We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice facilities!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Croydon
Landskrona, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location and nice facilities!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The first thing that strike me was that the location was pretty much optimal if looking for a place outside London central.

Croydon central station is only 5 min walk away from the hotel, just down the very same street! The trains departure to London Victoria 3-4 times / hour and within 30 min you are in the heart of London. All in all the "door-to-door-time" is less then 40 min.

The hotel was in some cases a bit old stylish but the rooms and common facilities was clean and fresh. The room was of good size with some, according to me, typical 4-star decors: Queen sized beds, bathtub, flat screen TV (although a bit small), water/coffee boiler and so on. The common facilities includes things like spa, gym, swimming pool and saunas.

The surrounding is not bad if you want to skip London for a day. If not taking the local buses it's a 10 min walk until you reach the central part of Croydon with some quite long shopping streets.

All in all this hotel is recommended for anyone that don't see the need to spend an additional 50-100 $ / night just for the sake of living in the central parts of London. In many cases it's also the fact that the general hotel standard is a bit better outside London...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear FredrikJ550

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Well all in all from your review you had a good stay with us. Hope to see you again soon

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    242
    139
    56
    42
See reviews for
108
171
46
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Some of these comment are really uncalled for and over the top.

I spent two nights there and my stay was outstanding.

Booking in at the desk the staff were courteous, i was upgraded to the excutive suite due to a tiny error, the suite and on suite was really immaculate the bed was more than comfty, better than my own bed.

The Oscars Brasserie lay out was really nice, and the quaily of the food was delicious and outstanding the staff there were wonderful there was one that really made our day Mustapha with his excellent service and attentive lovely man.

Breakfast was self service there was so much selecton to choose from.

Lot of fresh fruits yorgurt/Full English/Continental breakfast/ i could go on, there was a lot.

We visit the gym and jacuzzi spa and pool also had time for a massage again the staff were very polite.

Also you couldnt asks for a better location there`s the trams trains and buses,
its about 10min walk into Croyden, theres lots of popular and big Shopping stores, lot of Restaurants there`s Night clubs and cinema and a theatre.

Well we both loved our stay so much its left an impression my husband his decide that he wants to go back for our anniversary.

Well done and keep up the good work

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear MA

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Wow!!!! thanks for sharing your great experience with the world. 'Oustanding' is a nice word to see in a review.

Your kind comments will be passed on to my colleagues and especailly to Mustapha. Please let me know when you book your stay for your anniversary, so that we can make it even extra special for you and your husband.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked in for two nights but stayed a third as became familiar with its convenient location for any part of London with, train 20mins to Victoria and X26 bus directly to Heathrow, both, just 3 minutes from the hotel. The reception, bar and restaurant service was faultless, all staff I interacted with being friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive, fresh and staff attentive with fresh hot coffee when required. Extremely competitive hotel rates for London. I have already recommended this hotel to many friends who visit London regularly and will use it again myself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear CorkDanCork

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am happy to see that you had a good time with us, so much that you extended your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I ended up in Croydon, as i had to go to Dulwich on the Monday.

Stayed 23rd /24th Feb
Well situated for train station (and 15 minutes fast train to London)
Nice Hotel, evening meal ok - but limited buffet and too expensive.
Great Breakfast though. Good Bar, Room well appointed. Ample cheap all day parking.
No Heating and lack of Hot Water for a specific morning made the stay something that will lead me NOT to recommend the Hotel - up to this point was well impressed.
Lack of Apology - EVERYONE in the Hotel we spoke to moaned about the lack of heating/hot water!

I work for a Hotel and appreciate that sometimes things will go wrong- specifically beyond control - but it would not take too much to apologise - even a sign on reception "we apologise for the lack of Hot Water - our maintenance are looking into this" - but to not advise people will lead to guests grumbling amongst themselves.

Room 519 - was a nice room - i can even forgive the building works on the roof as i know work must be done - but why not mention this - we could have planned to go out.

What then happens is a few groans turns into large grumbles and everything that you find wrong will be mentioned - no matter how small.

