We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the basics” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Addington Rd, Sanderstead-South Croydon, Croydon CR2 8YA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Let down by the basics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Firstly - and I have said this before - there really should be a good category as there is a big gulf between being average and being very good. I did think about giving this hotel very good, but in the end the basics let it down so I had to plump for average
It is a beautiful building with many original features and the house was built during tudor times. We booked a travelzoo deal for DBB and agreed to pay an extra £25 for a suite upgrade if available. We were upgraded and the room was huge - a big bed/sitting room with a separate door to another large sitting area which we didn't need to use. Room had a lovely view over the grounds and golf course. However - the room clearly hadn't been used for a while - it smelt musty and needed a good dust. The bathroom was tired and very small considering the size of the suite. Clearly someone had been into the room that day as they had left the complimentary bottle of wine for us, so surely they must have noticed the half dozen or so large dead flies on the windowsills. This was very offputting.
The restaurant didn't seem to have an older, experienced person in charge, and whilst the young staff were friendly, service was far from efficient. They had to come back to check our order and we had to wait 90 minutes between our starter and main. We sat down at 8.30 and didn't leave the restaurant till nearly 11 - and we only had 2 courses!! Other people came and went whilst we were sat there, so I don't know if they had just forgotten about us. In the end I had to chase our main courses up. The food was edible but the burger was dry and overcooked and the wedges only lukewarm. However, we had waited that long that I ate it anyway.
We ordered a Sunday paper on check in which we never received
On checkout the guy asked how our stay had been and we did tell him of our issues. He very kindly knocked a round of drinks and the suite upgrade fee off of our bill which we did appreciate and we did make him aware of this.
Really - if they got the basics right, I could have given them excellent!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Davidandmel

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club following your recent stay.

Whilst I was pleased to read that, in general, you enjoyed your stay, I was sorry to read about the cleanliness and service problems you experienced.

As you have left an anonymous review, I am unable to ascertain when you stayed however I have shared your feedback with the Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager and asked that they review the feedback and action accordingly.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next travelling in the area.

Yours sincerely

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    324
    309
    246
    253
See reviews for
199
453
35
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had an overnight stay with 2 course evening meal wine and breakfast next morning. There was nothing at all to complain about from the arrival and change of selected room because of the room being very hot to ex room change to evening meal. It was just perfect. The surroundings wonderful
Mrs McPhee the Manager was most informative about the history of the hotel and made time to print off the history for us and spent time even though we suspect very busy to answer all our questions..
Great stay, lovely hotel A must to visit

Room Tip: We had an enabled room. Just right in every way. Great view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mumbels,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club following your recent stay.

I was delighted to read your review and have shared this with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Yours sincerely

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here on 3rd Jan 2014, on arrival receptionist very efficient and professional, was given room 115 which we had paid £11 for the upgrade, very nice room but very tired looking, chairs worn on the arms carpet looked as though it needed cleaning but worst was no heating, just a couple electric heaters. On complaining we were offered another room (125), this room was amazing large, spacious, a mini suite, but as the other room, very tired, central heating was on but switched off about 6pm for some reason, as we were off to a party it didn't concern us, getting back, very happy through drink we just went to bed, these were very comfy with crisp white sheets in the morning heating still not on, to get to the spa you go through the bar, this due to adverse weather conditions had buckets catching rainwater, both spa and bar had a musky sort of smell, pool clean but needed extra lighting, steam and sauna rooms were upstairs in the tower, all working OK, changing room lockers showing signs of wear, showers need attentions, shower heads blocked, and loose on the wall. when we booked out we notified reception about the heating, they apologised and gave us 20% extra discount vouchers.
Overall we had a comfortable stay apart from the heating, with a bit of loving tender care, proper maintenance this could be a brilliant hotel 5 star, at present a 3 star. Grounds are extensive a dream for golfing stays, we would stay again, but in the summer.
Please get you act together, you could make it amazing

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club.

I was pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay and, as you noticed, the hotel has had some damage due to the recent (and ongoing) stormy weather. The team are working hard to repair the damage although there is minimal disruption for our guests.

