We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steaks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Steak House

Croydon Steak House
31 South End, Croydon CR0 1BE, England
020 8688 8422
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Croydon Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 262 restaurants in Croydon
Price range: $15 - $57
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family restaurant established in 1967, Steaks as big as you like charcoal grilled or with saucesFresh fish
Fredericia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you like good big steaks, this is the place to go, i got a 750 gram T-Bone Steak, and it was big! The atmosphere is very good, and so is the service, and the home made Cheese Cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32hammer, Owner at Croydon Steak House, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. see you soon.
Glad you enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    10
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Only Place To Eat STEAK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular at the Croydon steak house, so maybe my opinion is biased! :) It is however, the only place I will now eat steak, because it is top quality and always cooked exactly right!! The service is excellent and you will be well looked after! Desserts are lovely too, good selection of cheese or chocolate fudge cake being my favourite! There really is no better place to eat a fillet with pepper sauce! Whoever wrote the one and only terrible review is clearly a moron, they say the steak came with no sauce, this means they didn't order one, they say the steak came with no garnish, maybe they were incapable of reading the menu properly for all the accompaniments! Even when I have been healthy and opted for steak and no sauce it has been amazing! Lovely lovely place! Oh and did I mention it has a five star hygiene rating, which is considerably better than most south Croydon restaurants!! As I say I go there all the time, but try it , if you are a steak lovely you will not be disappointed!!! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32hammer, Owner at Croydon Steak House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks and custom
see you soon

Costas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only place I will eat steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a small restaurant run by a husband and wife team - both lovely, really friendly and very welcoming, despite the fact they must be shattered as they are there 6 days a week! The decor is not modern or fancy, but the food is fantastic. It really is the only place I feel comfortable to eat steak, always cooked to perfection and a nice piece of meat, portions are large, desserts are also great if you can fit one in!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32hammer, Owner at Croydon Steak House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks and for your custom.
see you soon
Costas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I dont want to write this review...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

...because this my favorite local restaurant and if I people read what I write I fear that it'll become so popular that I'll never get a table again!!

That aside, this place is a little gem! A family run restaurant that produces some of the best steak I've ever had. They grow their own greens in a little allotment nearby and the owner and his wife are friendly to the extreme providing a comfortable atmosphere with some good banter.

People complain that the decor is not modern, but who cares with food like this. In fact I love the way it's decorated. It reminds me of little local restaurants in spain, portugal and cyprus (where the owners are from originally). They even have wagon wheels on the walls!!

The wine list is great too and the desserts are simple but delicious.

As I said though... don't go! We need to keep this place a secret!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32hammer, Owner at Croydon Steak House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your nice words,looking forward to see you again
We do need more business !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A lovely place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went here yesterday evening. The steak was lovely, and cooked a perfect medium rare as ordered. I tried the moussaka, which was a little bland. With a bottle of Cypriot wine a dessert and a soft drink our bill was £48. Good value in my opinion. The proprietors are lovely - a husband (chef) and wife (front of house) team; they were very welcoming. We'll be going back soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32hammer, Owner at Croydon Steak House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your kind words, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croydon Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Croydon Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.