Being charged for 2 days breakfasts - could be a mistake - but not when you are charged for breakfast for the day you arrive - how could i have breakfast in the morning if i did not arrive until the evening.

Will i be coming back - its a shame, as the Hotel has a lot to offer - i would have come back had it not been the lack of hot water/heating - if it went off in the afternoon/evening i could have accepted it - but first thing in the morning when you need to get up to go out for the day could almost put a dampner on the whole day.

Room Tip: Anything on Level 5 would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear mikeyntracy

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Firstly I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you encountered with us not having hot water and heating for a couple hours one morning during your stay. This was not a planned course of action, it was unfortunately something that happened beyond our control, but rectified not long after. Non the less I can only imagine the inconvenience.

We would really like if you would give up another chance, so can fully experience the hospitality that we so pride ourselves in giving. As you stated in your review you were impressed with us except for that mishap.

It would be our pleasure to host you again so please let me know when you are coming.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a two night stay, I'm still in the hotel currently in bed thinking about check out tomorrow.
It was a six hour drive to croydon. During check in we asked reception to confirm we were in a twin room. On arrival to the room we discovered it was a double room, so we went back to reception and asked to change. Then on entering the second room we could smell marihuana. We thought it was one of the rooms next door. When we went to reception for the second time asking for another room replacement the night manager argued that we had cost the hotel too much money already. He then laughed at me. I was shocked. Unfortunately it was nearly 2am I couldnt cancel the booking as i had booked via travel republic, or be boThered to find somewhere else to stay. after a very long and exhausting complaint we finally were given a new room.

The rooms are perfectly adequate for the price, showers are not great but at least they are clean.

Breakfast is so so. The hot food is awful, the set up for getting food onto your plate is impossible. I am so looking forward to my cereal tomorrow, not.

I have yet to test the gym, I'm not hoping for much.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear 54emmah

Your comments are noted.

Unfortunately some of your points were not brought to our attention whilst you were here, which would have given us a chance to fix the problems.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for what should have been one night but due to work it became 3.

The staff were all friendly and professional knowing exactly how to pitch their welcome. The room to be fair was a bit "crossroads motel after the fire refurb" but it was that rarity, a smoking room that didn't smell - though if you are going to offer this facility an ashtray or two might be an idea. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable thanks to a very diligent chamber maid. The bar and restaurant are both worth a visit as none of them take the rise on price - indeed the buffet is not to missed as the dining room has the feel of a slightly listing Ocean liner, well complimented by a good wine list and old school service, sadly becoming a rarity. To top it all the management on noticing my ad hoc stay very kindly reduced my bill. Excellent value and service.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly - you will find them helpful and honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Hobo666

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am glad to see that you were so happy with us that you were comfortable enough to extended your stay with us. Your kind words will be passed on to my colleagues and I am sure they will be pleased to hear that they made you happy.

We do look ofrward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped here as is the norm when in the area for a couple of days on the 15/18 Feb. Reasons are simple. Prime location, Fantastic food (English breakfast are something to die for) nice friendly helpful staff, and fair rates. My only criticism is that the rooms and decor need a facelift it's becoming a little dated no matter how much the staff try to raise the standard and they do. The duty female with the red hair in Oscars gives her 100% every time efficient, quick, and positive with a warm friendly handshake.
The rooms has outlined need the facelift, the bathrooms are faded, the flush on the toilet is a little weak, and the showers although working just need updating.
The entry from the carpark down on the lower floor needs a good clean the carpet have had there day, the auto barriers are a pain in the as? Yes I know why they are there but they could be far more efficient, very frustrating trying to get as close to the ticket machine on exit, then the barrier rises and a tight squeeze out, it tight.
Bonus of the hotel is the situation is about 200 yards from one of the main routes into London
Via East Croydon station, We will still stop here for the non to distant future but come on Croydon Park get moving.

Room Tip: We always book via Trip Advisor to get the best deals, as prices do vary from company to company and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear 550DavidM

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the staff member you mentioned. I am delighted to tell you that we have started refurbishment.

So hurry back and see what we are doing.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel

Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
#1 Spa Hotel in Croydon
#6 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan centre of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tramlink. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Croydon Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.