We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a truely wonderfull hotel and golf course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Addington Rd, Sanderstead-South Croydon, Croydon CR2 8YA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Croydon
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a truely wonderfull hotel and golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I run a golf society that has several golfing breaks through out the year and we have always stayed at various venues, but this is our first time at the Selsdon Park hotel.
WOW what a wonderful experience, from the moment you go down the drive towards the hotel which has a look of grandeur about it. Upon entering the hotel you get a really friendly welcome, from staff that make sure you get well looked after. The grounds are in excellent condition with beautiful views. The bedrooms are fabulous with great decor and very clean, with beds that are very comfortable. We had a buffet meal for the evening meal and breakfast which had a good selection of tasty food. The golf course had some interesting holes with something to test all handicaps. The only downside to our visit was that we did not have time to visit the leisure centre, although we did pop our heads in the door but was sad we did not get to use the facilities available. I have already started to organise another golf break for next year at the Selsdon Park Hotel, as our weekend we have just had there was perfect in every way. WELL DONE TO A GREAT PLACE

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    288
    276
    225
    234
See reviews for
181
387
30
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Looks wonderful in the pictures.We turned up lawns covered with marquee and book fair going on,marquee later dismantled with noise workmen,scaffolding,rubbish,popcorn everywhere. Checked in booked dinner in advance for evening but when we arrived for dinner no booking received.Dinner was actually very good but wine list that was produced didnt have the first five botlles of wine we asked for (same both nights) Room was only ok very small looked out through rusty dirty window to car park,bathroom newish and quite nice.
Outdoor pool not attended until 10 am which meant no early morning swim before breakfast and then to our didmay closed for the winter the next day despite being baking hot weekend and lots of people using it.
Gardens consisted of beds full of dandelions and a derelict orchard where the best bit of the weekend was the amazing fresh apples,plums and damsons.Planters aroung grounds had dead plants in each.
Saturday afternoon booked dinner with lady with clipboard in reception who told me she took the bookings and guess what dinner time arrived they had never heard of us! Made a big fuss of working out how they were going to fit us in with a near empty restaurent.
New marquees went up on Sunday more workmen shouting and throwing scaffolding impossible to sit on terrace and read Sunday papers.
Golf course very poorly maintained,weeds in bunkers,flooded bunkers following overnight storms and stupidly slow play our two ball took five and a half hours.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk/ India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Taken me nearly three months to write this review, but feel I have to as it was so bad and I would not want anyone else to experience such atrocious service.

My kids and I were meeting my husband there for a weekend away. Upon arrival there was no porter to help unload the car, no valet parking so left kids watching luggage when I went to park the car. Still no porter to help with bags. Check-in was slow and tedious. We arrived before my husband did as he was flying in from overseas. As it happens I had left my cards at home so was traveling with cash only. My husbands booking was for a week as he was on a global conference with his job. As I did not have a credit card they said I could not check in. In the end I ended up giving him enough cash to cover a deposit until my husband arrived with our cards. I mean I had three kids in tow so was not an obvious high risk customer. Eventually asked for a porter to help carry bags to room, told where the lift was and that was that.

Room was not as clean as I would have liked or expected. Cobwebs in corners, dusty surfaces, hairs in bathroom.

Really busy weekend as lots of weddings going on. No room in hotel restaurant on either night we stayed. Breakfast was chaos. It was like being in a factory canteen. Dirty dishes piled up in corner of room, understaffed. My 8 year old commented that as the few cereal bowls that were available were dirty she had to resort to using a soup bowl. No napkins on table.

Really, really unpleasant is the only thing I could say about this hotel, except that we probably had the best weather possible and that the outdoor pool was nice for the kids. Rooms were situated above wedding party venue.

Husbands colleagues who had traveled from all corners of the world were met by a standard of service that one can only say was below standard of what we all were used to as seasoned travelers. To be British on this occasion was embarrassing if this was a reflection of Great British hospitality!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I use this hotel each month for meetings with colleagues and business associates. The room is always well prepared and the conferance staff are very helpful and attentive. The buffet lunch always has a good choice that suits nearly all tastes and the puddings are just the best. We have ventured onto the golf which is set into beautiful grounds but it is somewhat challenging.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Just spent a night at Selsdon with a couple of games of golf, on the good side the food in the resturant was well presented and to a good standard.
The Hotel is a little run down around the edges but it's quaint touches like sitting areas for quiet reading and blend of a good new facilities around the pool areas make up for this.
The room was clean and had all needed for one night stay, the golf course could do with a little money being spent on the greens and bunkers, but for an enjoyable walk following the white ball it was great. Down side about the hotel were with regards to some of the areas missing, wonderful patio area but lack of glass and plate clearing made it look untidy. My advice is to look beyond this, look at the location and take a relaxing day or so there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I have been staying at the Selsdon Park for 20 years on and off and through many different owners. The place is beautiful to look at from the outside, but inside awaits a multitude of disappointment. I stayed for 7 nights, first 3 days had to ASK for my room to be cleaned! Had to get the paper every day despite being told they would deliver it. The room was rundown and in need of new furnishing. I would love to have unpacked but there were no drawers to actually unpack into! Room service would have been nice, especially the evening i arrived, but sadly this 4 star hotel doesn't do room service any more. Oh well how about a burger and chips in the bar for GBP14.95! On the plus side the breakfast buffet was good, though not what it has been in the past, the golf course was ok and in reasonable condition but nothign to get excited about. All in, it was ok, but given former glories and where it is now, i was sadly disappointing

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The approach to the hotel is great but once inside it is quite clear that there are problems at this hotel. We arrived as a group with the package which included golf but 1st impressions were not good as there were several guest complaing in reception about the lack of service due to the hotel being understaffed,this was very clear once reaching the patio area which still had food on tables & glasses all over the lawned area from the wedding on previuos night.
We played golf on the complex which to be fair was ok sure the course has a few problems but nothing that most clubs are suffering due to the present climate,the course is quite hilly and there are no water fountains on the course so make sure you have plenty of drinks with you before settinng out.
We finished our round of golf & noticed that there was still glasses on grassed area told reception of that the glasses were still there and that there were children playing on lawn and needed to be removed.
Dinner was booked for 7.30pm went to dining room at 7.30 and was told to come back in 1/2 hour when asked why as there were tables free was told that kitchen could not handle to many people eating at the same time? Came back later & cannot complain about the food or the menu on offer but it did take nearly 2 hours and left before we had our dessert.
The lounge bar was a total disaster were service was diabolical taking up to 1/2 hour to get drinks and most people left hotel to walk down the road to pubs.
Played golf the next day and guess what the glasses were still on the lawn played golf & 4 hours later still not removed.
This hotel could really be great as the loaction and settings are great but beware if you booking a wedding at this venue as all that we heard on our weekend was complaints I don't know if it was the Bank Holiday that may affected the staffing but should this make a difference on one of the busiest weekends of the year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Addington Rd, Sanderstead-South Croydon, Croydon CR2 8YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Croydon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Et in 200 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club is an historic country mansion with an 18 hole championship golf course, luxury beauty treatment rooms and well-appointed leisure club. Perfect for large scale business events in the area as well as romantic weddings, this picturesque setting also features extensive grounds ideal for outdoor team-building and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selsdon Park & Golf Course Hotel Croydon
Selsdon Park And Golf Course
Selsdon Park Hotel Course
Selsdon Park Croydon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.