We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

this was a disgrace from the word go the cleaning was disgusting they didnt change the bedlinen once the towels were filthy there wasnt a minibar and the staff barely spoke english we complained about a theft and the management didnt care, overall the worst hotel i,ve ever been in i would recommend you find an alternative

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Takitezey

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Please note that its not that the mimbar was abscent in your room, but non of our rooms carry a minibar.

When you reported the 'theft', the necessary procedure was indeed followed. However, you have called us since then to say that you have found the item you thought was stolen by our staff, and you had indeed made a mistake.

Thanks

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    242
    139
    56
    42
See reviews for
108
171
46
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stayed here for one night before heading off to Canada. The hotel is well situated, and has some great staff. The food is disappointing, as is the quality of the executive room i was given (and the mattress and prices disappointing too). The guest room we had was an executive one but smelt of smoke and the bathroom was all smokey around 3am as the person next door was smoking in his room. As a non-smoker, this was very disappointing. My partner and I did not sleep at all. I rang the customer service to complain and told them i had booked for a none smoking room, and was told to state my case at dawn. When I woke up and went to pay, the lady at the reception said that all she can do is apologise and that was it. Seriously with this kind of hotel there is nothing to write home about. It was a standard hotel room that seemed more like a 2star hotel than Leading Hotel of the World (one of the hotel's claims to fame -- it's regarded as one of the best hotels in Croydon). The walls are thin, and the beds could be more comfortable (no luxury thread count sheets, or mattress pad). We're stayed in much nicer places than the this smelly Croydon Park Hotel, esp considering the cost per night. I just know that this is not a true 4-star hotel. I also had serious stomach issues with the food. The room has no fridge but at least they provide complimentary water. Staff struggle with speaking English as the majority seem to be from Eastern Europe. I would not recommend this hotel to any serious person on a serious trip abroad or one who wants a restful holiday. Staff at the reception were great but might benefit from customer service training and honesty training.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Charles1239

Thanks for your review. I am very sad that your excperience with us was not as wonderful, as we here at The Croydon Park would have wanted it to be. You are correct in stating that you book a non-smoking executive room. All our executive rooms are indeed non-smoking, unfortunately if the person next door was smoking they should not have been.

Our staff members are multicultural as we do cater to guest from all over the world.


Thanks

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I found the reception staff to be courteous and efficient. The car park is well lit very convenient but I am not sure how safe it is - anyone can easily walk through it. The rooms are not inspiring but they are comfortable and clean. The location is fine for central Croydon - easy walking distance. The buffet breakfast was good, with a well stocked buffet of the usual cold and cooked breakfast offerings.

My main gripe would be paying ten quid for internet access.

Otherwise an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Doct0r_x

Thanks for taking the times to write us a review, we really appreciate it. Well overall you seems satisfied with most things. Yes you are correct we do charge for the wifi access.
However, the next time you stay with us, try one of our deluxe or executive rooms and the wifi will be complimentary.

Just to assure you, our complimentary car parking facilities is indeed very secure.

Thanks

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Advantages:
- Friendly staff
- Good breakfast selection
- Decent leisure centre
- Spacious rooms, option available to upgrade to a better room if needed
- black-out curtains
I am staying here for a reasonably long stay in one of the executive rooms, having said the above points I find that the wardrobe has a very small amount of space for hanging clothes. The room has some cupboards but these have no shelves in them so in the end there isn't much space for storing clothes easily. Although we're in winter, the room gets cold very easily, I'm not sure if the windows are double-glazed?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear numb15

Thanks for taking time to write this review for us. I am pleases to see that overall you were happy with your stay with us. I will look at the things that you were not so happy with and as much as we can the necessary steps will be taken inorder to correct. Our windows are indeed double glazed.

Thanks

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Excellent buffet food at breakfast and dinner. Very convenient for train station and shopping in Croydon. Enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Hello Audrey013

Well I see you were well pleased with or Cuisine served in The Oscars Restaurant. We are well famous for all the things you mentioned.

I am glad you were please with your stay here.

Please do come again

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Me and my family stayed here when we were visiting central London and had a good stay at the Croydon Park. Check in was fine, friendly and helpfull staff.
The room was spacious enough and beds were really comfortable as well. Hotel is quiet at night which is nice to have a decent night of sleep. And plus point: just 15 min from London victoria! Overall would def. stay here again when visiting London

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Hello lovelondon1_10

Thanks for taking the time to write here. Very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us, as its our aim to exceed the expectations of all our guests.

Pleas do come again..

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on two occasions this year and each time have found the staff to be most welcoming and helpful. The evening food buffet was excellent on both occasions. We look forward to staying at the Croydon Park Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear MayMay66

Thanks for telling the world about the wonderful service you received whilst you stayed with us. We endeavor to make our guest enjoy their times spent with us, and I am happy that we made you happy on two seperate occasions.

I do look forward to welcoming you back here with us.

Thanks

Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel

Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Croydon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
#6 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan centre of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tramlink. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.