There are plans to fully upgrade the hotel and I do look forward to welcoming you back .

Yours sincerely

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The title says it all but it really is a shame that the hotel is very AVERAGE. I took my partner here for a birthday surprise and was amazed by the outside. The building is such great architecture and is a lovely setting for a wedding. The reception staff and the reception itself is lovely, open log fire, amazing detail in regards to ceiling, coving and decor. The restaurant food although limited was very nice, we had the special which was pate and ceaser salad to start with, pork rack and chicken breast for a main and eton mess and mango&coconut panacotta for desert. The staff were helpful and when we wanted to supplement certain items on the menu & change items they were more then happy to help. Everything so far was a definate 4* quality BUT the rooms really let it down. Although the rooms are spacious they are basic and look like they could do with a refub immediately. Silly things like damaged paintwork, water staining on walls/ceilings, cobwebs on the lights, awful scuff marks on the radiators, unclean shower heads etc it all adds up to not being appealing to the eye. This hotel is in desperate need of a refub, it would be amazing if a bit of money was thrown into this place. Room wise 2/3* hotel wise 4*, keep this in mind because although the hotel, restaurant, bar and swimming pool are lovely the rooms let it down. We do need to pay great thanks to the management who changed our room because we were unhappy & couldnt access wifi....all in all a pleasant stay but it lacks the wow factor.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Frangi

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments with the team.

There are plan to extensively renovate the hotel and I do hope to welcome you back when you are next in the area.

Yours sincerely

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton England
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The building itself is an architectural gem set in wonderful grounds and would make a wonderful venue for a wedding with attractive light and airy function rooms opening out onto spacious patios with views out over the golf greens.
We were there to enjoy the afternoon tea package that had been bought as a gift by my wife's friend for her 50th. We decided to partake in the gorgeous main corridor with its wood panelled walls and ornate sculpted ceilings and real log fire although we could have used the main restaurant. Our waiter was wonderful, all the staff were very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. We had a very nice bottle of Cava as part of our package, plenty of tea and coffee and a generous afternoon tea server full of very tasty sandwiches, warm scones with more than ample amounts of proper cream and preserve and a plate of cakes that even we struggled to finish. We would highly recommend it and one young lady was having a 21st birthday afternoon tea party which seemed a great idea and actually very good value.
We loved it and will treat ourselves and any overseas friends again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Leigh,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club following your recent visit.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed afternoon tea and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Yours sincerely

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Selsdon park hotel and it's staff are absolutely fantastic. They made our wedding day the most perfect day we could wish for. We can not thank you enough. Yes the hotel is old and could do with updating but to us personally it just gives it all more character. We Would never hesitate coming back and staying at Selsdon again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Thank you to all the staff that worked on Saturday 21st December 2013 you did a grand job. Also a huge thank you to Alex for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Tracy

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club following your recent Wedding.

I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic day and have shared your feedback with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to a wedding reception here. The reception was nice and we had a great time.
The hotel room was ok but the windows were drafty and you could here people staying 4 rooms away the walls were that thin or not insulated properly. I put this down to the place being very old but that adds the character to the place because without it, I would have been very disappointed.
Breakfast was ok but you have to que like Brits abroad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, General Manager at Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Kemers,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding celebration. Breakfast can get very busy (particulalry on Sunday mornings between 9am and 10am) however the hotel does advise guests to dine earlier if at all possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next travelling in the area.

Yours sincerely

Stuart McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Addington Rd, Sanderstead-South Croydon, Croydon CR2 8YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Croydon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Et in 200 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, the Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club is an historic country mansion with an 18 hole championship golf course, luxury beauty treatment rooms and well-appointed leisure club. Perfect for large scale business events in the area as well as romantic weddings, this picturesque setting also features extensive grounds ideal for outdoor team-building and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selsdon Park & Golf Course Hotel Croydon
Selsdon Park And Golf Course
Selsdon Park Hotel Course
Selsdon Park Croydon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.