We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only it weren't run by accountants...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateau

The Chateau
Coombe Lane, Croydon CR0 5RE, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 275 Restaurants in Croydon
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“If only it weren't run by accountants...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to The Chateau, as it is now called, on several occasions and find that the welcome is always warm and the waiters friendly and attentive. The maître de maison is knowledgeable and the serving staff do their best.

The food isn't exceptional (we're not talking Michelin stars here) but it is very good and the monthly prix fixe menus offer superb value for money. Given that the location, wine list and staff are all way above average, customers can't go wrong with these offers. The à la carte menu is also both interesting and well executed.

Sadly, however, I get the impression that the owners are intent on maximising profits at the expense of customer service (as is so often the case these days) and the poor staff are run off their feet at peak times.

I would heartily recommend The Chateau to anybody in search of good food at reasonable prices. However, be very aware of its limitations.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretentious, murky and old fashioned, but still quite interesting and worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The atmosphere reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers and it seemed quite scary in there. I will visit again one day though to give it a second chance. The silver service is good though and quite interesting, I liked how the plates came out with a silver plate coverer on them and that the meals are all revealed at once.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A gem just 2 miles from Croydon Town Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been to this restaurant many times over the last 20 years or so, either for work Christmas functions, or just to eat in the Restaurant. We also held our silver wedding anniversary party here, in the 1st Floor Room complete with disco. Our latest visit was with family, for my daughter's birthday, in the room behind the ground floor bar, for Sunday lunch.

On all occasions the food had been superb and we have never had a bad experience here. The food is reasonably priced. The service is very good, with friendly staff. Jeremy Keen, who has been the manager here since 1978, has a superb and very pleasant manner and is extremely helpful. He runs a very professional establishment.

It might be located just outside the centre of Croydon but is certainly worth visiting. Parking has been improved, with the additional car park on the left side and is in a lovely setting, with Coombe Wood Gardens immediately behind.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“70th Birthday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great building, so interesting. Staff really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Menus choices were very good, food excellent and the silver salver service appreciated in this fast-food era.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If Croydon has a better Restaurant, i want to know, where it is?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have started to frequent this Restaurant quite a lot over the last five years, for Social and Business Meals, also Functiong, for you can always be assured off top Quality Food, the Quality of Service and Value for Money, is second to none in my/our opinions.
the setting is fantastic, the Staff are friendly and helpfull, nothing is ever too much trouble.
Gerry G, Selsdon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chateau also viewed

 
 

Been to The Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.