We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dosa & Chutney

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dosa & Chutney
466 London Road, Croydon, England
+44 20 8683 3297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 350 Restaurants in Croydon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ate here Saturday night , mostly Indian or Sri Lankan clientele which is a good sign. Had paneer , which was absolutely delicious and chilli chicken for starters . My dining companion raved about this. Then a prawn curry and also lamb , both very good. Breads were above average and the price was very reasonable. The only downside was a very drunk man who made a terrible noise but once the food arrived he became more sedate. I didn't think the staff were clueless at all as one reviewer said. They were very busy . The restaurant could not be classed as fancy but everything was clean including the tables and the crockery .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, condition of restaurant not so great, service poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Food is the key factor for me, ALWAYS! The food tasted beautiful, we had chana bhatura, masala dosa and chilli paneer.. and it all tasted really nice, i then ordered chicken biryani... i couldn't really recommend it to anyone. The chilli paneer tasted the best although it could have done with a bit more paneer it, nonetheless i'd go here again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quite good but staff seem a bit clueless and slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Food is quite nice on the whole but the "chicken curry" was a bit simple and a let down. Parking isn't great in the day either.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent Dosa restaurant. The staff were friendly, the food was very good and the price was even better. I particularly recommend the buffet (which I think is available at weekends).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

the food and service at the dosa and chutney is very very nice. the balance of flavour and the freshness of ingredients really stood out. my hubby and I go there twice a month or when we dont want to cook diner. theprice for the two of us is normally between £22-28. will defo go there and recommend it highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dosa & Chutney also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Dosa & Chutney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dosa & Chutney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.