We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lansdowne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR9 2BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lansdowne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room was small but clean but got very hot through the night. Large bathroom. Staff very helpful. The spa is nothing like the photos which are miss leading. All right for a one night stay. Lovely meal at the Jurys Inn oppersite . We where asked to pay a £50 deposit in case we stole or damaged anything which I found insulting but it was refunded






The

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are grateful for your feed back and recognising the staff are very helpful and you liked the large bathroom.

Thank you & kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    34
    23
    15
See reviews for
19
45
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

All in all not bad. Our first allocated room was not suitable for my husbands needs and we were quickly offered a more suitable room. A comfortable bed, large bathroom all clean and nicely presented. On the negative side the rooms are small and there was not a lot of space to move around. My husband is disabled and needs assistance during the night, hence the change of room. Breakfast at the coffee shop was lovely, the staff there were very charming and helpful and the food delicious. As a one night stop over I would recommend the Lansdowne quite willingly. We had dinner at the nearby Jurys Inn and that was gorgeous! Book a table!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back which we gratefull appreicate in particular about the freindly staff, delicious food, clean rooms and large bathrooms. Also delighted you will recommend us.

Thank you & kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is a little dated though clean and with friendly staff.

The rooms are small swinging of cats definately not to be encouraged. My room had a few issues, Double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together, toliet seat tended to detatch from the toilet, and the shower screen had no seal causing biblical type floods in the bathroom if not careful showering.

Room was warm, too warm overnight and couldnt open the windows due to the nosie of the road and police sirens outside (it is in Croydon :-)

There are some positives, ipod dock in the room, free wifi, friendly staff, free use of the health club.

In fact the health cub is very good, a lot of new machines etc, though the pool is on the small side

Biggest issue with the hotel is that there is no restaurant so you have to venture into Croydon to forage for your dinner, an experience in itself, though the coffee shop next door is available for continental breakfast at £6.

All in all an average hotel, with a very nice website, I think that more effort into the hotel than site would help.

Running Review

For those used to my hotel reviews you know that I normally give a review of the running posibilities from the hotel, Croydon is not a great place to run so this time used the treadmills in the health club, safer...

Room Tip: Ear plugs if you want to slepp with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back which is very helpful, note some points which we need to address but pleased you feel the staff is friendly, rooms claen and there is ipod station, complimentary gym , swimming pool, free wifi.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lansdowne was ok, rooms clean tea coffee etc,no ac though got very hot and stuffy. we were on the road side so it was noisy. Not happy about the £50 room deposit, never heard that one before (we don't smoke!!).Free gym and pool great. not kid friendly though, have to be 16. ( great for adult peace and quiet) not good if you promised your kids a swim. should stayed across the road at the Jury's inn where we eat. For the money though it served the purpose and free wi-fi and the staff were very friendly, not all bad!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back - which had points we need to address but pleased you recognise the staff being friendly, clean rooms, free wifi and gym.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is pleasant enough, and the staff very helpful.

Very recently the policy has changed with regard to the swimming pool, meaning that children are no longer allowed in (contrary to what I saw on their website). Additionally, the room for 2 adults + 2 children turned out for us to be a double bed, and a small leather sofa bed which would only really be suitable for one child. There was no feasible way of fitting our 2+2 into the room without making a separate bed up on the floor or in the cupboard for our smallest.

We gave up and went elsewhere. I'd recommend the Croydon Park Hotel around the corner for families, which was available at the same promotional price. The family rooms consist of two proper doubles, with a good pool that allows children, and it's in much better decorative order.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back which we have lessons to learnt from and very much appreciate your comments.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I booked two nights at this hotel since my fav hotel in Croydon was fully booked. I was a bit concerned having read some of the reviews on here. But I'm glad I booked anyway.

Check in was quick and easy. My card was pre authorized and no other deposit was requested.

Room was very spacious and clean. Free wi-fi was definitely a bonus.

Check out was quick too and got a late check out paying a little extra.

The reason why I rated the hotel 4 out of 5 is probably the noise. I don't think the windows were doubled glazed and the traffic could be heard, a bit annoying. But will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Very please you gave us a try and was happy with your stay.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

hotel was average ,did not like this 50 pound deposit that they insist on taking,but had no choice,and will be checking my account to make sure its put back,first room we were given was without doubt the smallest room that i have ever seen,so asked to be moved and in all fairness they gave us a bigger room . There is a health club next door which blasts out loud music at all different times of the day and can be heard from all rooms which is not good when trying to take a rest, bar was good and both food and beer were nice,but was dissapointed to find it all locked up at 11 pm when we decided to head back for a night cap instead of staying out where we were,next morning we were blasted out of bed with some boom boom keep fit music again not by choice,biggest dissapointment of my stay was comming back to my room at 1 am after a long day up london was to find our room as we left it early that day, used towels bed not touched and no toiletries or coffie ,complained to receiption and they could not shed any light on why our room had not been serviced,all in all i would not recomend this hotel and will definetly not be revisiting again.

Room Tip: ask to be put as far away from boom boom keep fit music as possible,or better still check inn accros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon

Address: 1 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR9 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne Hotel is ideally located at the hub of Croydon's main business and shopping district, with superb transport links to central London (17 minutes), Heathrow and Gatwick airports and road links connecting to all the major motorways in the South East. Guests at the Lansdowne benefit from FREE WIFI, complimentary use of the extensive range of fitness equipment, relax in the pool or with a spa session at Solutions Health & Fitness Club within the hotel, discounted car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.