We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn London Croydon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn London Croydon to your Saves list
Jurys Inn London Croydon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellesley Road | South London, Croydon CR0 9XY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Liverpool, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Hotel is clean. My room and the 11th floor at least, has been newly decorated as you can smell the paint. The bathroom is a bit of a let down as they appear to have just left old, worn things in there, which is in complete contrast to the bedroom.

The location was good for my business purposes and the service was fine. All in all a good hotel but nothing that stands out.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    288
    127
    42
    26
See reviews for
120
140
83
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for business and very tired when arrived. Was quite happy to be on 10th floor as potentially less noise - how so wrong. Got into room and for an hour there was hammering from room above (some repairs apparently). Then to add to that there were toilet flush problems with constant noise all the time I was there. Left the same night and won't be going back. Should have stayed at Travelodge down road

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Good central location for my business stay. Comfortable room and friendly staff. But for technology today with users having multiples devices , WiFi in a hotel should be a requirement. The plug in internet for my laptop was fast and dependable. I needed WiFi for my Ipad.

Also there was not a gym facility at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spent a Sunday night here & it does the job. It's very central, at the back of the Whitgift Centre, and right around the corner from East Croydon train station v handy for Gatwick, & Victoria.
Hotel is a mix between modern & tired. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: High floor or room at the back of the property as it is a bit noisey on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Rooms are OK - big - but ask for a quiet room in the back.. gets v noisy at the front - request this on booking!

Breakfast - this has really gone downhill since I last went, although the standard is OK, it is a really mad rush, and gets very dirty with no one clearing tables/cleaning up.

DO NOT go to the breakfast bar on the left - turn right, and serve yourself at the self service breakfast counter - will save 20mins!!!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room in the back away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed one night for business in Croydon. We were told we had 'refurbished' rooms by hotel staff - the rooms were really nice, no complaints. Staff worked hard to oblige our requests. Breakfast was fine. Don't come to Croydon for the views!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I'm currently staying here for an event in Croydon, but if you are looking to stay here and plan head into central London everyday, make sure you note the additional travel time and costs. You'll need to take a train (one-way is about £5) to the metro system. Staying in Croydon will also add about an hour each way.

The Jury's Inn is actually pretty nice for the price, but wifi is £10 per day! You'll note that their website says something like "wifi available in the lobby." I figured that mean it was free, but no - you must pay the same fee. The other hotels in the area offer free wifi, so charging such a hefty price is a disgrace. The on-site restaurant and bar are just ok.

Also note that Croydon, while it has a good variety of mid-range shopping, has pretty mediocre food options and is kinda sketchy in general. I wouldn't walk by myself after dark around here.

The X26 bus from Heathrow stops across the street, but takes about 2 hours. If you are unlucky, like me, and just miss the next bus in the evening, you will wait up to an hour for the next one. It took me over 3 hours to get from Heathrow to the airport. Getting from Gatwick, however, is VERY easy. Train station right at the airport - just ask for a ticket to East Croydon. Exit the station, turn right and follow the sidewalk all the way to Jury's Inn. About a 10 minute walk.

So - if you are coming for a London holiday, I think it's worth the extra money to stay in a place that is closer to the attractions. Unlucky enough to be stuck in the Croydon area - Jury's Inn is a safe bet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn London Croydon

Address: Wellesley Road | South London, Croydon CR0 9XY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
#4 Business Hotel in Croydon
#4 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn London Croydon offers a convenient London location outside of busy central London yet with easy access to London Victoria via the 17 minute train ride from East Croydon Station which is a short 7 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is also a convenient 20 minute journey from Gatwick Airport for those arriving by plane. Guests wishing to explore Croydon's attractions will be pleased to know that The Whitgift Shopping centre is just over the road, the Queen's Gardens are an easy 6 minute walk and Shirley Park Golf Course is a 7 minute drive away from the hotel. Jurys Inn London Croydon features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at NCP public car park at Whitgift Shopping Centre opposite the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to London Croydon at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Jurys Inn London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Croydon Hotel Croydon
Jurys Hotel Croydon
Croydon Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn London Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.