shall not be returning.
I'm told the main restaurant is much better, what a pity the same effort has not been put into the Sunday carvery as it is not cheap.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Nineteen at Farleigh, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review as we value every customers comments and feedback as it really does help us learn and move forward as a business. I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your experience at our Carvery and would very much like to welcome you back to Farleigh to show you this is not our normal standards. We do pride ourselves on delivering quality service and value for money although we have let you down on this occasion. Please feel free to contact me at the Club if you would like to discuss further or if you be interested in visiting Farleigh again in the future.

Best wishes

Russell Stebbings
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    85
    21
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gastronomic delight with Farleighs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Farleighs.
The staff made us feel very wellcome and we was very impressed with their professionalism and attitude. We chose to eat from the a la carte menu, We had a three course meal each and we had our baby daughter with us too, she also enjoyed the food!
I had walnut and brocolli soup with lovely fresh warm seaded rolls, Then loin of pork with seasonal veg and sauteed potato's with red wine jus, Followed by citrus tart. My partner had ceaser salad, Followed by rump of beef with spiced red cabbage and seasonal veg with a bowl of perfect chips, For dessert she had white chocolate cheese cake with winter fruits, We also enjoyed a lovely bottle of Bilbao Rioja which complemented the beef and pork dishes perfectly, I asked the waiter John to help recommend a nice red wine he recommended the Rioja and even let us taste it before commiting our selves to a bottle.
We both thought the food was exceptional and perfect in every way superb value for money, We will look foward to our next trip at Nineteen at Farleighs. We've dined at mitchelin star level restaurants before and for us this restaurant was better on all counts- food, ambience and warm willing staff. Thanks for a perfect evening!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, Manager at Nineteen at Farleigh, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Robert,
I would like to thank you so much for your wonderful write up regarding your experience at Farleigh. The staff were delighted with your comments regarding their professionalism and attitude as they do strive to 'delight' our customers. Chef was particularly pleased with your comments regarding his food and he has requested me to pass on his thanks to you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Farleigh in the very near future as Chef shall be introducing his new menus at the end of April, please feel free to contact me when you are next at our lovely venue as I would like to offer you our free desert voucher with your next meal.
Kind Regards
Tracy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Slow service, pub type menu, but nice surroundings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a baby with us and it took an hour before any food was brought for him so he got hungry and fretty. It was not busy but service was SO slow. Short unexciting menu, more like a pub. Burgers very dry, chips over cooked, tiny salad soaked in dressing. Disappointing, given the lovely views and decor. Come on 19! Up your game!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Nineteen at Farleigh, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback I’m disappointed you did not enjoy your experience when dinning in Nineteen. You will be pleased to know we are in the process of reviewing our menu and hope to have a new menu in place very soon. We are currently working on daily specials plus our current offering of breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and a Sunday Carvery. It is solid feedback such as your that enables us to learn and grow as a business. Our plan is to have the new menu in place for the Spring and we would more than welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to Farleigh in the future.

Best wishes

Russell Stebbings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic, memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A fab evening at Farleighs! Service was great, food was absolutely delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Overall a lovely night and would definitely visit again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Nineteen at Farleigh, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to review your dining experience at Farleigh. Your feedback was lovely to read and i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Farleigh in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cancelled Booking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having booked a table for 4 as a birthday celebration on Sat' evening, was disappointed to receive a call Sat' lunchtime from restaurant cancelling our booking as they now had a function for 180 people and service would be slow. Being at a rugby match left us little option in finding another restaurant. Was offered as an apology the 3 course for £19 deal ( it's already in The Times ! ), but unable to book us in before xmas. Reviews clearly suggest this is a lovely place to eat, but make sure you have a Plan B or possibly Farleigh/Bar 19 could provide the option of booking an alternative restaurant for you when this situation arises ?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Nineteen at Farleigh, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Manuel007spain

I wanted to firstly thank you for writing this review as it is with solid customer feedback we are able to develop and move forward as a team and a business. I can assure you good or bad we treat every customer review with the upmost respect it deserves. Following the emergence of your unfortunate experience we took this review straight to our Food & Beverage Manager Lindsay Lovegrove and as like me and the team she was more than disappointed that this situation had occurred.

During further investigates we have found out that the staff member in questions acted under no authority and had no authority at all to make cancellations as this is completely against our restaurant policy. Whilst I want to assure you that this has been dealt with internally, this still cannot undo the bad feeling and disappointment you must have felt over your special birthday celebration.

On behalf of all the team here at Farleigh I would like to invite you back to the Club Restaurant and wonder if you would mind getting in touch directly with Lindsay at: Nineteen@fareightfox.co.uk the purpose of this would be so we have an opportunity welcome you back to Farleigh to prove and re-affirm our standards of delivering our customers high levels of quality, value and service in everything we do.

I do hope to see you again soon and we would really look forward to welcoming you to Farleigh in the near future.

Best wishes

Russell Stebbings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nineteen at Farleigh also viewed

 

Been to Nineteen at Farleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nineteen at Farleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.