We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Few Family Days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Few Family Days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I think people expect too much nowadays. The Hotel is great for visiting Central London, less than a 5 minute walk from the Main East Croydon Railway station, 10 minute walk from the town centre and 15 minutes from Central London by train. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful and the room was comfortable and clean. The hotel spa was well used on our stay with the kids loving the pool and the late opening. Prices at the bar are comparable with the North West at £3.50 for a pint of lager. There was an issue with our booking around the breakfast included but after a chat with the Duty Manager this was soon resolved. If I had one comment to make, the website does not state that there is a parking charge which is £5 per day. Would I stop again or recommend - Yes I would

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear 946RickF

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am happy to see that your experience with us was a great one. Thanks for sharing it with the world.

Concerning the car park charges: on our website, its stated under location that we have car park onsite and its charged locally.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    242
    139
    56
    42
See reviews for
108
171
46
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights room was clean but needs updating ,the sink was cracked and the taps are a mess as the chrome is off the plug would not stay down so the water drained out , the quilt was to small for the bed. The breakfast had a lot of choice and the cold side was good the cooked side was awful,cold potatoes the bacon had been cooked for hours so like dry rubber the eggs were solid and congealed .we had a evening meal one al a cart and one buffet this was very good a great choice hot and cold and very tasty , the staff are very friendly helpful and good at there job . The booking in was ok but could have been given some more information , regarding the car park and where we could eat . We would not put this as a 4star hotel needs updating .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear violetj7

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All you points have been noted and certainly will look in the areas that were not so great. I am please to tell you that our hotel is in the process of upgrading our bedrooms and then our lobby and bar.

I hope that you will come back in the near future to share in experience of our new rooms.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The description of location must have been written by an estate agent, probably from St. Reatham. Our window looked out over the back of the magistrates court. The room was dark and the cleaners had left a bottle top on the floor. The sofas were great and so was the bed. The hair dryer was not in the room and by the time the porter bought it up it was too late. The air conditioning reminded me of a hotel in Miami in the early 80's, it was deafening.
One of the main reasons for booking the hotel was the restaurant and it delivered. Self service buffet with a good selection so that carnivores, fish eaters and veggies will all be satisfied.
The next morning I was horrified to be woken by a phone call from reception to tell me it was 8.00 am. Needless to say the sweet lady was pleased to confirm that the customer is always wrong.
After breakfast (full marks for this) I shared with the duty manager. We received a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit as an apology. The manager of the restaurant also gave us a complimentary bottle that night.
At breakfast after waiting some time for pancakes to appear the family in front of me emptied the serving dish on arrival. I asked the waitress for pancakes and the chef cooked a couple for me. The restaurant lives up to the standards of service that the hotel aims for.
Coming down in the lift for breakfast there was a porter who summed the hotel up for me. He was dressed smartly in a clean uniform with shoes that appeared to have never been cleaned since purchase, and that certainly was not in the previous week. After this I started ;looking at the feet of employees. If a hotel can't get the little things right then other things will go wrong.
The health club offers really miserable towels, a disappointing changing room, and the Jacuzzi was still cold at midday.
I will be returning to the hotel but please Mr Manager ensure staff: clean their shoes, send up the correct newspapers, clean the rooms properly and when the advertised free toiletries have to be requested look at the labels and get it right.
If I had to sum up the hotel I would say well meaning but sometimes sloppy, which is a lot better than take it or leave it. The restaurant would be well meaning and look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: We booked into a club room. The prices aren't high so treat yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear tonethrutubes

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your points and comments are noted and certainly any issue that you raised that can be rectified will be addressed.



Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The first thing that strike me was that the location was pretty much optimal if looking for a place outside London central.

Croydon central station is only 5 min walk away from the hotel, just down the very same street! The trains departure to London Victoria 3-4 times / hour and within 30 min you are in the heart of London. All in all the "door-to-door-time" is less then 40 min.

The hotel was in some cases a bit old stylish but the rooms and common facilities was clean and fresh. The room was of good size with some, according to me, typical 4-star decors: Queen sized beds, bathtub, flat screen TV (although a bit small), water/coffee boiler and so on. The common facilities includes things like spa, gym, swimming pool and saunas.

