We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, poor room service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton London Croydon to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bromley, Kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Clean room, poor room service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Dont get comfortable before organising food as you will be disappointed based on my experience. They dont have enough staff to manage reception and offer room service. The room is great so I had a good nights sleep. If I get as good a rate again (£69) I will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    232
    76
    35
    15
See reviews for
120
168
48
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a very good short stay in this hotel to allow me to attend a function. The room was modern extremely clean, and they had thought of everything. The hairdryer was a proper one, free Wifi, large flat screen tv, and all the shampoo and body wash etc provided. Lots of fresh large towels and tea and coffee facilities, with an alarm clock. There was 24 hour reception and the staff were extremely helpful. My only criticism was that the breakfast was very average for this type of hotel. However, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better at the moment, as there is a lot of roadworks outside and they start work ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

New, modern, attractive hotel (black with red lettering), a 5-7 minute walk from East Croydon station (definitely NOT 3 minutes, as some have said). Room was immaculate, clean, and finished off to a very good specification, in particular the bathroom. As others have said though, the rooms are small but I travelled up for the weekend for a school reunion and stayed alone and it was plenty big enough for me. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, and there was a very large LG tv at the foot of the bed. I stayed on the top floor, in room 815, a corner room, with a 'great view' (if you like car park rooftops, East Croydon station and the general industrial look of an inner city). Staff were particularly polite and the manager was friendly. Breakfast was self-service, as a lot of hotels are these days, only slightly negative comment I would say was that there is no 'restaurant' as such - the self-service area was round the corner from reception, and there were a limited number of small, refectory type tables and chairs. I ended up having to sit right out in the lobby (which is small anyway) opposite reception on a large, meeting type table for designed for 10! All in all, I would recommend this hotel for somebody passing through Croydon, better suited to a single traveller. I probably wouldn't choose to stay here for a romantic/recreational weekend away - rather pay the 'extortionate' prices but you'll get all the atmosphere of London and have all the sights on your doorstep rather than having to take 2 train journeys to get to the West End. I would definitelystay again though when next visiting my home city of Croydon.

Room Tip: 815 - A corner room, near the lift, and accessed through a door with just 814 next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice, clean well-managed hotel in Croydon, just a 3-minute walk to East Croydon Station with regular trains into central London. Good value for money. Clean room. Friendly staff. Free wifi and complimentary breakfast make it particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money and very close to Croydon Town Centre. I booked this hotel after trying to book a few nights at the Croydon Hilton but there was no availability. The Hilton site referred me to this hotel and it was a pleasant surprise and excellent value for money. Very clean, decent space and breakfast is included in the price. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife & I had a 3 night midweek break at this hotel, which for £342 for the two of us (including breakfast on 3 mornings) I thought was very good value, compared with hotels in central London, which would be much more expensive.
The staff at reception & the breakfast area were extremely polite and helpfull, and most welcoming.
The location is good, being only less than 10 minutes walk (with luggage) from East Croydon railway station. Regular fast trains are available from here to Victoria station in Central London (about 20 minutes journey), or from East Croydon to London Bridge/St Pancras International - no changes - in 15 to 25 minutes. West Croydon railway station (again, about 10 minutes walk from the hotel) serves more the City/East London area with London Overground trains.
The double room at the rear of the hotel was well furnished, clean & comfortable with adjustable heating controls. The bathroom, although maybe small by some hotels standards was immaculately finished, very clean and compact, with an excellent shower, and gels,etc, supplied in wall mounted containers.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay, would do it again.

Room Tip: Room at the rear is quiet, if you dont mind the view of "office blocks".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolwezi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a reward stay from Hilton Honours. The hotel is quite new and modern.

The rooms were comfortable and ok sized. The bed was comfortable and the air con worked well.

The breakfast was appetising, if a little chaotic with so many people scrambling for it.

The hotel is very conveniently located only 3 or 4 minutes from East Croydon station by foot.

I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.