We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateau

The Chateau
Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
020-8686-1244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 333 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Cross roads motel food in equally dated decor. Warm tap water in water stained carafes already on the tables. 'Potted shrimp' is not defrosted prawns with apple chunks and mayo! Staff were pleasant and attentive but need a tutorial in how to pour wine without dribbling it every where. Such a great location, it could be something really special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venturi69, Owner at The Chateau, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Sophia
We are disappointed to read your review dated 23rd January 2014,although your visit took place in the autumn of last year2013,as the particular dish you were referring to was in our set menu at the time.Looking back to our records,we must have served more than 500 of that dish with out any complaint at the time.Our decor might not be to your liking but its uniquely Different,a bit traditional ,if I may say so but most guests who visit us seem to like it.
We are disappointed Sophia that you didn't mention your concerns to us in person at the time,the Honourable way but to choose to write at a much later date.
If I can speak on behalf of every business ,we all try our best and would like to rectify any wrongs straight away and believe me ,we do not have a problem with that either in the past or future.
Farid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After a great Christmas 2012 lunch at this restaurant, our party of eight decided to book again in 2013 but this time the week before the Christmas menu. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent, the price excellent and the service was excellent. This venue, with its wonderful French interior, on site parking and affordable set price menu, is a restaurant I would recommend and we will defiantly be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a brilliant night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great food, attentive service and fabulous entertainment - what more could a night out need ? And this was provided by the Vegas Party Night last Friday. Jeremy certainly knows how to organise a fab night - food was lovely and service great and the act So Swing were brilliant - already booked for the next one on the 17th January ...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“50th birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A little while ago I celebrated my 50th birthday at the chateau, we had a private room the napoleon room for our party of ten. From the moment we arrived we received an amazing standard of service by all staff. Jeremy the manager was very knowledgeable about different wines and was more than happy to recommend great wines for the various courses, we had the Sunday lunch menu which was excellent value and the portion sizes were large with the food being a great standard. There was a separate option in the Sunday lunch menu for children and so the grandchildren could have an enjoyable meal too. The staff were very friendly and professional despite the restaurant being busy nothing was too much trouble all my guests commented on how lovely service and food was we are happy to recommend this restaurant to others and will be going back again for the next family occasion it was especially nice to have the option to celebrate in a private room so the grandchildren could move about as they pleased without disturbing others. Very happy customer

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a great evening in Friday at the chateau special dinner night. 3 course menu with choices! And a glass of wine with each course, food and wine were excellent alone with good service. The maître d talked us through the wines, picpoul de piney, carmenere gran reserva and desert wine, and the desert wine, an Aussie semilon! What value at £29.75 per person the restaurant was fall we will defiantly be back! The Hanna party!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chateau also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to The Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.