The surrounding is not bad if you want to skip London for a day. If not taking the local buses it's a 10 min walk until you reach the central part of Croydon with some quite long shopping streets.

All in all this hotel is recommended for anyone that don't see the need to spend an additional 50-100 $ / night just for the sake of living in the central parts of London. In many cases it's also the fact that the general hotel standard is a bit better outside London...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear FredrikJ550

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Well all in all from your review you had a good stay with us. Hope to see you again soon

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Some of these comment are really uncalled for and over the top.

I spent two nights there and my stay was outstanding.

Booking in at the desk the staff were courteous, i was upgraded to the excutive suite due to a tiny error, the suite and on suite was really immaculate the bed was more than comfty, better than my own bed.

The Oscars Brasserie lay out was really nice, and the quaily of the food was delicious and outstanding the staff there were wonderful there was one that really made our day Mustapha with his excellent service and attentive lovely man.

Breakfast was self service there was so much selecton to choose from.

Lot of fresh fruits yorgurt/Full English/Continental breakfast/ i could go on, there was a lot.

We visit the gym and jacuzzi spa and pool also had time for a massage again the staff were very polite.

Also you couldnt asks for a better location there`s the trams trains and buses,
its about 10min walk into Croyden, theres lots of popular and big Shopping stores, lot of Restaurants there`s Night clubs and cinema and a theatre.

Well we both loved our stay so much its left an impression my husband his decide that he wants to go back for our anniversary.

Well done and keep up the good work

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear MA

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Wow!!!! thanks for sharing your great experience with the world. 'Oustanding' is a nice word to see in a review.

Your kind comments will be passed on to my colleagues and especailly to Mustapha. Please let me know when you book your stay for your anniversary, so that we can make it even extra special for you and your husband.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked in for two nights but stayed a third as became familiar with its convenient location for any part of London with, train 20mins to Victoria and X26 bus directly to Heathrow, both, just 3 minutes from the hotel. The reception, bar and restaurant service was faultless, all staff I interacted with being friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive, fresh and staff attentive with fresh hot coffee when required. Extremely competitive hotel rates for London. I have already recommended this hotel to many friends who visit London regularly and will use it again myself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear CorkDanCork

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am happy to see that you had a good time with us, so much that you extended your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I ended up in Croydon, as i had to go to Dulwich on the Monday.

Stayed 23rd /24th Feb
Well situated for train station (and 15 minutes fast train to London)
Nice Hotel, evening meal ok - but limited buffet and too expensive.
Great Breakfast though. Good Bar, Room well appointed. Ample cheap all day parking.
No Heating and lack of Hot Water for a specific morning made the stay something that will lead me NOT to recommend the Hotel - up to this point was well impressed.
Lack of Apology - EVERYONE in the Hotel we spoke to moaned about the lack of heating/hot water!

I work for a Hotel and appreciate that sometimes things will go wrong- specifically beyond control - but it would not take too much to apologise - even a sign on reception "we apologise for the lack of Hot Water - our maintenance are looking into this" - but to not advise people will lead to guests grumbling amongst themselves.

Room 519 - was a nice room - i can even forgive the building works on the roof as i know work must be done - but why not mention this - we could have planned to go out.

What then happens is a few groans turns into large grumbles and everything that you find wrong will be mentioned - no matter how small.

Being charged for 2 days breakfasts - could be a mistake - but not when you are charged for breakfast for the day you arrive - how could i have breakfast in the morning if i did not arrive until the evening.

Will i be coming back - its a shame, as the Hotel has a lot to offer - i would have come back had it not been the lack of hot water/heating - if it went off in the afternoon/evening i could have accepted it - but first thing in the morning when you need to get up to go out for the day could almost put a dampner on the whole day.

Room Tip: Anything on Level 5 would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear mikeyntracy

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Firstly I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you encountered with us not having hot water and heating for a couple hours one morning during your stay. This was not a planned course of action, it was unfortunately something that happened beyond our control, but rectified not long after. Non the less I can only imagine the inconvenience.

We would really like if you would give up another chance, so can fully experience the hospitality that we so pride ourselves in giving. As you stated in your review you were impressed with us except for that mishap.

It would be our pleasure to host you again so please let me know when you are coming.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel

Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Croydon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
#6 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan centre of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tramlink. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.